Genre: Regency

The Second Season Blog Tour

15 Sep, 2016 by in cedar fort, heather chapman, the second season Leave a comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

by Heather Chapman
Published by Cedar Fort on September 13, 2016
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Regency
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Buy the Book
Caroline is not looking forward to this year’s Season in London. Her mother already has schemes for her marriage prospects—and none of them include love, it seems. But when a dashing young duke begins to pursue her, Caroline has second thoughts. Caught between ambition and desire, Caroline may gamble her heart away without even realizing it.

The Second Season is a great diversion for fans of Regency Romance who don’t want to get heavily burdened with a long cumbersome read. I found the main character Caroline’s personality refreshing, as she’s not afraid to stand up for principles over popularity. She knows what her heart is set on, and she is willing to attempt to honor her mother, yet follow her conscience.

I was hoping for a bit longer wrap up in the relationship between Caroline and her mother, and wished the ending would have had a bit more embellishment. I found Lady Hopkins insufferable and annoying, which may have been the author’s intent :)

A clean read with in-depth characters, Heather Chapman has won my attention from beginning to end!

Book Trailer

About the Author

Heather Chapman currently resides in Soda Springs, Idaho, with her husband and four children. She graduated magna cum laude from Brigham Young University. Heather has worked in various administrative assistant roles and as an event planner. Heather has also worked as a piano accompanist and piano teacher on the side. She currently spends her time writing and working as a stay-at-home mother.

Blog Tour Schedule


September 13: Live to Read | Bookworm 2 Bookworm
September 14: Rockin’ Book Reviews | Robyn Echols Books
September 15: Bookworm Lisa | Fire and Ice
September 16: Megan Linski
September 17: Literary Time Out
September 18: Jorie Loves a Story
September 19: Katie’s Clean Book Collection | Julie Coulter Bellon
September 20: Geo Librarian | Jorie Loves a Story | The Dragon’s Nook
September 21: Mel’s Shelves
September 22: Getting Your Read On
September 23: The Things I Love Most | Singing Librarian Books
September 24: Hardcover Feedback | A Bliss Complete
September 25: Inklings and Notions | Blooming With Books
September 26: Storyweaver
September 27: Novel-ties
September 28: My Book a Day
September 29: Wishful Endings | The Story Sanctuary
September 30: Writing Worm

 

Divider

A Place For Miss Snow Blog Tour & Giveaway

09 Sep, 2016 by in regency romance Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Place for Miss Snow

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1, 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction, Regency
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Miss Diana Snow is everything a British chaperone should be—she finds satisfaction in order and depends wholly upon the rules of decorum as she negotiates the isle of Greece with her young charge. But Miss Snow's prim and proper exterior masks a disquieting past: orphaned and alone in the world, she has only her stiff upper lip to rely on. When a brief encounter with a handsome stranger challenges her rules of propriety, Diana is unwittingly drawn into an adventure that will turn her ordered world upside down.

Alexandros Metaxas is a Greek spy working to recruit individuals to the cause of revolution. His mission seems to be going perfectly until he encounters Diana Snow, a captivating—if slightly cold—beauty. When their paths cross again, the ill-fated reunion threatens all Alex has been fighting for. But more importantly, it places Diana's life in jeopardy. There is only one way to save her: they must put themselves at the mercy of the most powerful pirate family in the Mediterranean. Soon, Diana is plunged into a fantastic world of gypsy curses, blood feuds, and unexpected romance. But when a bitter vendetta places her in mortal danger, will she have the courage to fight for life and love?

 

Prepare yourself to be full immersed in Grecian culture, setting , history and politics during the Regency period. A deviation from the English society, A Place For Miss Snow follows an English orphan serving as a companion to an officer’s daughter. Kidnapped and knife point and carried away by scoundrels, Miss Snow is implicated during simple act of returning a man’s gloves. There is slow romance between this man, Alex,  and Miss Snow which takes a second seat to the history.

As a reader, so much in this book was entirely new, it might have been helpful to have an introduction or author’s note explaining the background or a glossary of names and Greek terms. Ms. Moore always does significant research behind her novels, tis one could easily be used in the High School classroom as there is little violence and no questionable content. Thank you for the diversion for a day to a place much warmer and more colorful.

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Willowkeep Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Jun, 2016 by in covenant, julie daines 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Willowkeep

by Julie Daines
Published by Covenant on June 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Regency
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Charlotte Darby’s ship is sinking. Penniless and alone, she is struggling to care for herself and her young sister in the harsh seaport town of Hull. But when a solicitor from London brings news that she is the heir to a vast estate in Kent, it seems her days of rough seas are over. Willowkeep is prosperous and grand, far too much for a shipping merchant’s daughter to manage, and she quickly comes to rely on the help of Henry Morland, the estate’s kind and handsome steward.

Henry has worked hard his entire life, but all the money he’s saved won’t be enough to get his father out of debtor’s prison. And Henry’s fondness for Charlotte and her sister is only another reminder of his low status and lack of wealth. Though he is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Charlotte happy and looked after as the county’s wealthiest lady, she can never be his.

Courted by a charming man of the ton, threatened by those who want her money, and determined to keep her sister safe from the same fate that cost her the rest of her family, Charlotte must face some heartrending decisions. For no matter the size of the fortune, life—and love—are never smooth sailing.

I’ve always been a fan of Regency Romance, but Willowkeep adds a completely new perspective. A young woman, abandoned by her parents and left to raise her special needs sister alone. Charlotte doesn’t live in the best of neighborhoods, down by the docks. She and her sister are desperate as their funds and resources are running out. Along comes a solicitor with a surprising announcement that raises the station of both sisters and transports them to their own estate. Henry Morland, the family steward has also lived a hard life and is carrying the transgressions of his father on his back, trying to repay insurmountable debt. Both main characters are not the genteel society we usually read about, but commoners making their way to something better.

With plot twists and historical elements speckled in the story line through letters to Anne Boleyn, this story has much to offer. The bond between siblings is beautiful as is the hope that someone “different” can make their own way. The author explores children with disabilities and the way they were and can be harshly treated versus the caring selflessness of a family member. The book cover was perfect, but the design I struggled with a bit. I found the willow leaves at the beginning of each chapter a bit distracting. Overall, though, I very much enjoyed Willowkeep, the dialogue, the development and the unique point of view.

Content: clean, little violence.

About the Author

Julie Daines was born in Concord, Massachusetts, and was raised in Utah. She spent eighteen months living in London, where she studied and fell in love with English literature, sticky toffee pudding, and the mysterious guy who ran the kebab store around the corner.

She loves reading, writing, and watching movies—anything that transports her to another world. She picks Captain Wentworth over Mr. Darcy, firmly believes in second breakfast, and never leaves home without her verveine.

To learn more about Julie Daines or to contact her, visit her website at www.juliedaines.com

 

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Lord Fenton’s Folly by Josi S Kilpack~ ARC Spotlight

09 Jul, 2015 by in alaac15, josi s kilpack, Shadow Mountain Leave a comment

I received this book for free from ALA, Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lord Fenton’s Folly by Josi S Kilpack~ ARC Spotlight

Lord Fenton's Folly

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on October 6th 2015
Genres: Adult, Regency
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: ALA, Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Lord Fenton is a gambler, a dandy, and a flirt—and he must marry or else he will be disinherited, stripped of his wealth and his position. He chooses Alice Stanbridge for two simple reasons: he once knew her as a young girl, and she is the least objectionable option available to him.

However, Alice has harbored feelings for Fenton since their first meeting ten years ago, and she believes his proposal is real. When she discovers it is not, she is embarrassed and hurt. However, a match with the most-eligible bachelor in London would secure not only her future but that of her family as well.

Determined to protect herself from making a fool of herself a second time, Alice matches Lord Fenton wit for wit and insult for insult as they move toward a marriage of convenience that is anything but a happy union. Only when faced with family secrets that have shaped Fenton’s life does he let down his guard enough to find room in his heart for Alice. But can Alice risk her heart a second time?

The brief: Lord Fenton’s Folly by Josi S Kilpack is one of the first books I picked up at ALA this year. I love the Shadow Mountain Proper Romance series and Regency Era historical fiction. In the vein of Sarah M. Eden’s books set in Regency era London.

The cover: Not my favorite

The readability: Picked it up and never put it down, no drags in plot.

The book: Witty banter, depth of character, real life issues.

Themes: Fidelity and love in marriage, societal jedgement, being a gentleman by example, loyalty, kindness

Content: Adult, clean, talk of extra marital affairs and marital relations

Overall: Loved

 

 

Divider

A Heart Revealed By Josi Kilpack~ Blog Tour and Review

10 Apr, 2015 by in adult, josi s kilpack, regency romance, Shadow Mountain Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Heart Revealed By Josi Kilpack~ Blog Tour and Review

A Heart Revealed

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on April 7, 2015
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Regency
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-half-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Amber Marie Sterlington, the Rage of the Season in Regency-era London, has her pick of men and she knows what she wants most in a husband: a title and a fortune. Why would she ever marry for something as fickle as love? And why would she ever look twice at Thomas Richards, a third son of a country lord?
But Amber's social standing is shattered by a rare disorder which causes the loss of her hair. Publicly humiliated and estranged from her shamed family, she is exiled to Yorkshire, facing a future she never expected in a circumstance far below what she has known all her life. Humbled and lonely, Amber wonders if isolation is for the best and questions what real love means until she finds a romantic path to a man who offers unconditional love.

Author Josi S. Kilpack, who is best known for her culinary cozy mysteries, tackles the difficult condition of alopecia in her latest, novel A Heart Revealed. Set in Regency Era London, this clean romance explores how a rich debutante, who was once queen of the ball, falls from social graces in battling a life altering condition.

Miss Sterlington turns heads with her fiery red hair, sparkling eyes and strong personality. She enjoys her season, coming out among the ton with many suitors falling on her every word. But when life hands her a cruel twist of fate, she is exiled to a small cottage, and a simple life she never imagined in her wildest dreams. Suzanne, her lady in waiting, has the task of following Amber Sterlington, and helping to re-shape her bratty attitude. Successful in her service and her attempts to reform her boss, Suzanne is a strong and likeable character. Sterlington’s parents on the other hand, need to go.

Readers will see a full character arc in he main heroine, as well a tiny bit of romance. Thomas Richards, gentlemen, is sick of the extravagant balls, the small hearted women he meets and the frivolity. But Miss Sterlington captures his attention. When circumstances throw them back together, he sees a change in her heart and can’t help but be even more drawn to the woman behind the mysterious disguise.

I truly enjoyed the message and the ending of A Heart Revealed. My favorite character was Thomas and I wish we could have seen more into his thoughts and actions. The kiss seemed a bit wild considering how slowly and carefully this relationship unfolded in the dark, but in the last chapters, it all comes together. I highly recommend this and the entire Proper Romance series for fans of clean Regency novels!

About the Author153344

Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and accredits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began writing her first novel in 1998 and never stopped. Her novel, Sheep’s Clothing won the Whitney Award 2007 for Mystery/Suspense. Lemon Tart, the first book in the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mystery series was a finalist in 2009. Josi currently lives in Willard Utah with her husband, children and super-cute cat.

Divider

Sophia by Paula Kremeser Blog Tour, Review

22 Oct, 2014 by in adult, blog tour, cedar fort, clean read, regency romance Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Cedar Fort in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sophia by Paula Kremeser Blog Tour, Review

Sophia

by Paula Kremser
Published by Cedar Fort on October 14, 2014
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Regency
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
three-half-stars
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the BookGoodreads
Small-town Sophia Spencer can’t believe her luck when an unexpected inheritance allows her to experience London’s social scene. But her happiness disappears when she is caught napping in a grumpy gentleman’s room—and forced into an engagement to protect her reputation! Personalities collide and love blooms in this stunning debut novel.
Sophia-blog-tour

Sophia Spencer is a small town doctor’s daughter, raised far from the influence of the ton and high London society. So, when a solicitor shows up at her door with an inheritance to bestow, life takes quite the unexpected twist. She is sent to town for her “season”, a whirlwind schedule of teas and concerts under the care of her aunt, whom she’d never met. The pace is dizzying and society’s rules so confusing. Sophia lays down for a nap at the ball and wakes up in quite an uncomfortable, but innocent situation that could ruin her reputation and the honor of the man involved. She finds herself engaged to be married to Adam Huntley, a sour grumpy (yet handsome) fellow–but can she follow through?

A light, clean introduction to Regency era romance, Sophia is told in dual perspective. There is a villain afoot and a slow romance fighting against the odds. Overall, I genuinely enjoyed this one, but wished for more detail and fleshing out of the characters and story line. It’s a fast, simple read. I grew fond of the characters and was thirsting for more sights, sounds and feels. Paula has some wonderful material in person and place to work with for future novels and I hope to see more from her on shelves in the future!

Clean, quick read.

About the Author

Paula Kremser focused on a career in science for several years after graduating from Brigham Young University. DNA purification and Affinity Chromatography were always interesting, but when Paula-Kremser-author-360x310she moved to England, Paula seized the opportunity to focus on her love of the Regency Era. The enchantment of the aristocracy and the fascinating stories from every stately home she visits have been both research and inspiration for her first novel. Paula lives with her husband and four children in a charming village nestled in the Chiltern hills in Buckinghamshire.
Divider

For Elise by Sarah M Eden~Blog Tour

18 Sep, 2014 by in blog tour, book review, covenant, sarah m eden 7 comments

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

For Elise by Sarah M Eden~Blog Tour

For Elise

by Sarah M Eden
Published by Covenant on September 1, 2014
Genres: Adult, Regency, Romance
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
In the sprawling gardens of their neighboring estates, childhood friends Miles and Elise spent countless pleasant days together in the spirited adventures of youth. They were inseparable—until Elise vanished without a trace. Miles searched, but Elise could not—or would not—be found . . . After years spent laboring on the family plantation in the West Indies, Miles Linwood is shocked by the unexpected news: he has inherited his distant cousin’s estate and the title of Marquess of Grenton. Miles’s return to England is tarnished by only one thing—he is still haunted by Elise’s mysterious disappearance. So when he glimpses a woman with a startling resemblance to his lost friend, he’s shaken to the core. This is no mere shadow of the past: it is truly Elise. But his dear friend has changed—to the point that he questions whether it is really her, though he knows it is. Accustomed to rescuing Elise from childhood escapades, Miles takes her and those in her care back to his estate, even as he struggles to understand her fear and mistrust. As their friendship and feelings slowly blossom again, the shocking truth of their separated years is revealed, and Miles realizes more than ever that he must protect Elise. She slipped away once, and he cannot lose her again.
for_elise_banner

Regency Romance is one of my favorite genres, and Sarah M. Eden is a great go to Regency author. In her latest, For Elise, Miles Linwood, a marquess, is traveling the country when he happens upon his long lost childhood friend. Elise, now called Ella is a very young widow with small child, living a life of poverty. The two were the best of friends growing up until a murder tore their lives and inherited estates apart. Ella is guarded and seems burdened with so many emotions bottled up, that when Miles steps in to offer her a new life, she’s not sure she can open up again and let him in. Eden addresses deafness, prejudice of social classes and trust between friends. There’s plenty of suspense as mysterious handwritten notes start showing up as a threat to Elise. The murderer is lurking nearby Tafford Estate where Miles now lives.

I read For Elise in one day, start to finish. With returning characters from her previous novels and a dreamy landscape, once again Ms. Eden had me fully engaged. I recommend all of her books!

Content: clean, some kissing & tension, moderate violence, rape (but not described.)

 

heather

 

About the Authorsarah_M_eden

Sarah M. Eden is the author of multiple historical romances, including Whitney Award finalists Seeking PersephoneCourting Miss Lancaster, and AML’s “2013 Novel of the year” Longing for Home. Combining her obsession with history and affinity for tender love stories, Sarah loves crafting witty characters and heartfelt romances. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in research and happily spends hours perusing the reference shelves of her local library. Sarah has twice served as the Master of Ceremonies for the LDStorymakers Writers Conference and acted as the Writer in Residence at the Northwest Writers Retreat. Sarah is represented by Pam van Hylckama Vlieg at D4EO Literary Agency.

 

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

$50 amazon gift card
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider