Source: Covenant

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

22 Sep, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

Wish Me Love

by Michele Ashman Bell
Published by Covenant on 2017
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Charlotte Wells does not date. After surviving a broken engagement, she's taken a leave of absence from the social scene. So when her best friend and coworker, Jack, challenges her to get back in the game, she's not so sure she's ready to play. But ultimately, curiosity gets the best of her, and Charlotte accepts the daunting challenge: she will attempt to have fifty first dates in her effort to find "the one." Unfortunately, she quickly realizes that the dating pool mostly holds clown fish as she goes on one lousy outing after another. Without a good man in sight as summer ends, Charlotte cuts her losses and sets her sights on a fun-filled trip to her cousin's destination wedding in Brazil.

Brazil is a land of beautiful sights and delicious offerings—including Max, the charming brother of her cousin's new husband. Max has all the makings of a Prince Charming in soccer cleats, and Charlotte's happily ever after seems to be within reach. But love is a funny things, and soon charlotte finds herself wondering: could it be that her true soul mate has been right in front of her all along?

About the Author

Michele Ashman Bell grew up in St. George, Utah, where she met her husband, Gary, at Dixie College. They are the proud parents of four children: Weston, Kendyl, Andrea, and Rachel.

A favorite pastime of Michele’s is supporting her children in all of their activities, traveling both in and outside the United States with her husband and family, and doing research for her books. She also scuba dives. Aside from being a busy wife and mother, Michele is an aerobics instructor at the Life Centre Athletic Club near her home. Michele is the best-selling author of several books and a Christmas booklet and has also written children’s stories for the Friend magazine

 

Blog Tour Schedule

*Sept. 18th: http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/, http://melsshelves.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 19th: http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/, http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/, http://thethingsilovemost.com/, http://empowermoms.net/
*Sept. 20th: http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, http://www.kindleandme.com/, http://readingismysuperpower.org/
*Sept. 21st: http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://bonnieharris.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 22nd: http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/, http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

 

Divider

Havencross Blog Tour and Giveaway

07 Aug, 2017 by in covenant, julie daines 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Havencross Blog Tour and Giveaway

Havencross

by Julie Daines
on August 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Regency
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
When a shocking scandal involving her father spreads through London society, Elaine Cardinham and her parents are forced to retreat to their country home in Cornwall for refuge. But Havencross is no sanctuary for Elaine. She is haunted by the mysterious disappearance of her brother and the heartbreak she left in her wake all those years ago.

It has been five long years since Gareth Kemp last saw Elaine when she rejected his marriage proposal. Her reappearance convinces him of one thing: he has never stopped loving her. To put his feelings for her aside, he focuses his attention on the dangerous smuggling plaguing the Cornish coast. As Elaine attempts to run from her past, she ventures ever closer to a dangerous truth and Gareth may be the only one who can save her from a deadly finish.
Havencross banner

What I loved:

The setting and the descriptions of the countryside, legendary history. The relationship between the main characters. The story is told in alternating points of view between chapters.

What I struggled with:

I have mixed feelings about Havencross only because the last few chapters were too action/ drama driven for my taste. There is moderate violence and a bit of a dark tone which overshadows the romance and plot.

I wished for more: 

Character development and tales of the piracy, Arthurian legend. They make a sneak peek, but the legends never get fully fleshed out.

Loved

The cover and the premise!

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Wrong for You Blog Tour and Giveaway

19 May, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Wrong for You Blog Tour and Giveaway

Wrong for You

by Jenny Proctor
Published by Covenant on May 1, 2017
Genres: Clean Romance, LDS
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Lane Bishop is a hardworking, intelligent, beautiful young woman. And with her recent move to Chapel Hill, she is determined to leave behind the drama and effort of keeping up with the dating scene. Even so, Lane somehow manages to get dragged out by a gaggle of girls to go watch boys play soccer. Just watching is not Lane's forte, so she joins in the fun and leads her team to victory.

Rather than feeling intimidated by the vivacious beauty on the opposing team, Jamie Hamilton is intrigued. Risking his "untouchable" dating status, he decides to pursue Lane with a little help from his older brother Simon. With Simon's behind-the-scenes assistance, Jamie proves irresistible, even to a disillusioned dater like Lane. But as she gets to know both brothers, Lane can't help but wonder—beneath the grand gestures and romantic words, is she falling for the wrong guy?

unnamed
What a good book! I was nervous about a love triangle between brothers, especially brothers as tightly knit as the Hamiltons. Things could get messy and ugly, but I loved the way the author explored family loyalty, friendship and honesty. Wrong For You is set in North Carolina at a bed and breakfast with beautiful grounds and childhood memories. Lane is returning there after college to work as an events planner. She’s feisty, competitive and sick of the single’s scene. One Saturday pick up soccer game later, she’s met her match. Or has she?

The character were well fleshed out and the plot perfect. This is one I would read again and highly recommend to readers of clean romance. My only wish is that the author would have shown more of the feelings toward one man in particular instead of telling readers how Lane was feeling. Overall, a feel good, pick me up story with a great ending!

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Simplify Supper Blog Tour and Giveaway

10 May, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Simplify Supper Blog Tour and Giveaway

Simplify Supper

by Krista Numbers
Published by Covenant on March 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
From her grandfather Salvatore Granato's roots in Southern Italy to the legacy of her family's beloved Italian deli in the heart of Salt Lake City, Krista Numbers has a deep-seated love for good food. In Simplify Supper, this busy wife and mother proves that simple can be satisfying as she dishes up dozens of delectable dinners. From some of her family's best-loved Italian meals to fast feasts with an international flair, discover quick comfort foods you'll want at the heart of your dinner table, such as:

•Angel Hair Pasta with Basil Cream Sauce

•Smoked Turkey Panini with Pears and Blue Cheese

•Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas

• Teriyaki Chicken with Ginger Rice

In addition to her collection of simple and satisfying meals, Krista shares personal anecdotes, sanity-saving kitchen tips, and suggestions for making family dinner a time for good food and good conversation. No matter the occasion, there is a recipe here to help you get a delicious supper on the table, pronto.

With step-by-step instructions and plenty of beautiful photographs, Simplify Supper will take you from beginning to end. Fro those of us who like to cook easy recipes, this is the perfect choice! Great design and easy to follow meal ideas. We love cookbooks at our home, so this one will not sit on the shelves as we learn to make comfort foods and yummy homemade Italian dishes.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Story Tellers: An Evening with Colorful Characters

21 Apr, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Story Tellers: An Evening with Colorful Characters

Story Tellers: An Evening with Colorful Characters

by Covenant Communications
Published by Covenant on March 28, 2017
Genres: LDS
Pages: 67 minutes
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
On cold night in the Utah Territory, three opinionated men seemingly by chance find themselves sharing a campfire as they tell tales, swap insults, and expound on their personal beliefs and philosophies. However, one of the men is not there by mere coincidence. Join Porter Rockwell, Mark Twain, and J. Golden Kimball for an entertaining and intriguing evening with three of the most colorful characters of the Old West.

Storytellers is a campfire meeting between well-known Mormon legends Porter Rockwell, J. Golden Kimball and American author Mark Twain. Right away we learn these three had strong personalities. The setting remains the same through out the whole movie. Three men sitting around swapping stories. I enjoyed learning little known facts in their histories as well as tales from their homes. We see that life in the desert was much more rugged than it is today.

We put this DVD in as a family home evening and soon realized its probably not one you sit down to watch all together with children.  There are tales with nudity, alcohol and the plot is slow moving enough it won’t hold the attention of younger family members. Recommended for adults. Thanks so much for the chance to view and review this little known interaction in Mormon history.

Actors: Jason Wade, Joshua Michael French, Cameron Asay
Directors: John Lyde

About the Author

Covenant Communications is an independent publisher of novels, nonfiction, music and spoken audio.

View more products by Covenant Communications

Divider

Sweet is the Work Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

30 Mar, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweet is the Work Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

Sweet is the Work: Lessons from the First Sister Missionaries

by Breanna Olaveson
Published by Covenant on March 1, 2017
Genres: LDS, Non- Fiction
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Young women serving as missionaries today are carrying on a noble legacy of faith and dedication that extends back to the early days of the Church. But who were the brave women who paved the way for modern-day sister missionaries? In Sweet Is the Work, author Breanna Olaveson delves into a previously unexplored history that demonstrates the unique ability of women to carry out the errand of angels. Discover the powerful experiences of twelve of the earliest sister missionaries, from the first single proselytizing women in 1898 to some of the well known sisters in Church history who were themselves pioneering missionaries. The women highlighted in this volume demonstrate the valiant and noble history of sister missionaries in an account that is sure to inspire readers to boldly go forth to share the truths of the gospel.
unnamed (1)

With short chapters which tell the stories of the first LDS women missionaries, Sweet is the Work is a wonderful historical primer. Where pictures were available, they were used to introduce readers to the names and faces of women who bravely told the Savior’s story and shared their voices throughout the world. Each of the 12 accounts was unique, with some sisters being formally set apart to do the work, and others serving alongside their husbands in a foreign land.

Olaveson uses a bit of a feminist touch which I didn’t care for, but overall, the tone was one of the pioneering spirit of those who roll up their sleeves and get to work. Interesting history recommended for all ages!

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Love, Jane Blog Tour and Giveaway

13 Mar, 2017 by in jane, lds contemp, ranee s clark Leave a comment

Love, Jane Blog Tour and Giveaway

Love, Jane

by Ranee S. Clark
Published by Covenant on March 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, LDS
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Jane Reeves and Sean O'Callaghan seem to be a match made in heaven—but the timing is all wrong. Jane has her heart set on serving a mission, and she can't delay telling Sean the news any longer: not only has she quietly submitted her mission papers, but she's also leaving in a month ... for Alaska. Shocked and devastated, Sean struggles to come to terms with Jane's decision. Unable to deny the depth of their feelings for one another, Sean makes a promise to wait for her.

Life unfolds for both Jane and Sean, with communications limited to weekly e-mails. But with just a few months left in Jane's mission, Sean's messages stop. When she receives the dreaded "Dear Jane" breakup along with the news that she has been replaced by Sean's former flame, Jane knows the future she envisioned now belongs to another woman. But upon her return home, Jane quickly realizes some things are worth fighting for—perhaps, most of all, a shot at true love.

Giveaway

unnamed (2)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Schedule

Divider

A Fine Gentleman Blog Tour and Giveaway

10 Mar, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Fine Gentleman Blog Tour and Giveaway

A Fine Gentleman

Published by Covenant on March 1, 2017
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Goodreads
London barrister Jason Jonquil has spent his entire life working to establish his identity as a gentleman, a man of refinement like his father and brothers. But when fiery Spanish beauty Mariposa Thornton walks into his office, he finds himself losing his grasp on his dignified character. The woman is infuriating, pushing him to the limit of his legendary patience. However, her case seems simple enough—a small matter of inheritance. Or so he believes.

Once a well-born lady, Mariposa fought to survive the brutalities of Napoleon’s war on Spain. She braved horrific perils and undertook dangerous missions on behalf of those fighting against the invading French army. But her greatest battle still lies ahead: after being separated from her family, Mariposa sets in motion a plan to reunite with her loved ones in England. To avoid drawing the attention of the French, Mariposa dons a carefully crafted persona to conceal her true purpose. As Jason and Mariposa are drawn together by the case, they come to know the people beneath the masks they both wear.

When the truth of Mariposa’s quest is revealed, the couple is pulled into a mystery that will test the limits of their courage—and expose the true desire of their hearts.
unnamed (1)

Sarah Eden’s Jonquil Brothers series is perfect for those who love quick wit, regency era fiction. I would recommend reading the books in order,as they build upon each other and characters come back in each new installment. A fine Gentleman traces the story line of Jason Jonquil, a respected barrister in London who has an infuriatingly condescending client step into his office. Mariposa Thornton is looking for her lost family after a war which pulls them apart. She has been trained to hide her real intent and purpose to protect her life, so tricking Jason is the only way to gain his help.

There were several moments which make readers feel hope and a the novel has a lightness with witty banter. I particularly love the strong family bonds portrayed and the message that one should not wear a mask. If you haven’t read Eden’s writing, now is the time!

About the Author

SARAH M. EDEN read her first Jane Austen novel in elementary school and has been an Austen addict ever since. Fascinated by the English Regency era, Eden became a regular in that section of the reference department at her local library, where she painstakingly researched this extraordinary chapter in history. Eden is an award-winning author of short stories and was a Whitney Award finalist for her novels Seeking Persephone and Courting Miss Lancaster. Visit her at www.sarahmeden.com.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

An Inconvenient Romance Blog Tour and Giveaway

10 Feb, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An Inconvenient Romance Blog Tour and Giveaway

An Inconvenient Romance

by Chalon Linton
Published by Covenant on February 2017
Genres: Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
The countryside of England provided an idyllic backdrop for Charles Brumley’s and Leah Hastings’s childhood. Neighbors and best friends, the pair passed many happy days racing through the rolling hills of Derbyshire. Everything was perfect—until Charles ruined it all and abandoned Leah for university.

Six years later, the former friends are thrust into each other's paths once more. Leah had been looking forward to the ball, an opportunity to further her acquaintance with the handsome Mr. Wilkins—but when she sees Charles’s familiar face through the crowd, her traitorous heart leaps.

Charles faces his own struggle: he has loved Leah since he was fifteen years old, yet it seems he is too late—it appears that her affections are otherwise engaged. As the pair tentatively renews their friendship, the spark between them is undeniable.

After so many years apart, Leah endeavors to reconcile her feelings toward her once cherished companion. But when a conniving rival for Charles’s attention approaches Leah, the threat is clear: give up her association with Charles, or a devastating secret about her family will be revealed. Faced with an impossible decision, Leah must make a choice—the ruin of her family or the ruin of her heart?

Review

Told in alternating points of view, this regency romance tracks the childhood memories of two friends Leah and Charles. Their adult life is in full swing with the season of balls, matchmaking and future plans. Charles goes off to school leaving Leah behind, when he returns he has competition for her heart.

I enjoyed hearing the thoughts and struggles each character went through to forgive. The pacing was a bit slow in parts, and one villain way too overbearing. Her attempts to thwart a match were repeated too often. Overall, though An Inconvenient Romance was a clean, light novel with a heartwarming hero. Recommend!

unnamed (4)

Blog Tour Schedule

Feb. 6th
Feb. 7th
Feb. 8th
Feb. 9th
Feb. 10th

About the Author

Chalon Linton was first introduced to Jane Austen by a dear friend and now she can’t get enough of handsome men in tailcoats. Her intrigue in the genre stems from a nostalgic longing for manners, wit, and true love. Fortunately, Chalon found her dashing gentleman, married him, and now lives happily ever after in Southern California.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

To Win a Lady’s Heart Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Nov, 2016 by in covenant, Sian Ann Bessey Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

To Win a Lady's Heart

by Sian Ann Bessey
Published by Covenant on November 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 250
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
For eighteen years, Lord Gilbert has been tortured over a grievous lapse in judgment. Bitterness has tainted his interactions with the people of Moreland and his relationship with his only daughter, Lady Joanna. With a wolfhound guarding her around the clock and no freedom to leave the castle grounds unattended, the only time Lady Joanna can be alone is when she sneaks out through an old castle tunnel to visit the healer Agnes in her cottage by the sea. One morning as Lady Joanna approaches the cliffs, she discovers an injured man. She immediately goes to Agnes for help. The wounded stranger is Sir Lukas, and while he recovers, he makes plans to identify his attackers and their motive. Upon learning that Moreland’s wool has been stolen, Sir Lukas comes to believe that the crimes are related and point to a much more sinister plot. When Lord Gilbert announces an archery tournament, the prize being Lady Joanna’s hand in marriage, it attracts noblemen from across the land, and suddenly Sir Lukas’s pursuit of the villains takes a different turn. As Lady Joanna’s and Sir Lukas’s feelings for each other grow, the stakes soar, and only Sir Lukas’s skill with a longbow can save them.

To Win A Lady’s Heart kept me up reading into the night. Filled with knights, castles, and intrigue, it’s a tale that teaches the true nature of love. Lady Joanna frequently escapes her castle for the woods and late one night comes upon a wounded man. Joanna is determined to save him with the help Agnes, the healer in the woods and her orphaned second family.  This knight carries a past linked to Joanna’s and a tale of sabotage. He may have the missing pieces of information to help Joanna’s kingdom and some pieces form her family’s past.

The first chapter starts off on a somber and mildly violent note. A clean read with a plot that moves along at good pace, this is a good choice for those who like fairytales.

I enjoyed the author’s explanation at the end. She has taken a Welsh story and molded it into the setting of England. The main characters stole my heart. It was also nice to see the progress in the relationship between a King and his daughter. Enjoy!

About the Author

Sian Ann Bessey was born in Cambridge, England, and grew up on the island of Anglesey off the north coast of Wales. She left Wales to attend Brigham Young University and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in communications.
Traveling has given Sian a deep appreciation for a world full of diverse cultures. Through her writing, she introduces her readers to some of the places she has come to love— especially her Welsh homeland.
Sian is the author of several LDS novels and children’s books. She has also written articles for the New Era, Ensign, and Liahona magazines. She and her husband, Kent, currently reside in Rexburg, Idaho. They are the parents of five children and the grandparents of two beautiful little girls and one handsome little boy.

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Below is the schedule.

Divider