Genre: Cookbook

Sweets and Treats with Six Sisters’ Stuff Blog Tour & Review

30 Nov, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweets and Treats with Six Sisters’ Stuff

by Six SIsters' Stuff
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 29, 2015
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 169
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
After growing up in a close-knit family in Utah, the sisters scattered across the country when they went off to college, got married, and had kids. To keep in touch, they started the Six Sis­ters’ Stuff blog, which (much to their surprise!) attracted a massive following. Today, SixSis­tersStuff.com is an Internet sensation filled with recipes, meal planners, DIY projects, and more!

At the core of the Six Sisters’ brand are home-grown values: a devotion to family, love, and togetherness. And delicious, lovingly prepared food, of course!
SWEETS & TREATS is a treasure trove of ideas for the fun parent. Whether it’s for a special occasion or a festive after school snack, kids will be dazzled by Homemade Twix Bars, Circus Animal Truffles, Samoa Cupcakes, or Churro Chex Mix! Rock the school bake sales with spins on the classics —from Reese’s Brownies to Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies. And the recipes are so easy that kids can even bake along!

For party time, after dinner, or even just some well-deserved self-indulgence , SWEETS & TREATS is filled to the brim with cakes, pies, and other swoon-worthy delights like Brownie Caramel Cheesecake, Mini Pumpkin Pies, Berries and Cream Trifle, or perfect raspberry sorbet. This book features classic recipes derived from the Six Sisters’ family heritage (like their Fresh Peach Pie!) alongside innovative creations (Peanut Butter Brownie Buckeye Cupcakes, any­one?), that will give you options for easy entertaining.

Also included are these magnificent delights:
Hot Fudge Sundae Ice Cream Cake
Microwave Caramels
Frozen Grasshopper Cookie Pie
Rocky Road Fudge
Brownie Caramel Cheesecake

Every recipe is accompanied by a colorful photo and there are lots of whimsical sidebars throughout the book that offer great family activities, tricks for parties, crafts, and even ideas for cute, easy date nights. The Sisters know first-hand what it’s like to juggle a hectic life, and they’ve designed everything so that you can concentrate on putting a smile on your family’s faces.
The proof is in the pudding (and also the cakes, brownies, and cookies!): With the Six Sisters you can put dessert first!

Review

I do believe there were actual squeals when this cook book arrived in our mailbox. My oldest daughter is quite the chef and she went right to work cooking up a recipe from Sweets and treats with Six Sisters’ Stuff. We’ve enjoyed various brownies over the past few weeks. She loves the presentation, the photos and the glossy pages. We also enjoyed the fun ideas for families like a neighborhood cookie walk, decorative ways to package treats, and new holiday traditions. I can not wait for the frozen grasshopper cookie pie or microwave caramels! Six Sisters’ Stuff cookbooks are among our very favorites and they are a must have for anyone who loves comfort food and family togetherness.

Divider

Party Style Blog Tour + Kitchen Aid Mixer & Ipad Giveaway

18 Oct, 2015 by in cookbook, party style 1 comment

I received this book for free from Front Table Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Party Style Blog Tour + Kitchen Aid Mixer & Ipad Giveaway

Party Style: Kids' Parties from Baby to Sweet 16

by Gemma Touchstone
Published by Front Table Books on October 13, 2015
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 200
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Front Table Books
Buy the Book
Make memories your children will treasure forever. As the creator of PartyStyle.com and editor-in-chief of Party Style magazine, Gemma Touchstone knows how to make children’s celebrations memorable. And with her help, you’ll want to find any excuse to party! Packed with easy and elegant DIY craft ideas, cool themes, and must-read entertaining tips, this book shows you how to party in style.
unnamed (7)

 

Party Style is a beautiful little guide book for throwing the perfect party for children ages baby-16. The format is perfect, small enough to carry around with bright, sharp photos and lots of ideas. There are plenty of recipes to munch on including small meals in bell jars. If you don’t know how to plan a party or what type of hostess you are…no problem. There’s quizzes, checklists and to do’s to help you on your way. Lots of creativity and fun packed in Gemma Touchstone’s party guide!

  • You can get over $2,500.00 worth of exclusive party printables with your Book purchase for download off of the www.ILovePartyStyle.com web site
  • The Book Kick off party for the PARTY STYLE book will be in orange county, ca at the CAKE expo at 5:00 Pm October 17th tickets are available on Living Social get more infowww.cake-expo.com
  • Gemma Touchstone will be teaching pin worthy parties at the pinners conference in Salt Lake City, UT Nov 6th & 7th and you can save 10% on tickets with ticket code partystyle
  • Gemma Touchstone will be speaking at ISSE along with  Colin Cowie and some other amazing speakers and you can save $500.00 on your ticket when you mention PartyStyle Book Tour
  • Find Gemma at the OC DATE NIGHT MARKET March 11th https://www.facebook.com/DATE-NIGHT-Market-964563633581813/timeline/?ref=hl
  • For more dates on her Tour around the USA Please visit the Blog www.GemmasPartyStyle.com 
  • Gemma’s Next HOLIDAY HOSTESS is already in the works and will be out in time for the holiday season in 2016 

About the Authorunnamed (9)

Gemma Touchstone is a leading authority on global party styling trends from the early identification of up-and-coming party themes, to premier event styling, food presentation and is an early adopter of the social media revolution in her field. She’s the publisher and author of two stylist industry magazines, a leading industry blogger and has been a regular stylist for Hollywood stars from the movies and TV. Gemma has spoken about global party styling mega trends, blogging and the social media revolution at conferences and business events around the country.

As a publicity expert Gemma has worked with business owners, stylists and international companies that want to leverage the free publicity in traditional and social media to establish their credibility, enhance their reputation, promote new products, or get the word out about a favorite cause or issue.

 

 

 

unnamed (8)The Giveaway

Giveaway runs till the Blog Book tour is over from October 1 – November 15th THE GRAND PRIZE is a kitchen aid mixer, IPAD Air, Honeycomb Decor Pack with multiple sizes and colors, Bakers Bling sanding sugar in several colors, $100.00 gift card to Home Goods, $100.00 Gift card to Michael’s Craft Store an d and Autographed copy to the book. 3 ft LOVE Balloon Set. These are Gemma’s Must haves for the perfect party.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Happy Bento! Blog Tour

29 Aug, 2015 by in cook book 1 comment

I received this book for free from Cedar Fort in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Happy Bento! Blog Tour

Happy Bento!: Lunches on the Go

by Anna Adden
Published by Cedar Fort on August 11, 2015
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the BookGoodreads
Liven up your lunch box! Perfect for holidays, birthdays, or any day of the week, traditional Japanese Bento boxes are trendier than ever and they encourage kids of all ages to eat healthy foods by making them cute and colorful! These fun food craft projects let you create themed edible designs that are just as much fun to make as they are to eat!

Lunch + Fun = Bento!
Add some cuteness to your lunches with these adorable bento box recipes. By combining traditional Japanese bento style with familiar Western foods, you get the best of both worlds!

Check out these awesome bento options

Mini Pizzas
Blast off Hippopotamus
Angry Birds
Shark Week
Talk Like a Pirate Day

Colorful, creative, and fun for the whole family, bento lunches are the perfect way to encourage healthy eating by making good foods look even more appealing than junk. So go ahead—open up your lunch box and play with your food!

With Happy Bento in hand, you can say good-bye to boring lunches and hello to healthy, happy food!

 

My children stole this cook book as soon as it arrived and were busy making shopping lists from the recipes inside Happy Bento. So far we’ve packed a shark and Alice in Wonderland bento to go. Let me tell you we are in love. The author has put together such a wonderful little cookbook with great ideas for school lunches and picnics. It is user friendly, has colorful photos and a small compact paperback size.

All of the ingredients were easy to find and yummy, the lunches nutritious. We enjoyed Anna’s ideas. We packed them on our field trip in fun vintage tupperware containers with cupcake liners. I even ate a sliced raw pepper for the first time! Yes and yes– go get this one.

About the Author

As a child, Anna was a very picky eater. Although she has learned to love new foods, she is still picky. Anna wanted her children to have a well-rounded palate and explore new foods. She discovered bento lunches when her daughter started preschool and needed a packed lunch. Packing meals in a cute and fun way has encouraged her kids to eat healthy and try new foods. For Anna, making bento lunches is a fun hobby that offers an outlet for her creativity.

“Happy Bento!” blog tour schedule

August 12: Beneficial Bento
August 13: Bent On Better Lunches • connywithay
August 14: Wendolonia
August 15: Reidhead Random-ness
August 16: Keitha’s Chaos
August 17: Bunches o Lunches
August 18: School Lunch Ideas
August 19: What’s for lunch at our house
August 20: Loving Lunches
August 21: Bentoriffic •  Wishful Endings
August 22: Zoe’s Lunchbox
August 23: Creative Food
August 24: Eclectic Lamb
August 25: Lunchbox Dad • The Author’s Hideaway
August 26: Bento School Lunches
August 27: My Epicurean Adventures
August 28: Yummy Bites by Amy
August 29: Fire and Ice •  Inklings and Notions
August 30: Bento for Kidlet
August 31: Eats Amazing • Kaisy Daisy’s Corner

TBA:

Mamabelly’s Lunches with Love

Divider

The Healthy Family Slow Cooker Cookbook Blog Tour

19 Jun, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Healthy Family Slow Cooker Cookbook Blog Tour

The Healthy Family Slow Cooker Cookbook

Published by Cedar Fort on June 9, 2015
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 168
Format: Paperback
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the Book
Feed your family the foods they love—with a healthy twist.
Everyone knows slow cookers are a busy mom’s best friend, but it can be a struggle to find healthy Crock Pot recipes your kids will actually eat. Not anymore.
These delicious family-sized meals are perfect for parents and kids alike.
Chicken and Artichoke Fettucini
Teriyaki Pulled Pork
Cajun Rice with Shrimp
Butternut Squash Soup
Chicken Quesadillas
You’ll even find some tasty ideas for sugar-free desserts, like the Blueberry Pudding Cake. And every single recipe can be made in the morning and ready to eat by dinnertime. With a little prep and planning, you’ll soon be enjoying nutritious, healthy, home-cooked meals every night of the week!

Healthy-Family-Blog-Banner

 

The Healthy Family Slow Cooker Cookbook Blog Tour Schedule

June 10: My Book A Day • connywithay • Bookhounds • Queen of the Clan
June 11: Wakela’s World • the reading fever • Wordpaintings Unlimited
June 12: Bookworm Lisa • Christy Monson Books
June 13: Keenly Kristen
June 14: Musing of a Middle Aged Author
June 15: Every Free Chance Books • Kaisy Daisy’s Corner
June 16: Katie’s Clean Book Collection • The Hand That Rocks the Craddle • The Author’s Hideaway
June 17: The Magical Slow Cooker • Crossroads Reviews • So I am Fifty
June 18: readalot • A.L. Sowards • UtahDealDiva
June 19: Reidhead Random-ness • Fire and Ice
June 20: Wishful Endings • Kimberley Griffiths Little • Heidi Reads…

About The AuthorChristina-Young-Chef-Author-Photo-11-240x300

Christina Dymock is a graduate of the University of Utah. She has had careers as an editor at an advertising agency, an adjunct instructor at Salt Lake Community College, and author.

An avid cook, Christina divides her time between the kitchen, her computer, and books and her family of six. (Naturally, the family gets the biggest share.) Because she reads everything, she also feels compelled to write in several genres. Her latest book, Blue Christmas, reached the Amazon top seller list in 7 categories as part of the Christmas anthology, Christmas in Snow Valley.
Christina attends multiple writer’s conferences each year, is a part of several critique groups, and enjoys learning about writing. She has been featured during the cooking segment of several local morning shows, published in Woman’s World Magazine and the Deseret News, quoted in Womans’ World Magazine and Parents’ Magazine, published in seven Chicken Soup books, and has published clean romantic fiction under the name Lucy McConnell.

Divider

The Recipe Hacker Blog Tour

18 Jan, 2015 by in blog tour, cedar fort, cook book, GFCF, gluten free 1 comment

I received this book for free from Cedar Fort in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Recipe Hacker Blog Tour

The Recipe Hacker

by Diana Keuilian
Published by Cedar Fort on December 9th 2014
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 200
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the BookGoodreads
The Recipe Hacker: Comfort foods without gluten, dairy, soy, grains or cane sugar

Break the recipe code for your favorite foods! Free of grains, gluten, dairy, cane sugar, and soy, The Recipe Hacker is a mouthwatering collection of your favorite comfort foods with a healthy twist. Learn to use easy ingredient substitutions to transform traditional dishes into real, healthy comfort food masterpieces, without sacrificing any flavor! Enjoy healthier, whole-food versions of Key Lime Pie, Crispy Orange Chicken, and Banana Pancakes. Dozens of recipes and delicious flavors will keep you coming back for more. Enjoy all the comfort foods you crave and keep your body (and skinny jeans) happy at the same time!
Blog-Tour-Banner-The-Recipe-Hacker

Our family ate gluten free dairy free for about 5 years and sugar free for one summer, so we know how challenging it can be to find yummy recipes and cook books. I did an experiment when the Recipe Hacker came in. I let my children sit down with it first and look through the photos. They were excited to try

-green smoothie

-lettuce boats

-beef noodle bowl

-teryaki salmon

-island style fried rice

I was surprised by their enthusiasm and also by the recipes they chose! I myself was looking a the mint chocolate chip ice ream made with coconut milk, key lime pie, frosted watermelon cake and passion fruit sorbet.

This cookbook is all about eliminating gluten, refined sugar and dairy while keeping the appeal of the food. It is well designed and easy to follow. Thumbs up from my family’s hardest to please!

 

About the Author10896251_835482053160845_8107643030211092644_o

Diana Keuilian is passionate about creating wholesome versions of your favorite foods. She removes the gluten, dairy, soy, grains and cane sugar from traditional comfort food recipes like cake, tacos, cookies, waffles, enchiladas and more. This hobby propelled her to start the popular blog, RealHealthyRecipes.com, where she shares hundreds of delicious recipes and mouthwatering photos. She lives in Southern California with her husband and two young children.

For more recipes, or to contact Diana, visit RealHealthyRecipes.com and www.facebook.com/RealHealthyRecipes.

Divider

A Year With Six Sisters’ Stuff ~ Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway

09 Apr, 2014 by in Uncategorized 4 comments

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Year With Six Sisters’ Stuff  ~ Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway

A Year With Six Sisters' Stuff

by Six SIsters' Stuff
Published by Shadow Mountain on March 25, 2014
Genres: Adult, Cookbook, Non- Fiction
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
"What's for dinner?" Three words every mom dreads.

Don't panic! The Six Sisters are here to help you answer that question. The Sisters have gathered together more than 150 of their most popular recipes for entrees, side dishes, and desserts and have combined them into 52 stress-free menus of perfectly prepared three-course meals.

Filled with delicious tried-and-true family favorites and oh-so-easy-to-make dishes, A Year with Six Sisters' Stuff features all-new recipes using basic ingredients you probably already have in your kitchen. Each menu is designed to make your dinner plans as easy as possible—and with such wide variety and a photograph accompanying every recipe in the book, you can easily mix and match menus to create a year's worth of dinner ideas.

In addition, the Sisters share some of their favorite family dinner traditions and crafts, as well as 52 dinner conversation starters, a list of pantry staples, and, food storage plan for beginners.

So what's for dinner? Whatever you'd like.

With more than 150 new recipes, complete with individual pictures, shopping lists, and easy-to-follow instructions, Six Sisters' Stuff transforms an overwhelming list of recipes and ingredients into a no-hassle, tasty meal schedule the whole family will enjoy. You'll also learn how the Six Sisters bring their families to the table with their fun family traditions and kid-friendly meals.
six_sisters_stuff

What an absolutely gorgeous cook book! The pages are thick, the photos are perfect and the design is eye catching with red and turquoise as main colors. I love that Six Sisters’ Stuff uses ingredients  most people already have in their pantry, and the recipes are simple. No gourmet or hard to find things you’ll have to run to  the store and hunt down. They’ve even included their own pantry list of items you should stock up on for food storage.

Deviled eggs, smoothies, Mom’s potato salad and Almond Joy cookies are delicious! I am excited to try the Sisters’ idea of having a crazy family dinner tradition where each member picks out the food for the meal at the store. Along with 52 menu plans, there are crafts, conversation starters and ideas on how meal time can be family together time. My children all picked out recipes they want to make and I found myself stroking the pretty front and back cover. This is a high quality, well-planned cookbook with comfort food for your home.

heather

About the AuthorsSix-Sisters

 

The Six Sisters—Camille, Kristen, Elyse, Stephanie, Lauren, and Kendra—grew up in Utah, but a few of them have lived in other parts of the country since moving out of the house. Between them there are five nieces and three nephews, and all of the sisters love playing “aunt.” The sisters started the blog in February 2011 to keep in touch while they were apart, but it has since gained popularity, garnering more than 9 million viewers per month and more than 307,000 followers on Pinterest.

 

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider