Genre: Christian

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

22 Sep, 2017 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

Wish Me Love

by Michele Ashman Bell
Published by Covenant on 2017
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Charlotte Wells does not date. After surviving a broken engagement, she's taken a leave of absence from the social scene. So when her best friend and coworker, Jack, challenges her to get back in the game, she's not so sure she's ready to play. But ultimately, curiosity gets the best of her, and Charlotte accepts the daunting challenge: she will attempt to have fifty first dates in her effort to find "the one." Unfortunately, she quickly realizes that the dating pool mostly holds clown fish as she goes on one lousy outing after another. Without a good man in sight as summer ends, Charlotte cuts her losses and sets her sights on a fun-filled trip to her cousin's destination wedding in Brazil.

Brazil is a land of beautiful sights and delicious offerings—including Max, the charming brother of her cousin's new husband. Max has all the makings of a Prince Charming in soccer cleats, and Charlotte's happily ever after seems to be within reach. But love is a funny things, and soon charlotte finds herself wondering: could it be that her true soul mate has been right in front of her all along?

About the Author

Michele Ashman Bell grew up in St. George, Utah, where she met her husband, Gary, at Dixie College. They are the proud parents of four children: Weston, Kendyl, Andrea, and Rachel.

A favorite pastime of Michele’s is supporting her children in all of their activities, traveling both in and outside the United States with her husband and family, and doing research for her books. She also scuba dives. Aside from being a busy wife and mother, Michele is an aerobics instructor at the Life Centre Athletic Club near her home. Michele is the best-selling author of several books and a Christmas booklet and has also written children’s stories for the Friend magazine

 

Blog Tour Schedule

*Sept. 18th: http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/, http://melsshelves.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 19th: http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/, http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/, http://thethingsilovemost.com/, http://empowermoms.net/
*Sept. 20th: http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, http://www.kindleandme.com/, http://readingismysuperpower.org/
*Sept. 21st: http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://bonnieharris.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 22nd: http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/, http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

 

Divider

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale Movie Review

03 Nov, 2015 by in christmas, movie, movie review Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale Movie Review

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale

Published by Covenant on November 3, 2015
Genres: Christian, Christmas
five-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
90 min.

DVD

Director: John Lyde

Production Company Mainstay Productions, Paulist Productions

Cast: Skyler M. Day, Sarah Kent, Ruby Jones, Paris Warner, Melanie Stone, Maggie Scott, Katie O'Curran, Jasen Wade, Jake Stormoen, Jacob Buster, Caitlin E.J. Meyer, Brian Krause, Anne Sward, Adam Johnson, Abigail Scott

 

Miracle Maker: A Christmas Tale – It all starts with one little seed of love.

”The Miracle Maker is coming!”

Everyone in the tiny hamlet is excited when they hear the news that the renowned man of wonders is coming to their village. But the humble traveler who appears isn’t what anyone expected. They were looking forward to someone magnificent who would change their lives.

But it seems this man can barely take care of himself, let alone fulfill the dreams of others. However, miracles can come in all shapes and sizes-and sometimes from unexpected places.

 

We sat down and watched Miracle Maker as a family yesterday, just in time for today’s release date. All of my children enjoyed it and mom shed a few tears at the sweet message of hope. It’s a Christmas tale of planting seeds for a later harvest, softening bitter hearts and how one person can make a difference. My children noticed the Charles Dickens Scrooge parallels. They have seen a few other movies by Mainstay productions and recognized many of the cast members from last year’s Christmas Dragon. Their suggestions would be to reach out and include a few more new actors and be careful of costuming. My son was bothered that a few of the costumes looked “modern.”

Would we recommend buying or gifting this movie? Absolutely! It is heart warming and simple and just in time for the Holidays.

Thanks so much to Michelle Moore for the screening opportunity. Highly recommended as a clean movie for the whole family.

Divider

Simply Anna Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

18 Sep, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Simply Anna Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

Simply Anna

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1st 2015
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Suffering from a cruel heartbreak, Lord Philip Hamilton has been driven to seek refuge from the painful memories haunting London, and his father’s Jamaican sugar cane plantation provides just the escape he needs. Philip finds solace in his hard work and takes comfort in the fact that his distance from society ensures that his heart will be protected from future entanglements. Protected, that is, until the unexpected appearance of a mysterious woman with no memory of her past. The only clue to her identity is a necklace inscribed with a name: Anna. In a matter of weeks, this gentle, intelligent, and impossibly beautiful stranger turns Philip’s world upside down. But as the bond between the pair grows, the threat of Philip losing his heart once more is only the beginning of the dangers that await. Island renegades and a ruthless band of pirates clash in a swashbuckling battle, and it soon becomes clear that these villains may be the key to unlocking Anna’s past...
simply_anna

When a young woman mysteriously washes ashore on the beach in Jamaica, a young gentleman landowner and his overseer are not sure what to think. The girl is close to dead and the only identifying piece she owns is a necklace with her first name engraved. Anna can’t remember who she is, where she came from or how she got sent to sea. While she recovers, it becomes apparent that life on this sugar cane plantation can be cruel and sweet all at the same time.

Set in the 1800’s, slavery is in full swing. I truly enjoyed all the side characters like head of the household Betty, valet Ezekial and master Malachi. I know an author has done a wonderful job fleshing them out when I can still identify and relate to them after I’m done with the book. The pacing was slow and sweet–the story line clean with little violence.

Jennifer Moore is a new go-to author for historical romance. And, there be pirates in this book! My favorite portion of Simply Anna was dedicated to buccaneers. I am hoping a new companion novel covering their adventures is on the horizon. Pretty please?

 

About the AuthorAuthor photo by Heather Zahn Gardner

Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world, which includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that are anything but romantic. Jennifer has a BA in linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family.

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Enslaved to Saved by W. Reid Litchfield Blog Tour Spotlight and Giveaway

20 May, 2015 by in enslaved to saved, non-fiction, w.reid litchfield Leave a comment

Enslaved to Saved by W. Reid Litchfield Blog Tour Spotlight and Giveaway

Enslaved to Saved

by W. Reid Litchfield
Published by Cedar Fort on May 12, 2015
Genres: Adult, Christian, Non- Fiction
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the Book
LDS people generally identify strongly with the idea of being servants of the Lord. Yet, where the KJV of the Bible reads ‘servant of Jesus Christ’ the original Greek in which the New Testament was written invariably reads ‘slave of Jesus Christ’. Although latter-day saints believe the Bible as far as it is translated correctly, most fail to understand the servant/slave translational nuance. This significantly limits the understanding of the original message of these important passages. Since the early saints truly considered themselves slaves of Christ, we as latter-day saints have much to learn from this perspective.

This book teaches the New Testament message that men are transformed from being slaves of sin, to slaves of Christ as they are redeemed by His atonement. It illustrates how frequently the New Testament equates conversion to the gospel to becoming a slave of Christ. It chronicles the many instances in which the early apostles and gospel narrators referred to themselves in this way. It also reviews the extensive Hebraic tradition, which held that man was the slave of God, and numerous instances where theme of slavery is found in the teachings of Jesus Christ.

Anciently slavery was a condition that was worse than death, and associated with utter hopelessness and loss of control. Yet enslavement to Christ was paradoxically esteemed to be an essential element of conversion that brought joy, freedom and eternal life. By illustrating this metaphor from the context in which the New Testament was originally written, my book helps the reader gain new perspective into their relationship with their Redeemer, and more completely surrender their will to His.

unnamed (5)

About the Author

W. Reid Litchfield is an endocrinologist from Henderson, Nevada. He is a graduate of Brigham Young University (B.S.) and University of Calgary (M.D.) and completed his endocrinology fellowship at Harvard Medical School. In addition to a number of scientific publications he has published medical history papers entitled On The Physical Death Of Jesus Christ and The Bittersweet Demise of Herod the Great. He is the recipient of numerous Top Doctor awards as well as professional awards for leadership in his community and medical society. You can find more of his writings and his blog at www.reidlitchfield.com.

Tour Schedule

May 13: Gospel Thoughts
May 14:
May 15:
May 16: Reidhead Random-ness
May 17:
May 18: Jorie Loves a Story • Mel’s Shelves
May 19: Readalot
May 20: Fire and Ice
May 21:
May 22: Live to Read
May 23: Lisa’s Research & Reviews
May 24: Cher Stuff
May 25:
May 26:
May 27: Novel-ties
May 28: Wit and Travesty

The Giveaway

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

The Moses Chronicles: Bondage – Blog Tour Review and Giveaway

19 May, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Moses Chronicles: Bondage – Blog Tour Review and Giveaway

The Moses Chronicles: Bondage

Published by Covenant on May 1, 2015
Genres: Adult, Christian, Fiction, Historical Fiction
Pages: 256
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Moses has always felt like an outsider in his powerful Egyptian family, even though his close relationship with Ramses, the prince of Egypt, and their cousin Pentu keeps him entwined in the dealings of royalty. But when their youthful antics get them in trouble, the Pharaoh decides it’s time for all three of them to grow up and own their respective responsibilities. Now betrothed to a woman he cares nothing for, Moses wonders where his life is headed.

Miriam, a Hebrew slave, lives with a secret she cannot share with anyone. And though it has been eighteen years since she saved her baby brother, she is constantly getting in trouble for spying on him. In a desperate attempt to control Miriam, her older brother, Aaron, and her father look to find her a husband, something Miriam has never been interested in—until Caleb, a young, handsome man, confesses his feelings for her and asks her father for her hand in marriage.

When Libya advances on Egypt, Moses and Miriam are suddenly thrown together as the Egyptian royals and soldiers flee. Hebrew slaves are forced to defend the kingdom, and Miriam and Caleb are enlisted under Moses’s direction. Moses quickly sees there is more to this downtrodden people than what he’s been taught. When he witnesses the atrocities enacted against the slaves, he realizes he must leave—he must find out who he really is.

A gripping account of the events that lead to Moses’s flight into the wilderness, The Moses Chronicles: Bondage will take you back to a rich period of history replete with scandal, strife, love, and hope as God prepares a prophet to lead His chosen people.
moses_chronicles

Heather B. Moore knows how to take stories from the Bible and make them come alive. When I first picked up Bondage, I admit I was a bit intimidated by the list of characters in the first pages, and all of the Egyptian, Hebrew names.  However, Ms. Moore did an excellent job with building each character in a way that you become connected and familiar with them. There is suspense and action, with the majority of the story focusing on relationships. Volume One taught us about Moses’ time and place as well as the women who were influential in his life.  This is a book that will keep you up reading late into the night! The Moses Chronicles: Bondage is rich, well-written historical fiction at its best with messages about faith, prejudice and loyalty.

Content is for adults –violence, seduction, talk of harems and threat of assault.

About the Author

Heather B. Moore is the two-time Best of State and two-time Whitney Award winner for her historical fiction, the most recent being Esther the Queen. She is also the author of the nonfiction inspirational book Women of the Book of Mormon and the coauthor of Christ’s Gifts to Women with Angela Eschler. Heather is a columnist for Meridian Magazine on LDS topics.

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Trouble in Paradise by Karen Tuft Blog Tour

15 May, 2015 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Trouble in Paradise by Karen Tuft Blog Tour

Trouble in Paradise

by Karen Tuft
Published by Covenant on May 4, 2015
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Andy Kendrick has always dreamed of bigger things than tiny Eagle Bluff, Arizona. So when the opportunity arises to shake off the dust of his hometown and move to the tropical paradise of Hawaii, he grabs it. But he never imagined that apiece of his past would follow him to his new life . . .Kimberly Briggs has lived her life on the fringes of the crowd, timid and afraid since the death of her brother, but when she learns that Andy, her lifelong crush, is moving to Hawaii, she s finally ready to step out of the shadows and take a risk.
Kimberly is the last person Andy expected or wanted to see in Hawaii. But when fate incessantly throws the pair together, there s little to be done but make the best of the situation. As the awkwardness fades and Kimberly begins to emerge from her shell, Andy realizes there s much more to her than he realized. But even as they revel in the adventures of island life, drawn together by a growing attraction, an unforeseen peril threatens Kimberly's life. Can the once-timid young woman now draw upon the inner strength Andy has helped her discover so the two of them can build a life together? Will Andy grasp that love knows no geographical bounds?

unnamed

Review

Trouble in Paradise allows reader to become fully immersed in the setting, culture and art of Hawaii. It’s a tale of unrequited love, self discovery and developing one’s own course.  The main male character Andy is hard to love at first with his self-centered and immature dialogue. Kimberly, main female has to overcome her fears and recognize true love.  Both are college student at BYU Hawaii immersed in internships, jobs & classes under the sun and surf of the beach.

I truly enjoy Karen Tuft’s writing. This book is a great summer diversion with clean romance and a tad bit of suspense. The pace and storyline were perfect. Recommended as a clean read for new adult or adult readers.

About the Author

Karen Tuft was born with a healthy dose of curiosity about pretty much everything, so as a child she taught herself to read and play the piano. She studied composition at BYU then graduated from the University of Utah in music theory as a member of Phi Kappa Phi and Pi Kappa Lambda honor societies. In addition to being an author, Karen is a wife, mother, pianist, composer, and arranger. She has spent countless hours backstage and in orchestra pits for theater productions along the Wasatch Front. She also has a 75 percent success rate when it comes to matchmaking and is a big believer in happy endings. Among her varied interests, she likes to figure out what makes people tick, wander through museums, and travel—whether by car, plane, or paperback.

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Celebrating a Christ-Centered Easter By Emily Belle Freeman~ Blog Tour

12 Mar, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Ensign Peak in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Celebrating a Christ-Centered Easter By Emily Belle Freeman~ Blog Tour

Celebrating a Christ-Centered Easter

by Emily Belle Freeman
Published by Ensign Peak on February 4, 2015
Genres: Christian, Inspirational
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Ensign Peak
Buy the Book
Discover how the personal experiences of people who were closest to the Savior during the final week of His life can change the way your family celebrates Easter. Learn the meaning behind the wheat baskets, the forget knot, the red egg, and other traditions that will help Easter become a "High Holy Day" in your heart and in your home.
Celebrating a Christ-Centered Easter offers hope for an Easter filled with the Spirit of Christ as we offer our finest to Him in deepest gratitude for His sacrifice. Return to the spiritual roots of this holy celebration with this beautiful gift book that will help bring you and your family closer to Jesus Christ.

Personal stories include

Lazarus
Simon
Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus
Mary Magdalene, Mary, and Salome
Thomas
The disciples on the road to Emmaus
Jesus Christ

In our family we are always looking for ways to make Easter more focused on the Savior. Emily Freeman shows us just how to make it a “High Holy Day,” as special and meaningful as Christmas. She includes crafts, scriptures and symbols each household can incorporate into their holiday, while weaving seven chapters of the disciples and citizens personal interactions with the Savior. She makes Easter a personal place where we can come to know more about the Savior’s sacrifice and resurrection.

I highly recommend making this book a companion to her other book a Christ- Centered Christmas. The two make bookends to our most sacred celebrations. Beautifully written and rich with doctrine.

EMILY BELLE FREEMAN is a coach’s wife, a mother to four children and a few others who have found refuge in her home, author of several bestselling books, emily_freemanand sought-after inspirational speaker. Her days are spent watching over teenagers, her flock of pampered chickens, and a rabbit that she adores. She finds great joy in studying the life and teachings of Jesus Christ. Her deep love of the scriptures comes from a desire to find their application in everyday life. For a few minutes every day Emily forgets about the laundry, leaves the dishes in the sink, and writes. She coauthors a blog that is a stopping place for hearts seeking all that is good: www. multiplygoodness.com.

Divider

Wayward: The Prodigal Son Movie Review

11 Dec, 2014 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Wayward: The Prodigal Son Movie Review

Wayward: The Prodigal Son

on November 7, 2014
Genres: Adult, Christian
Source: Cedar Fort
Prone to wander, Tyler McMillan had it all but never appreciated how good he had it. Always living in the shadow of his over-achieving brother, Tyler asks for his inheritance and gets his wish. He almost loses everything, including his own life, while his father keeps tabs on him from a distance, hiding a secret of his own. Although he finds help to get back on his feet, Tyler doubts he can ever return home or find forgiveness and his time is running out. Can a child stray so far a father's love can't save him?

Grab a box of kleenex for this one! I was ugly crying at the end, which is why I’m really glad I was watching it at home instead of in the theater. Based on the biblical parable of the prodigal son, Wayard shows an intimate look at how addiction and selfishness can upturn the family.

Tyler McMillan is the son of a wealthy businessman who is convinced he needs to leave home and see the world to find himself. His father is the penultimate patient, living and wise man who lets his son take his inheritance and go. The fathers in the film were my favorite part, both were strong and outstanding.

This movie is rated PG-13 for drug use, references to prostitution, mature themes and moderate violence. You get a good look at what life might be like in the dark life of underground Las Vegas, so it’s not one I would watch with my children. Ultimately, the message is strong and powerful of forgiveness and the power of family.

Thanks Cedar Fort for the sneak peek!

Trailer

downloadMain Cast

Landon Henneman -Tyler McMillan
Blake Webb – Will McMillan
Rob Diamond -Robert McMillan
Pam Eichner – Madeline McMillan
Kristen Marie Jensen – Meg McMillan
Crystal Udy- Annabelle
Mark Webb- Frank

IMDB page * FB page

Divider

Hit by Lorie Ann Grover~ Blog Tour & Review

09 Oct, 2014 by in blinkYA, blog tour, book review, christian, Hit, Lorie Ann Grover Leave a comment

I received this book for free from BookSparksPR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Hit by Lorie Ann Grover~ Blog Tour & Review

Hit

by Lorie Ann Grover
Published by BlinkYA on October 7, 2014
Genres: Christian, Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 224
Format: ARC
four-half-stars
Source: BookSparksPR
Buy the BookGoodreads
After receiving a full-ride scholarship to Mills College for Girls, it appears Sarah's future is all laid out before her … but then she walks into a poetry class led by Mr. Haddings, a student teacher from the nearby University of Washington. Suddenly, life on the UW campus seems very appealing, and Sarah finds herself using her poetry journal to subtly declare her feelings for Mr. Haddings. And she becomes convinced Mr. Haddings is flirting back. As she sets off for school in the rain, she slips a poem in her back pocket—one that will declare her feelings once and for all.Mr. Haddings has noticed Sarah's attention; the fallout from any perceived relationship with a student is too great a risk, and he has decided to end all speculation that morning. But everything changes when Mr. Haddings feels the thud on his front bumper when he glances away from the road and finds Sarah in the street with blood pooling beneath her.

This is this first novel I have read by Lorie Ann Grover, but not the first in the Blink YA imprint. I was thrilled to pick up another clean YA contemporary read with Christian undertones. The story line took me aback at first because it is about a student and graduate student teacher who feel attracted to one another. That is usually an automatic DNF for me, because I just can’t stomach student-teacher relationships in any form. However, in Hit this is not the main focus of the story line and told from two points of view, you get a full picture that this is more a story about grief, trauma and forgiveness. There is truly something magical about this book that defies description. It is short, easy to read and simplistic, yet deep. At the end I felt transformed and wanted to read more. Author Lorie Ann Grover weaves in poetry with raw straight to the point realities of the aftermath at a car accident scene and the immediate consequences. I do wish the ending were a bit longer, or not so neatly tied up. I’m not sure if the finished version is different form the uncorrected bound proof, but I missed how the victim came to know the driver was her teacher Hastings. It seemed some of the story was cut or left out.

 Hit is based on the real life experience of the author’s best friend who’s child was also hit at an intersection. It makes you think twice about distracted driving and how quickly life can change. I’m not sure how Grover got me there–to the point of loving this book and wanting a sequel, but she did! I am sad that there is not a book two in the works at this time (please, please write an epilogue or novella). This is a strong standalone.

about_ the_author

Lorie-Ann-Grover Lorie Ann Grover is a co-founder of the influential site readergirlz, where she is a visible advocate for teen literacy and activism. In addition, she is the author of four acclaimed novels: Firstborn, Hold Me Tight, a VOYA pick; On Pointe, a Bank Street College Best Children’s Book of the Year; and Loose Threads, a Booklist Top 10 Youth First Novel and a 2003 Washington state Book Award Finalist. Lorie Ann lives in Washington State with her husband. Read more at www.lorieanngrover.com

Divider

Review ~Joyful: Return to Sugarcreek, Book Three

01 Oct, 2014 by in adult, amish fiction, HarperCollins Leave a comment

I received this book for free from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review ~Joyful: Return to Sugarcreek, Book Three

Joyful

by Shelley Shepard Gray
Series: Return to Sugar Creek #3
Published by HarperCollins on September 2, 2014
Genres: Adult, Amish Fiction, Christian, Clean Romance
Pages: 266
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: HarperCollins
Buy the BookGoodreads
Return to Sugarcreek with bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray for a heartwarming story of second chances with a young Amish couple

Randall Beiler will sacrifice anything to take care of his younger siblings and the family farm, even if it means forsaking love. But when his brother offers pretty Elizabeth Nolt a job cleaning and cooking for the family, Randall is furious—and feels guilty about the way he once broke Elizabeth's heart. Then he learns that Elizabeth and her grandmother are struggling to make ends meet and he knows the offer, no matter how painful, is the right thing for everyone.

Elizabeth wants to refuse but she needs the work. Though she vows to protect her heart, spending time in the Beiler household makes Elizabeth realize that her love for Randall still burns strong. And though Randall keeps his distance at first, time and teamwork reveal that something deeper still connects them.

Elizabeth isn't sure what to think: Does Randall want her because he truly loves her, or because he needs a housekeeper? And if his feelings have changed for sure, Randall must find a way to show Elizabeth what she really means to him or risk losing his partner in life and love forever.

It was a rainy day yesterday and I picked up three different books in hopes for an escape, and struck out. So I turned to Shelley Shepard Gray…bingo! Once again, her Return to Sugar Creek series was the ticket to a clean, sweet diversion. The third installment picks up three different story lines and follows the theme of second chances, tender mercies from a loving God. There’s the couple who has broken up, the young couple who has miscarried and is looking to adopt, and a divorced restaurant owner who is afraid to trust again. At firs, I was hesitant to have so much going on at one time and I found myself drawn to the story of Elizabeth and Randall. I wasn’t quite as engaged in the other two stories, until the very end, when I was surprised to find I was in tears at the sweet story of a foster baby finding a home.

Shelley Shepard Gray wraps things up in a neat tidy package. She writes feel good novels with faith intertwined. If you are looking for a simple plot with predictable resolution you will be pleased. One finds themselves transported to a community where horse drawn buggies are still used, homemade sugar cookies are cut out with the top of a glass. Yet, modernization is afoot and modern characters are woven in quite nicely. I love the Amish charm and the goodness that emanates from their lives. Recommend this series for a Fall rainy day read! There’s study questions in the book and a sneak peek to book four…going online to pre-order!

heather shelleyshepardgray2013-240x300

Author Bio

I grew up in Houston, Texas, went to Colorado for college, and after living in Arizona, Dallas, and Denver, we moved to southern Ohio about ten years ago.

I’ve always thought of myself as a very hard worker, but not ‘great’ at anything. I’ve obtained a bachelor’s and master’s degree…but I never was a gifted student. I took years of ballet and dance, but I never was anywhere near the star of any recital. I love to cook, but I’m certainly not close to being gourmet…and finally I love to write books, but I’ve certainly read far better authors.

Maybe you are a little bit like me. I’ve been married for almost twenty years and have raised two kids. I try to exercise but really should put on my tennis shoes a whole lot more. I’m not a great housekeeper, I hate to drive in the snow, and I don’t think I’ve ever won a Monopoly game. However, I am the best wife and mother I know how to be.

Isn’t it wonderful to know that in God’s eyes that is okay? That from His point of view, we are all exceptional? I treasure that knowledge and am always so thankful for my faith. His faith in me makes me stand a little straighter, smile a little bit more, and be so very grateful for every gift He’s given me.

I started writing about the Amish because their way of life appealed to me. I wanted to write stories about regular. likeable people in extraordinary situations-and who just happened to be Amish.

Getting the opportunity to write Inspirational novels is truly gratifying. With every book, I feel my faith grows stronger. And that makes me feel very special indeed.

 

Divider