Genre: Adult

Love, Jane Blog Tour and Giveaway

13 Mar, 2017 by in jane, lds contemp, ranee s clark Leave a comment

Love, Jane Blog Tour and Giveaway

Love, Jane

by Ranee S. Clark
Published by Covenant on March 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, LDS
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Jane Reeves and Sean O'Callaghan seem to be a match made in heaven—but the timing is all wrong. Jane has her heart set on serving a mission, and she can't delay telling Sean the news any longer: not only has she quietly submitted her mission papers, but she's also leaving in a month ... for Alaska. Shocked and devastated, Sean struggles to come to terms with Jane's decision. Unable to deny the depth of their feelings for one another, Sean makes a promise to wait for her.

Life unfolds for both Jane and Sean, with communications limited to weekly e-mails. But with just a few months left in Jane's mission, Sean's messages stop. When she receives the dreaded "Dear Jane" breakup along with the news that she has been replaced by Sean's former flame, Jane knows the future she envisioned now belongs to another woman. But upon her return home, Jane quickly realizes some things are worth fighting for—perhaps, most of all, a shot at true love.

Giveaway

unnamed (2)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Schedule

Divider

The Lady of the Lakes Blog Tour

23 Jan, 2017 by in josi s kilpack, proper romance Leave a comment

The Lady of the Lakes Blog Tour

Lady of the Lakes

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on January 3, 2017
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
One is his first love. The other is his best love. Which will be Walter's true love?
Walter Scott has three passions: Scotland, poetry, and Mina Stuart. Though Mina is young and they are from different stations in society, Walter is certain their love is meant to be. For years, he has courted her through love letters. She is the sunshine of his soul.

Though Mina shares Walter's love of literature and passionate temperament, it's hard for her to know if she truly loves him or if she has only been dazzled by his flattery. When she meets the handsome and charming William Forbes, her heart is challenged. Who will she choose?

But as every poet knows, "The course of true love never did run smooth," and on a windy morning in the lake country, Walter meets Charlotte.

At twenty-six, Charlotte Carpenter believes she will never find love. After all, she is a Catholic-born Frenchwoman living in London with a family history shadowed by scandal. Though quiet, practical, and determined to live a life of independence, her heart longs for someone to love her and a place to call home.

Passion and promises collide as Walter, Mina, and Charlotte must each decide the course for their futures. What are they each willing to risk to find love and be loved in return?
Lady of the Lakes - Blog Tour Image

About the Author

Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and credits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began writing her first novel in 1998 and has written twenty-five novels, one cookbook, and been part of multiple collaborations since then. She is a two-time Whitney Award winner and Best of State winner in Fiction. Josi currently lives in Willard, Utah, with her husband and children.

For more information about Josi or her books, please visit her blog, What is a Sundial In the Shade?

Divider

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas~ Netgalley Review

27 Dec, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas~ Netgalley Review

A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas

by Darcie Boleyn
Published by Canelo on November 7, 2016
Genres: Adult, Chick Lit, Christmas
Pages: 201
Format: eARC
four-half-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the Book
Lucie Quigley hates Christmas. It’s the time of year when everything goes wrong in her life. So this year, when she’s asked to be a bridesmaid at her friend Petra’s Manhattan wedding, she jumps at the invitation to escape the festivities.

Dale Treharne has been best friends with Lucie for as long as he can remember. He’s used to looking out for his oldest friend and when she asks him to be her plus one, he can’t seem to find a reason to refuse. Instead, he sees it as a way to help Lucie get through what is, for her, the most miserable time of the year.

In New York, as the snow starts to fall, Lucie and Dale start to realise that their feelings run deeper than just friendship. But can they overcome their pasts, and make it a very merry Manhattan Christmas?

A holiday read with a magical setting, A Very Merry Manhattan Christmas was the perfect escape. Lucie is invited to be a bridesmaid to her college friend Petra in Manhattan, and needs a plus one. What better choice than Dale, who has been by her side since they were children. The two have to find a way to break it to his parents that he will not be home for Christmas, but taking a trip abroad. And, Lucie will have to somehow overcome her core aversion to celebrating the holiday which reminds her of all she has lost.

Prepare to laugh and swoon and have a wonderful diversion via these two in their thirties who are seemingly perfect for each other, but need to figure it out on their own. Thanks so much to Netgalley for the free copy! Some adult content, more than I would have liked, not for readers under 18.

Divider

Netgalley Review~ All I Want for Christmas

08 Dec, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Netgalley Review~ All I Want for Christmas

All I Want for Christmas

by Jenny Hale
Published by Bookouture on October 6, 2016
Genres: Adult, Christmas, Contemporary
Pages: 233
Format: eARC
five-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Christmas comes once a year . . . But true love comes once in a lifetime.

Snowflakes are falling, there’s carol singing on every corner, and Leah Evans is preparing for a family Christmas at her grandmother’s majestic plantation house in Virginia. It won’t be the same now that her beloved Nan is gone, but when Leah discovers she has inherited the mansion, she knows she can give her daughter Sadie the childhood of her dreams.

But there’s a catch. Leah must split the house with a man called David Forester. Leah hasn’t heard that name in a long time. Not since they were kids, when Davey was always there to catch her.

Now David is all grown up. He’s gorgeous, successful, and certain of one thing: Leah should sell him her half of the house.

They can’t agree, but as they share memories over wine by the log fire, Leah notices a fluttering in her stomach. And by the look in his eyes, he’s starting to feel it too.

Will it be Leah or David who must give up their dreams? Or, with a little bit of Christmas magic, will they finally understand Nan’s advice to them both about living life without regrets … and take a chance on true love?

This book is absolute Christmas perfection. Clean, with characters who value family, and a dreamy Virginia historic home as the setting. Grab a mug of hot chocolate and a plate of cookies, then settle in to read a tale that will tug at your heart strings.

Leah heads to her grandmother’s plantation to strike a deal and face her grief. What she finds is that her “Nan” knew exactly how to pull together all the loose ends and create a holiday miracle. There are family secrets, childhood memories and renovations to tackle. The characters were wonderful. I haven’t read a book that made me cry in quite a while. This was the perfect mix of feel good relationships, the sights, smells and messages of the season. Highly recommend!

Author Bio

When I graduated college, one of my friends said, “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day.” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to me.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t.

While I didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children, and hundreds of thousands of words later, I completed a novel that I felt was worthy of publication. The result is Coming Home for Christmas, a heart-warming story about friends, family, and the magic of love at Christmas.

The rest is history.

When I’m not writing, I’m a mother of two boys and a wife to a very supportive husband.

Divider

To Win a Lady’s Heart Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Nov, 2016 by in covenant, Sian Ann Bessey Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

To Win a Lady's Heart

by Sian Ann Bessey
Published by Covenant on November 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 250
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
For eighteen years, Lord Gilbert has been tortured over a grievous lapse in judgment. Bitterness has tainted his interactions with the people of Moreland and his relationship with his only daughter, Lady Joanna. With a wolfhound guarding her around the clock and no freedom to leave the castle grounds unattended, the only time Lady Joanna can be alone is when she sneaks out through an old castle tunnel to visit the healer Agnes in her cottage by the sea. One morning as Lady Joanna approaches the cliffs, she discovers an injured man. She immediately goes to Agnes for help. The wounded stranger is Sir Lukas, and while he recovers, he makes plans to identify his attackers and their motive. Upon learning that Moreland’s wool has been stolen, Sir Lukas comes to believe that the crimes are related and point to a much more sinister plot. When Lord Gilbert announces an archery tournament, the prize being Lady Joanna’s hand in marriage, it attracts noblemen from across the land, and suddenly Sir Lukas’s pursuit of the villains takes a different turn. As Lady Joanna’s and Sir Lukas’s feelings for each other grow, the stakes soar, and only Sir Lukas’s skill with a longbow can save them.

To Win A Lady’s Heart kept me up reading into the night. Filled with knights, castles, and intrigue, it’s a tale that teaches the true nature of love. Lady Joanna frequently escapes her castle for the woods and late one night comes upon a wounded man. Joanna is determined to save him with the help Agnes, the healer in the woods and her orphaned second family.  This knight carries a past linked to Joanna’s and a tale of sabotage. He may have the missing pieces of information to help Joanna’s kingdom and some pieces form her family’s past.

The first chapter starts off on a somber and mildly violent note. A clean read with a plot that moves along at good pace, this is a good choice for those who like fairytales.

I enjoyed the author’s explanation at the end. She has taken a Welsh story and molded it into the setting of England. The main characters stole my heart. It was also nice to see the progress in the relationship between a King and his daughter. Enjoy!

About the Author

Sian Ann Bessey was born in Cambridge, England, and grew up on the island of Anglesey off the north coast of Wales. She left Wales to attend Brigham Young University and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in communications.
Traveling has given Sian a deep appreciation for a world full of diverse cultures. Through her writing, she introduces her readers to some of the places she has come to love— especially her Welsh homeland.
Sian is the author of several LDS novels and children’s books. She has also written articles for the New Era, Ensign, and Liahona magazines. She and her husband, Kent, currently reside in Rexburg, Idaho. They are the parents of five children and the grandparents of two beautiful little girls and one handsome little boy.

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Below is the schedule.

Divider

The Unsaid by Aaron Blaylock~ Spotlight

07 Nov, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Unsaid

by Aaron Blaylock
on October 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, LDS
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
Maggie’s job at the Department of Thoughts and Records in heaven is pretty simple. She is a spirit curator—an observer of human life who sorts and categorizes every unsaid thought. When Eric, her beholden, shows interest in the new girl at work, Maggie can’t help ignoring the rules to understand the wonders of mortality and love. But meddling in mortal affairs has consequences that Maggie couldn’t have ever imagined . . .

Goodreads * Amazon

About the Author

Born and raised in Arizona, Aaron is proud to call the desert home. He came of age in the suburbs of Sacramento, California and as a missionary in Jamaica, where he fell in love with the people and their culture, but he has always been drawn back to the valley of the sun.

He married his childhood crush, and the girl of his dreams, in 2001. Together they are raising four beautiful and rambunctious children. He worked as a freelance sports reporter for The Arizona Republic for nearly ten years, combining his love of writing and sports. In his storytelling he draws heavily on his love of history, adventure, his faith, and his own life experiences.

Divider

For This We Are Soldiers Blog Tour

28 Oct, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

For This We Are Soldiers: Tales of the Frontier Army

by Carla Kelly
Published by Sweetwater on October 1st 2016
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 221
Format: Paperback
Source: Sweetwater Press
Buy the BookGoodreads
From master storyteller Carla Kelly comes this collection of frontier tales that take you behind typical army lines and into the hearts of ordinary men and women who perform extraordinary acts of bravery. From handsome hospital stewards and dashing soldiers to courageous children and wives who will pull at your heartstrings, there’s something for everyone’s fancy.

Carla Kelly is a master at historical fiction. She has a way of adding details true to the era, personalities, language, and setting elements that transport the reader. For This We Are Soldiers includes short novellas from the Indian Wars, some previously published, and other short stories are brand new. It is a compilation that gives a sample of the hardships of war, the day in and day out interactions and romance between unlikely candidates. Ms. Kelly knows her Western history and these heroines have true grit.

Content is clean, but best suited for adults as there is innuendo about marital relations. This reference could have been a left over from the previously published mass market romance version of the short story.

About the Author

Carla Kelly is a veteran of the New York and international publishing world. The author of more than thirty novels and novellas for Donald I. Fine Co., Signet, and Harlequin, Carla is the recipient of two Rita Awards (think Oscars for romance writing) from Romance Writers of America and two Spur Awards (think Oscars for western fiction) from Western Writers of America. She is also a recipient of a Whitney Award for “Borrowed Light,” “My Loving Vigil Keeping,” and “Softly Falling.”

The Tour

October 11: Writing Worm
October 12: Heidi Reads
October 13: Live to Read
October 14: Singing Librarian Books | Literary Time Out
October 15: I Am a Reader
October 16: I Love to Read and Review Books
October 17: Bookworm Nation
October 18: Emmy Mom
October 19: Robyn Echols Books
October 20: Getting Your Read On | Wishful Endings
October 21: LDS and Lovin’ It
October 22: Bookworm Lisa
October 23: Books and Benches
October 24: Blooming with Books | Julie Coulter Bellon
October 25: Bookworm2Bookworm
October 26: Katie’s Clean Book Collection
October 27: My Book a Day | Rockin’ Book Reviews
October 28: Fire and Ice

 

Divider

An Amish Family Christmas: A Charmed Amish Life Christmas Novel

20 Oct, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Avon Inspire in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An Amish Family Christmas: A Charmed Amish Life Christmas Novel

by Shelley Shepard Gray
Series: Charmed Amish Life #4
Published by Avon Inspire on October 18, 2016
Genres: Adult, Amish Fiction, Christmas
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Source: Avon Inspire
Buy the BookGoodreads
In Shelley Shepard Gray’s fourth book in her Charmed Amish Life series, an unlikely Amish romance reveals that Christmas is a time for family, miracles—and love.

Ever since his father died in a tragic fire, Levi Kinsinger has felt adrift. Newly returned to Charm, Ohio, Levi is trying to fit into his old life, only to discover he seems to have outgrown it.

But when Julia, his young widowed neighbor, asks for his help with a Christmas project, Levi finds a sense of purpose for the first time in months. She and her daughter are new to Charm and could use a friend, a job Levi takes personally. Soon enough, friendship grows into attraction, but Levi can’t help having doubts. There’s something about Julia that doesn’t ring quite true…

Like Levi, Julia Kemps has survived her fair share of hardships—but only by hiding the truth of her past. Being an unmarried mother in an Amish community was unthinkable. Feeling hopeless, Julia did the only thing she could do: she moved to a new town and pretended to be a widow. But meeting Levi, she’s hopeful for the first time. Little by little, she begins to imagine telling him her darkest secret, and eventually…perhaps even sharing her life with him.

Christmas is a time for family, and as the holiday draws closer, Julia and Levi will have to face their pasts together…in order to find the healing, support and love they so desperately desire.

Immerse yourself in the Christmas season with Shelley Shepard Gray’s last novel in the Charmed Amish Life series. Levi Kisinger is recovering from the loss of his father which prompts him to move out of the big family farm to his own place on Jupiter street.Julia Kemp and her daughter Penny are neighbors, but they keep to themselves, until she locks herself out in the snow and Levi happens upon the scene. Both are in rough patches of life where they struggle to trust others, and to move forward. Ultimately, God’s hand prevails.

Readers will enjoy the candid handling of issues like domestic violence with a hopeful background and resolution. Levi’s character is one of fierce protector and gentle father figure. The setting is idyllic recognizing there are problems in the world but there is always a greater good. Perfect for the holiday season, I recommend the entire series for purchase. Enjoy clean, Amish fiction.

Author Bio


I live in southern Ohio with my husband, two teenagers, and two dogs. My days are filled with busy activities like most any other mom and housewife. But I also love to write books.

Each morning, after my kids go off to school, I sit at my desk, look out my window, and dream of other places. The hours fly by as I make up people and places and drink way too much coffee.

Writing for Avon Inspire has truly been a dream come true. Being able to spend my days in my make-believe world of the Brenneman Bed and Breakfast is a true blessing. I have enjoyed getting to know more about the Amish culture and tapping into my faith as I show each character’s progression toward a personal relationship with our Lord.

Before becoming a full time writer, I taught elementary school in Texas, Arizona, and Colorado. A job transfer to Ohio led my husband to encourage me to finally give writing a try. After all, I had notebooks full of made up stories.

I’ll never forget that first book I typed in our unfinished basement. It was exciting to make up a story, but also very scary. I was also so embarrassed, sure someone would come out of the woodwork and point out that I wasn’t a ‘real’ writer. But I persevered, and sold my third manuscript.

Things have changed a bit. Now I have a real office of my own. (think old guest bedroom!) My walls are painted pink, and more than a couple of book covers decorate my walls. But my days are still the same. I wake up, dream about other people, and do my best to type out stories.

Divider

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells Blog Tour

03 Oct, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells

by Sarah M. Eden
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 27, 2016
Genres: Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-half-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
The small town of Savage Wells is barely big enough for the people who call it home; it certainly isn’t big enough for more than one sheriff.

Yet when famed lawman Cade O’Brien rides into town, he finds he’s not the only man ready to take on the job. What’s more, one of his competitors is a woman.

Paisley Bell loves her town and the eccentric people in it. She’s been the job to anyone else. Not only does she love the work, but she also needs the income to take care of her ailing father.

It’s a true battle of the sexes, and sparks fly between the two as Cade and Paisley banter and boast, neither one ready to acknowledge the attraction they have for each other. But when Paisley’s former beau shows up, along with a band of bank robbers, Savage Wells is suddenly faced with the kind of peril that only a sheriff can manage. Who will be man enough—or woman enough—to step up, claim the badge, and save the town?

 

About the Author

Sarah M. Eden is a USA Today bestselling author of multiple historical romances, including AML’s “2013 Novel of the Year” and Foreword Review’s 2013 “IndieFab Book of the Year” gold medal winner for Best Romance, Longing for Home, and the Whitney Award’s “2014 Novel of the Year,” Longing for Home: Hope Springs. Combining her obsession with history and affinity for tender love stories, Sarah loves crafting witty characters and heartfelt romances set against rich historical backdrops. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in research and happily spends hours perusing the reference shelves of her local library. Sarah lives with her husband, kids, and mischievous dog in the shadow of a snow-capped mountain she has never attempted to ski.

Divider

A Sister’s Wish ~ Review

20 Sep, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Avon Inspire in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Sister's Wish

by Shelley Shepard Gray
Published by Avon Inspire on September 27, 2016
Genres: Adult, Amish Fiction
Pages: 272
Format: ARC
Source: Avon Inspire
Buy the Book
In Shelley Shepard Gray’s third book in her Charmed Amish Life series, a respectable young woman finds herself falling for an Amish man from the wrong side of the tracks.

Amelia Kinsinger is the perfect Amish woman—at least according to her neighbors. And while Amelia takes pride in her role as homemaker, she’s also harboring a secret: She’s been in love with bad boy Simon Hochstetler for as long as she can remember. Too bad he’s about as far from “perfect” as an Amish man could get… but that’s exactly why she’s so drawn to him.

Life hasn’t been kind to Simon. He ran away from an abusive home at fifteen and things went downhill from there. Eventually, Simon landed in prison. But the experience changed him. Now back in Charm as a grown man, he’s determined to make a new life for himself and not think too much about his wild past…unless it pertains to Amelia.

He’s loved Amelia for years. To him, she represents everything good and kind in the world. When he realizes that she returns his affections, he starts calling on her in secret, even though her older brother Lukas—who just happens to be Simon’s best friend—has made it perfectly clear that Amelia deserves better. Simon disagrees and believes he’s the only one who can truly make her happy.

But when Amelia gets hurt, it sets off a chain of events that forces them to consider their future together—and face their past mistakes. There’s a chance for love… but only if Simon dares to trust Amelia with the secrets of his past.


In the third book of New York Times bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray’s Charmed Amish Life series, a young woman finds herself falling for an Amish man from the wrong side of the tracks.

Amelia Kinsinger may seem like the perfect Amish woman, but she is harboring a secret: She’s been in love with bad boy Simon Hochstetler for as long as she can remember.

Life hasn’t been kind to Simon. He ran away from an abusive home and landed in prison. Now back in Charm, he’s determined to put his wild past behind him and make a new life.

And Amelia is off limits. Everyone thinks she’s too good for Simon—most of all her older brother, who just happens to be Simon’s best friend. When a chain of events forces them to face their past mistakes, all their secrets are revealed. Now Simon must dare to trust Amelia, and she must show him that he is already everything she ever wished he could be.

Review

I’ve long been a fan of Shelley Shepard Gray, and this is my favorite book of hers yet. The Amish life is idyllic, slower paced and simpler. Courting with horse drawn buggy rides, home cooked meals and family ties that run generations mark their society. In this third installment of the Charmed Amish Life series, Shelley addresses the effects of childhood abuse and the returning to the fold. It’s a book about repentance, turning of the hearts back to God and forgiving to move on stronger.

Amelia and Simon are childhood friends, raised in the same community. Each strong in their own way, their regard for each other is enough to carry them through family interference and rumors. I enjoyed the care and tenderness in their relationship as well as the loyalty they who one another. Gray’s writing takes us back in time, yet juxtaposes modern day issues and situations on top of the old fashioned way. This is a series I highly recommend, book three is perfect as we move into Fall. Well done Ms. Gray!

About the Authorshelleyshepardgray2013-240x300

Shelley Shepard Gray lives in southern Ohio and writes full time. A busy wife and mother of two, she spends her days writing and keeping track of her two teenagers. Her two dogs keep her company when she writes in her basement.

Shelley enjoys writing about the Amish and visits Amish communities in Adams and Holmes counties several times a year. When not spending time with her family or writing, she serves on several committees in her church.

She also bakes a lot, loves coconut cream pie, and will hardly ever pull weeds, mow the yard, or drive in the snow.

Shelley also spends a lot of time on line! Please visit her website, www.shelleyshepardgray.com to find out her latest news…or become her friend on FaceBook.

website

 

Divider