Source: Covenant

An Inconvenient Romance Blog Tour and Giveaway

10 Feb, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An Inconvenient Romance Blog Tour and Giveaway

An Inconvenient Romance

by Chalon Linton
Published by Covenant on February 2017
Genres: Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
The countryside of England provided an idyllic backdrop for Charles Brumley’s and Leah Hastings’s childhood. Neighbors and best friends, the pair passed many happy days racing through the rolling hills of Derbyshire. Everything was perfect—until Charles ruined it all and abandoned Leah for university.

Six years later, the former friends are thrust into each other's paths once more. Leah had been looking forward to the ball, an opportunity to further her acquaintance with the handsome Mr. Wilkins—but when she sees Charles’s familiar face through the crowd, her traitorous heart leaps.

Charles faces his own struggle: he has loved Leah since he was fifteen years old, yet it seems he is too late—it appears that her affections are otherwise engaged. As the pair tentatively renews their friendship, the spark between them is undeniable.

After so many years apart, Leah endeavors to reconcile her feelings toward her once cherished companion. But when a conniving rival for Charles’s attention approaches Leah, the threat is clear: give up her association with Charles, or a devastating secret about her family will be revealed. Faced with an impossible decision, Leah must make a choice—the ruin of her family or the ruin of her heart?

Review

Told in alternating points of view, this regency romance tracks the childhood memories of two friends Leah and Charles. Their adult life is in full swing with the season of balls, matchmaking and future plans. Charles goes off to school leaving Leah behind, when he returns he has competition for her heart.

I enjoyed hearing the thoughts and struggles each character went through to forgive. The pacing was a bit slow in parts, and one villain way too overbearing. Her attempts to thwart a match were repeated too often. Overall, though An Inconvenient Romance was a clean, light novel with a heartwarming hero. Recommend!

unnamed (4)

Blog Tour Schedule

Feb. 6th
Feb. 7th
Feb. 8th
Feb. 9th
Feb. 10th

About the Author

Chalon Linton was first introduced to Jane Austen by a dear friend and now she can’t get enough of handsome men in tailcoats. Her intrigue in the genre stems from a nostalgic longing for manners, wit, and true love. Fortunately, Chalon found her dashing gentleman, married him, and now lives happily ever after in Southern California.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

To Win a Lady’s Heart Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Nov, 2016 by in covenant, Sian Ann Bessey Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

To Win a Lady's Heart

by Sian Ann Bessey
Published by Covenant on November 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 250
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
For eighteen years, Lord Gilbert has been tortured over a grievous lapse in judgment. Bitterness has tainted his interactions with the people of Moreland and his relationship with his only daughter, Lady Joanna. With a wolfhound guarding her around the clock and no freedom to leave the castle grounds unattended, the only time Lady Joanna can be alone is when she sneaks out through an old castle tunnel to visit the healer Agnes in her cottage by the sea. One morning as Lady Joanna approaches the cliffs, she discovers an injured man. She immediately goes to Agnes for help. The wounded stranger is Sir Lukas, and while he recovers, he makes plans to identify his attackers and their motive. Upon learning that Moreland’s wool has been stolen, Sir Lukas comes to believe that the crimes are related and point to a much more sinister plot. When Lord Gilbert announces an archery tournament, the prize being Lady Joanna’s hand in marriage, it attracts noblemen from across the land, and suddenly Sir Lukas’s pursuit of the villains takes a different turn. As Lady Joanna’s and Sir Lukas’s feelings for each other grow, the stakes soar, and only Sir Lukas’s skill with a longbow can save them.

To Win A Lady’s Heart kept me up reading into the night. Filled with knights, castles, and intrigue, it’s a tale that teaches the true nature of love. Lady Joanna frequently escapes her castle for the woods and late one night comes upon a wounded man. Joanna is determined to save him with the help Agnes, the healer in the woods and her orphaned second family.  This knight carries a past linked to Joanna’s and a tale of sabotage. He may have the missing pieces of information to help Joanna’s kingdom and some pieces form her family’s past.

The first chapter starts off on a somber and mildly violent note. A clean read with a plot that moves along at good pace, this is a good choice for those who like fairytales.

I enjoyed the author’s explanation at the end. She has taken a Welsh story and molded it into the setting of England. The main characters stole my heart. It was also nice to see the progress in the relationship between a King and his daughter. Enjoy!

About the Author

Sian Ann Bessey was born in Cambridge, England, and grew up on the island of Anglesey off the north coast of Wales. She left Wales to attend Brigham Young University and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in communications.
Traveling has given Sian a deep appreciation for a world full of diverse cultures. Through her writing, she introduces her readers to some of the places she has come to love— especially her Welsh homeland.
Sian is the author of several LDS novels and children’s books. She has also written articles for the New Era, Ensign, and Liahona magazines. She and her husband, Kent, currently reside in Rexburg, Idaho. They are the parents of five children and the grandparents of two beautiful little girls and one handsome little boy.

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Below is the schedule.

Divider

Southern Charmed Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

16 Sep, 2016 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

Southern Charmed

by Melanie Jacobson
Published by Covenant on September 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, LDS, Romance
Pages: 232
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Lila Mae Guidry is a Southern girl through and through. As a fourth-generation Latter-day Saint in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, she's proud of her heritage as both a Southerner and a Saint—and she doesn't take kindly to people who disparage either. Ten years ago, Max Archer was just that kind of jerk. As the mission president's son, Max spent his entire three years mocking the South . . . and teenage Lila. After Max's family moved away, Lila forgot about her sworn enemy. Almost.

When a new job brings a grown-up Max back to Baton Rouge, Lila is less than thrilled with his reappearance, especially since everyone seems intent on throwing her together with this old adversary. Yet fight as she may, Lila soon realizes resistance is futile—their connection is undeniable. Max embodies everything she wants in a man—except perhaps the most important thing her life is rooted in the city she loves, but his dreams are bigger than Baton Rouge. With such mismatched visions of the future, Max and Lila are faced with a life-altering decision: jeopardize their aspirations or risk losing love.

 

Southern Charmed will take you right into the bayou with its home cooked food, barefoot walks by the dock, Cajun restaurants and society pages. Melanie Jacobson does a wonderful job of pulling the readers into a world where debutantes have been raised to answer “yes ma’am and sir, where family roots run deep. Lila Mae is beginning to get pressure from her mom to get married and raise grandbabies. Already established in a teaching career at a high school with low income teens, Lila lives at home. Her love for Louisiana runs in her veins, as does her desire to take care of her mother, who is recovering from the loss of her husband. Along comes Max, Lila’s childhood crush to mix things up.

There is a side plot with a student Kiana who has a rough home life. She’s got talent, but with a mom on drugs in and out of the home, she lacks the resources to go to college or make a better life for herself. One girl who wants to launch but may not be able to and her teacher who has opportunity to leave, but wants to stay rooted. I absolutely loved the first half of the book, the world building and the banter between Max and Lila. The drag for me was the inner conflict within Lila. It felt a bit drawn out. I saw hints things would work out on their own, but one character was forced to compromise. This book is reminiscent of Melanie’s other works with strong lead women characters, and some non-profit and political undertones. My favorite element of her writing is the clean romance.

You will want to visit the South after reading this book just to sample the food!

About the AuthorMelanie Jacobson

Melanie Bennett Jacobson is an avid reader, amateur cook, and champion shopper. She lives in Southern California with her husband and children and a series of doomed houseplants, and is currently pursuing a Masters degree in writing for children and young adults.

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

A Place For Miss Snow Blog Tour & Giveaway

09 Sep, 2016 by in regency romance Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Place for Miss Snow

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1, 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction, Regency
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Miss Diana Snow is everything a British chaperone should be—she finds satisfaction in order and depends wholly upon the rules of decorum as she negotiates the isle of Greece with her young charge. But Miss Snow's prim and proper exterior masks a disquieting past: orphaned and alone in the world, she has only her stiff upper lip to rely on. When a brief encounter with a handsome stranger challenges her rules of propriety, Diana is unwittingly drawn into an adventure that will turn her ordered world upside down.

Alexandros Metaxas is a Greek spy working to recruit individuals to the cause of revolution. His mission seems to be going perfectly until he encounters Diana Snow, a captivating—if slightly cold—beauty. When their paths cross again, the ill-fated reunion threatens all Alex has been fighting for. But more importantly, it places Diana's life in jeopardy. There is only one way to save her: they must put themselves at the mercy of the most powerful pirate family in the Mediterranean. Soon, Diana is plunged into a fantastic world of gypsy curses, blood feuds, and unexpected romance. But when a bitter vendetta places her in mortal danger, will she have the courage to fight for life and love?

 

Prepare yourself to be full immersed in Grecian culture, setting , history and politics during the Regency period. A deviation from the English society, A Place For Miss Snow follows an English orphan serving as a companion to an officer’s daughter. Kidnapped and knife point and carried away by scoundrels, Miss Snow is implicated during simple act of returning a man’s gloves. There is slow romance between this man, Alex,  and Miss Snow which takes a second seat to the history.

As a reader, so much in this book was entirely new, it might have been helpful to have an introduction or author’s note explaining the background or a glossary of names and Greek terms. Ms. Moore always does significant research behind her novels, tis one could easily be used in the High School classroom as there is little violence and no questionable content. Thank you for the diversion for a day to a place much warmer and more colorful.

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

The Beautiful Balance Blog Tour & $25 Giveaway

22 Aug, 2016 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Beautiful Balance

by Michelle Wilson
Published by Covenant on August 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Inspirational, LDS
Pages: 152
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Is it possible to feel peace when our lives and the world feel out of control? The short answer is yes!

Trying to manage the ups and downs of life can feel overwhelming, but fortunately we're not alone on this journey. With inspiring doctrinal insights and a healthy dose of humor, author Michelle Wilson inspires readers to let go of fear and find peace, even in the midst of lost jobs, health challenges, or everyday chaos at home. In a world that seems so tempestuous, The Beautiful Balance is a sweet reminder of exactly what we can control—ourselves—and what God controls—all the rest.

 
This book has a perfect messages of letting go and letting God. There is in reality, little we have control over in life save it be ourselves. We are free to act or react in any given situation. Author Michelle Wilson reminds readers that we can’t possible do everything on our own or stay in balance without the Lord’s help, we simply can’t do it alone. Filled with scripture, personal stories and doctrinal insight, consider this a small pocket guide to “gaining personal control and giving the rest to God.” I would recommend reading it in chunks, a chapter a day.

about_ the_author

Michelle Wilson writes magical realism and inspirational nonfiction. She is the author of “Does This Insecurity Make Me Look Fat?” and “The Beautiful Balance: Claiming Personal Control and Giving the Rest to God,” along with other fiction and nonfiction works on the way.

She is represented by Marisa Corvisiero of the Corvisiero Literary Agency.

Michelle loves faith, family, food, and smiling. She is an expert at Guitar Hero, has a bad habit of laughing at the wrong times, and hates writing about herself in third person because it’s just weird.

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Divider

Willowkeep Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Jun, 2016 by in covenant, julie daines 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Willowkeep

by Julie Daines
Published by Covenant on June 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Regency
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Charlotte Darby’s ship is sinking. Penniless and alone, she is struggling to care for herself and her young sister in the harsh seaport town of Hull. But when a solicitor from London brings news that she is the heir to a vast estate in Kent, it seems her days of rough seas are over. Willowkeep is prosperous and grand, far too much for a shipping merchant’s daughter to manage, and she quickly comes to rely on the help of Henry Morland, the estate’s kind and handsome steward.

Henry has worked hard his entire life, but all the money he’s saved won’t be enough to get his father out of debtor’s prison. And Henry’s fondness for Charlotte and her sister is only another reminder of his low status and lack of wealth. Though he is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Charlotte happy and looked after as the county’s wealthiest lady, she can never be his.

Courted by a charming man of the ton, threatened by those who want her money, and determined to keep her sister safe from the same fate that cost her the rest of her family, Charlotte must face some heartrending decisions. For no matter the size of the fortune, life—and love—are never smooth sailing.

I’ve always been a fan of Regency Romance, but Willowkeep adds a completely new perspective. A young woman, abandoned by her parents and left to raise her special needs sister alone. Charlotte doesn’t live in the best of neighborhoods, down by the docks. She and her sister are desperate as their funds and resources are running out. Along comes a solicitor with a surprising announcement that raises the station of both sisters and transports them to their own estate. Henry Morland, the family steward has also lived a hard life and is carrying the transgressions of his father on his back, trying to repay insurmountable debt. Both main characters are not the genteel society we usually read about, but commoners making their way to something better.

With plot twists and historical elements speckled in the story line through letters to Anne Boleyn, this story has much to offer. The bond between siblings is beautiful as is the hope that someone “different” can make their own way. The author explores children with disabilities and the way they were and can be harshly treated versus the caring selflessness of a family member. The book cover was perfect, but the design I struggled with a bit. I found the willow leaves at the beginning of each chapter a bit distracting. Overall, though, I very much enjoyed Willowkeep, the dialogue, the development and the unique point of view.

Content: clean, little violence.

About the Author

Julie Daines was born in Concord, Massachusetts, and was raised in Utah. She spent eighteen months living in London, where she studied and fell in love with English literature, sticky toffee pudding, and the mysterious guy who ran the kebab store around the corner.

She loves reading, writing, and watching movies—anything that transports her to another world. She picks Captain Wentworth over Mr. Darcy, firmly believes in second breakfast, and never leaves home without her verveine.

To learn more about Julie Daines or to contact her, visit her website at www.juliedaines.com

 

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Pride and Politics by Brittany Larsen~Blog Tour

21 May, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Pride and Politics

by Brittany Larsen
Published by Covenant on May 5, 2016
Genres: Clean Romance, Contemporary, LDS
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
As the daughter of a well-known senator, Summer Knight is all too familiar with the nasty side of politics. She’s always stayed out of the drama, until an incident involving her fellow Mormons drives her out of her hometown—and out of the Church. What she needs is a change of scene, and sunny California seems like just the place. Enter Benson Hardy. He’s just her type—until she finds out who he is. Not only is Benson a nephew to her father’s political rival, he’s also a devout member of the Church. The last thing Summer wants is to be mixed up in politics—or religion. But Benson challenges her like no one else, asking the tough questions about her inactivity. Though their incompatibility is clear, their connection is undeniable, and soon Summer finds the embers of her faith reigniting. Just as it seems that the pair might be on the road to romance, a series of embarrassing misunderstandings—and the appearance of a handsome charmer determined to sweep Summer off her feet—knock the couple completely off course. As Summer finds herself at a crossroads, she must decide if she’s willing to set her pride aside for a shot at true love.

Review

Pride and Prejudice meets politics in Brittany Larsen’s clean LDS romance. It has hit shelves at the perfect time– during campaign season!

Summer is “taking a break” from church as she’s seen way too much hypocrisy as a Democrat Senator’s daughter. Her Sundays consist of paddle boarding and avoiding the constant meeting invitations of her visiting teacher. All of this changes, however, when she runs into a campaign manager for her family’s nemesis. Benson is an active churchgoer, kind, a Republican and someone she really should no be seen with. Miles apart on social issues and agendas, these two find common ground on friendship.

There’s plenty of witty banter to keep you flipping pages. Pride and Politics was a treat to read and is clean for teens and adults. Both characters are college aged, so the best target audience is the new adult crowd. I thoroughly enjoyed this modern twist on a classic.

Tour Schedule

Divider

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale Movie Review

03 Nov, 2015 by in christmas, movie, movie review Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale Movie Review

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale

Published by Covenant on November 3, 2015
Genres: Christian, Christmas
five-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
90 min.

DVD

Director: John Lyde

Production Company Mainstay Productions, Paulist Productions

Cast: Skyler M. Day, Sarah Kent, Ruby Jones, Paris Warner, Melanie Stone, Maggie Scott, Katie O'Curran, Jasen Wade, Jake Stormoen, Jacob Buster, Caitlin E.J. Meyer, Brian Krause, Anne Sward, Adam Johnson, Abigail Scott

 

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale – It all starts with one little seed of love.

”The Miracle Maker is coming!”

Everyone in the tiny hamlet is excited when they hear the news that the renowned man of wonders is coming to their village. But the humble traveler who appears isn’t what anyone expected. They were looking forward to someone magnificent who would change their lives.

But it seems this man can barely take care of himself, let alone fulfill the dreams of others. However, miracles can come in all shapes and sizes-and sometimes from unexpected places.

 

We sat down and watched Miracle Maker as a family yesterday, just in time for today’s release date. All of my children enjoyed it and mom shed a few tears at the sweet message of hope. It’s a Christmas tale of planting seeds for a later harvest, softening bitter hearts and how one person can make a difference. My children noticed the Charles Dickens Scrooge parallels. They have seen a few other movies by Mainstay productions and recognized many of the cast members from last year’s Christmas Dragon. Their suggestions would be to reach out and include a few more new actors and be careful of costuming. My son was bothered that a few of the costumes looked “modern.”

Would we recommend buying or gifting this movie? Absolutely! It is heart warming and simple and just in time for the Holidays.

Thanks so much to Michelle Moore for the screening opportunity. Highly recommended as a clean movie for the whole family.

Divider

Always Will Blog Tour and Giveaway

06 Oct, 2015 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Always Will Blog Tour and Giveaway

Always Will

by Melanie Jacobson
Published by Covenant on October 5, 2015
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Handsome twenty-eight-year-old Will Hallerman has finally had enough of the dating world he s ready to find a wife and settle down. This announcement is catastrophic in Hannah Becker s world. After knowing Will her entire life and adoring him from afar since junior high school, she realizes her chance at love with him is in grave danger. Hannah' s problem? To Will, she will never be more than his best friend s little sister. Determined to open his eyes to her charms, Hannah sets out to sabotage Will s wife hunt by placing nightmare dates in his path and taking his search on a wild goose chase. Her plan is risky, but she s willing to take a chance to catch the eye of her soul mate.
Despite her crazy schemes, nothing seems to be working. Hannah can t help but wonder if it' s time to set aside this childhood crush to move on and settle down herself. She s ready for a fresh start with a great guy. If only Will weren' t suddenly changing the rules of the game . . . And how can Hannah move on when Will just won' t let her forget?
always will

Always Will is a really cute contemporary read about two post college, career born friends who have known each other since childhood. Will was appointed to watch over Hannah after she and her brother lose their parents in a car accident. He takes his role very seriously and moves in right across the hall from his best friend’s little sister. There is lots of friendly banter, noogies, wrestling and shenanigans until Will announces he is ready to step up his game and get married. He’s on the look out for his perfect companion using algorithms and logic, as well as an online dating site. Hannah is panicked. Time to sabotage the game!

I enjoyed Will and Hannah’s dynamic, but the self-talk and dialogue about Hannah being fat got a little tedious. I also had trouble believing Hannah had a career in computer coding, as it didn’t seem to fit her character at all. The circumstances of the ending will take some suspension of disbelief. That being said, I read this one fast and furious. Always Will has a feel good vibe, a strong female and some laugh out loud moments. Melanie Jacobson is always a great choice for contemporary, clean romance.

 

About the AuthorMelaniepic

Melanie Bennett Jacobson is an avid reader, amateur cook, and champion shopper. She consumes astonishing amounts of chocolate, chick flicks, and books. After meeting her own husband on the Internet, she is now living happily married in Southern California with her growing family and a series of doomed potted herbs.http://www.melaniejacobson.net/

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Simply Anna Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

18 Sep, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Simply Anna Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

Simply Anna

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1st 2015
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Suffering from a cruel heartbreak, Lord Philip Hamilton has been driven to seek refuge from the painful memories haunting London, and his father’s Jamaican sugar cane plantation provides just the escape he needs. Philip finds solace in his hard work and takes comfort in the fact that his distance from society ensures that his heart will be protected from future entanglements. Protected, that is, until the unexpected appearance of a mysterious woman with no memory of her past. The only clue to her identity is a necklace inscribed with a name: Anna. In a matter of weeks, this gentle, intelligent, and impossibly beautiful stranger turns Philip’s world upside down. But as the bond between the pair grows, the threat of Philip losing his heart once more is only the beginning of the dangers that await. Island renegades and a ruthless band of pirates clash in a swashbuckling battle, and it soon becomes clear that these villains may be the key to unlocking Anna’s past...
simply_anna

When a young woman mysteriously washes ashore on the beach in Jamaica, a young gentleman landowner and his overseer are not sure what to think. The girl is close to dead and the only identifying piece she owns is a necklace with her first name engraved. Anna can’t remember who she is, where she came from or how she got sent to sea. While she recovers, it becomes apparent that life on this sugar cane plantation can be cruel and sweet all at the same time.

Set in the 1800’s, slavery is in full swing. I truly enjoyed all the side characters like head of the household Betty, valet Ezekial and master Malachi. I know an author has done a wonderful job fleshing them out when I can still identify and relate to them after I’m done with the book. The pacing was slow and sweet–the story line clean with little violence.

Jennifer Moore is a new go-to author for historical romance. And, there be pirates in this book! My favorite portion of Simply Anna was dedicated to buccaneers. I am hoping a new companion novel covering their adventures is on the horizon. Pretty please?

 

About the AuthorAuthor photo by Heather Zahn Gardner

Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world, which includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that are anything but romantic. Jennifer has a BA in linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family.

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider