Genre: Adult

The Shipbuilder’s Wife Blog Tour and Giveaway

05 Sep, 2018 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Shipbuilder’s Wife Blog Tour and Giveaway

The Shipbuilder's Wife

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1, 2018
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
The day of her parents' garden party dawns bright as Lydia Prescott eagerly anticipates a marriage proposal from a handsome and wealthy plantation owner. The lovely debutante plans to steal a moment away with her beau, but her plans go terribly awry. Instead of her intended, she is joined by a stranger the largest man she's ever laid eyes on. And it is clear Jacob Steele is there for reasons far more sober than the party. With British raids erupting all around them, it is his job to reassure plantation owners of their safety. In reality, however, Jacob is an espionage agent, and the truth is dire: America is on the verge of invasion by the British.

Blissfully unaware of the danger surrounding her, Lydia basks in the glow of her recent engagement. But her joy is short-lived—a surprise British attack results in a devastating wound, and her plans for the future are shattered. Lost in her devastation, Lydia could never dream that Jacob, that giant of a man she met so briefly, would prove to be her saving grace. And with a war raging around them, she may be called upon to save him too.

What an enjoyment! I grew up on the Chesapeake in Maryland, close to the nation’s capitol, so the sights and scenes of the Shipbuilder’s Wife held significance for me. Jennifer Moore does a wonderful job of capturing life during time of war and in the shipyard. She adds historical context and enough detail to make the story come alive. Talk of privateers, plantation owners, slaves, and a fledgling nation trying to make its way against the English redcoats will captivate historical fiction readers. Lydia and Jacob have a long way to go in their relationship and I certainly hope there are making for a companion book or sequel. Side character, Alden was a delight with his funny asides and spunky personality. A good book should make you want to learn more, and this did just that.

Biography

Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world that includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that is anything but romantic. Jennifer has a B.A. in Linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family, but most of the time wishes she was aboard a British frigate during the age of sail.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway
.

Divider

Promises and Primroses Blog Tour

04 Sep, 2018 by in josi s kilpack, Shadow Mountain Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Promises and Primroses Blog Tour

Promises and Primroses

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 4, 2018
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Lord Elliott Mayfield has done his best to take care of his family, first his siblings and now his nieces and nephews. Unfortunately, he sees this new generation moving in the same direction of bad matches and scandalous relationships as the last. In hopes to change their course, he establishes a “marriage campaign” to motivate them to improve themselves through making respectable matches. With his heart in the right place, what could possibly go wrong?

Peter, Elliott’s eldest nephew, thinks the entire idea is ridiculous. A widower with two young daughters, he simply needs a governess, not a wife. Julia Hollingsworth certainly has the credentials and the experience, but is altogether too young and pretty for such a job. So why can’t he stop thinking about her?

Julia loves working as a governess, despite the objections of her mother, Amelia. And as it turns out, Amelia has a lot to say about the Mayfield men—none of it good. But Julia dismisses the rumors of ruined reputations and instead concentrates on helping Peter with his children and his fledgling business in canine husbandry. His kindness and gentleness is endearing—and increasingly attractive.

But Amelia, whose heart was broken thirty years ago by none other than Elliott Mayfield, is determined to prevent any relationship from blooming either between Peter and Julia—or between herself and Elliott.

Hearts and history collide as both couples must face their pasts and decide if risking it all is worth the promise of new love and a new future.

Julia is bound and determined to make it on her own without the interference of her overbearing mother as a governess. Her boss, Peter Mayfield has two young daughters to look out for after losing his wife and needs someone with just the right combination of talents. Each has a past to taint their prospect for a future together. The Mayfield name is tarnished by past misdeeds and Julia’s family is right in the thick of the hurt. Promises and Primroses addresses how to overcome society scandals to make one’s own path and decisions. With a theme of following your heart, there is a sweet friendship between Peter and Julia which blossoms into something more over time. They work together with animals and overcome personal doubts, to make a powerful pair.

Written from multiple perspectives, each chapter gives readers insight into what is going on with each character. I struggled with Julia’s mother Amelia because of how bitter and bossy she is. I am surprised that I genuinely enjoyed the details about animal husbandry and taking care of young pups. This looks to be the first in a series, so I’m excited to see what books two holds for the Mayfield family. Proper Romances by Shadow Mountain are some of my favorite reads because of the clean, and often historical content.

Divider

Pretty Much Perfect Blog Tour

11 Jul, 2018 by in adult, clean read, covenant Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Pretty Much Perfect Blog Tour

Pretty Much Perfect

by Sally Johnson
Published by Covenant on July 2, 2018
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Camille Weston, a recently returned missionary, anticipates returning to college BYU for her degree and perhaps to meet a nice young man. A sensible young woman with her future mapped out, Camille would never do something dangerous—like pick up a stranger on the side of the road. And yet, inexplicably, she does just that. This is one split-second decision that changes everything. Determined to lend assistance, Camille gets more than she bargained for when she gets roped into helping Liam, a handsome British man, with more than just a ride. As they are thrown together over the coming days and their mutual attraction grows, they realize they just . . . click. That is, until she makes a shocking discovery: the mysterious stranger is William “Liam” Jones, lead singer of the popular band Gear. Camille has never been one to swoon over a celebrity, and she knows her and Liam’s lifestyles could never be compatible. But how can she convince her heart to listen to logic?

Review

Camille is your typical returned missionary, just back from New Guinea, traveling home from a job interview when she spots an unlikely site by the side of the road. She ends up taking an unknown man home with her who’s in a bad spot. The first few pages, modern day parallel to the good Samaritan were attention grabbing, but a bit hard to believe. The story itself is super fun and there are several laugh out loud moments. Liam is from London with an accent and minus the attitude than typically comes with a Rockstar. He’s got a lot to work through including a rocky break up, sad childhood and withdrawls from caffeine. He is caring and drawn to Camille’s stable Better Home and Garden family who eats home cooked meals together.

If you enjoy clean romance with elements of world meets conservative values this is a good match. There are LDS elements but it will make sense to every reader. I love the cover, it is beautiful and matches the storyline. I also really enjoyed the banter between the two main characters and the strong family relationships showcased. Light, cheerful summer read!

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

*July 9th: http://thoroughlyhere.blogspot.com/, http://mybookaday.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/
*July 10th: https://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://www.iamareader.com/
*July 11th: http://fireandicereads.com/, http://empowermoms.net/
*July 12th: https://brightlystreet.com/category/book-reviews/, https://www.rockinbookreviews.com/, http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, https://ldsandlovinit.blogspot.com/, https://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/adults, http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/
*July 13th: http://lifeiswhatitscalled.blogspot.com/, http://brooklynberrydesigns.com/category/book-shelf/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

Divider

Check Me Out Blog Tour

07 Feb, 2018 by in clean read, contemp Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Check Me Out Blog Tour

Check Me Out

by Becca Wilhite
Published by Shadow Mountain on February 3rd 2018
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Greta loves her job as assistant librarian. She loves her best friend, Will, the high school civics teacher and debate coach. She even loves her mother despite her obvious disappointment that Greta is still single.

Then she meets Mac in the poetry section of the library, and she is smitten. Mac is heart-stoppingly gorgeous and showers her with affection, poetic text messages, and free hot chocolate at the local café where he works. The only problem is that he seems to be a different person in his texts than in his face-to-face conversation.

When the Franklin Library is threatened with closure, Greta leaps into action. She arranges for a "battle of the bands" book jam, hosts a book signing by a famous author, and finally, stages a protest that raises more than a few eyebrows.

Through it all, she slowly realizes that it is Will, not Mac, who she turns to for support and encouragement. Mac has the looks; Will has the heart. How can she choose between them?

Check Me Out is a contemporary romance--with just a hint of Cyrano de Bergerac--that reminds us that it is what's on the inside that matters most.

Becca Wilhite’s Check Me Out is a modern day Cyrano De Begerac told from the viewpoint of Greta, a local librarian.She’s worked her whole life toward her dream job at the historic town library. She’s away from home and mom, armed with a Master’s degree and ready to save her place of work from closure. Her best friend Will delivers a swoon worthy birthday present in the form of his cousin Mac. Greta will eventually have to make the choice between looks or love. I enjoyed the atmosphere of the novel and the history, but felt a lack of connection to the characters. Perhaps because most of the interactions done between the main male and female were via short text messages, it felt disconnected. There is also some shallowness to Greta’s way of thinking which indeed makes her flawed, but I struggled to feel endeared to her. I loved her date to eat authentic Indian food and the descriptive set up of a small town. Overall, a clean romance with a great setting and concept. Most will likely enjoy this contemporary remake.

Divider

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

22 Sep, 2017 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

Wish Me Love

by Michele Ashman Bell
Published by Covenant on 2017
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Charlotte Wells does not date. After surviving a broken engagement, she's taken a leave of absence from the social scene. So when her best friend and coworker, Jack, challenges her to get back in the game, she's not so sure she's ready to play. But ultimately, curiosity gets the best of her, and Charlotte accepts the daunting challenge: she will attempt to have fifty first dates in her effort to find "the one." Unfortunately, she quickly realizes that the dating pool mostly holds clown fish as she goes on one lousy outing after another. Without a good man in sight as summer ends, Charlotte cuts her losses and sets her sights on a fun-filled trip to her cousin's destination wedding in Brazil.

Brazil is a land of beautiful sights and delicious offerings—including Max, the charming brother of her cousin's new husband. Max has all the makings of a Prince Charming in soccer cleats, and Charlotte's happily ever after seems to be within reach. But love is a funny things, and soon charlotte finds herself wondering: could it be that her true soul mate has been right in front of her all along?

About the Author

Michele Ashman Bell grew up in St. George, Utah, where she met her husband, Gary, at Dixie College. They are the proud parents of four children: Weston, Kendyl, Andrea, and Rachel.

A favorite pastime of Michele’s is supporting her children in all of their activities, traveling both in and outside the United States with her husband and family, and doing research for her books. She also scuba dives. Aside from being a busy wife and mother, Michele is an aerobics instructor at the Life Centre Athletic Club near her home. Michele is the best-selling author of several books and a Christmas booklet and has also written children’s stories for the Friend magazine

 

Blog Tour Schedule

*Sept. 18th: http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/, http://melsshelves.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 19th: http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/, http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/, http://thethingsilovemost.com/, http://empowermoms.net/
*Sept. 20th: http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, http://www.kindleandme.com/, http://readingismysuperpower.org/
*Sept. 21st: http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://bonnieharris.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 22nd: http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/, http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

 

Divider

Havencross Blog Tour and Giveaway

07 Aug, 2017 by in covenant, julie daines 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Havencross Blog Tour and Giveaway

Havencross

by Julie Daines
on August 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Regency
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
When a shocking scandal involving her father spreads through London society, Elaine Cardinham and her parents are forced to retreat to their country home in Cornwall for refuge. But Havencross is no sanctuary for Elaine. She is haunted by the mysterious disappearance of her brother and the heartbreak she left in her wake all those years ago.

It has been five long years since Gareth Kemp last saw Elaine when she rejected his marriage proposal. Her reappearance convinces him of one thing: he has never stopped loving her. To put his feelings for her aside, he focuses his attention on the dangerous smuggling plaguing the Cornish coast. As Elaine attempts to run from her past, she ventures ever closer to a dangerous truth and Gareth may be the only one who can save her from a deadly finish.
Havencross banner

What I loved:

The setting and the descriptions of the countryside, legendary history. The relationship between the main characters. The story is told in alternating points of view between chapters.

What I struggled with:

I have mixed feelings about Havencross only because the last few chapters were too action/ drama driven for my taste. There is moderate violence and a bit of a dark tone which overshadows the romance and plot.

I wished for more: 

Character development and tales of the piracy, Arthurian legend. They make a sneak peek, but the legends never get fully fleshed out.

Loved

The cover and the premise!

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Love on Pointe Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Jun, 2017 by in blog tour, covenant Leave a comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Love on Pointe

by Tiffany Odekirk
Published by Covenant on June 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, LDS
Pages: 328
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Buy the BookGoodreads
Rhys Solario has a secret one he plans to keep: he's a non-Mormon attending Brigham Young University. With only two semesters left before graduation, he just wants to keep flying under the radar. Then he meets Emmy in a Book of Mormon class, and for the first time, the idea of keeping to himself doesn't sound so appealing.
Emmy Jennings feels confident only when she's dancing ballet. With every plié and chassé, all her worries fade away. But when she fails to earn a coveted solo, her confidence on the dance floor disintegrates and the future she's worked so hard to earn stands in jeopardy.

Assigned to be study partners, both Rhys and Emmy face initial anxieties regarding who they really are. But slowly, their tentative friendship evolves into something more. Yet even as love deepens, the pair is faced with a disheartening truth: Rhys can't take Emmy to the temple, and the promise of eternity is not something Emmy's willing to give up. With everything on the line, the couple must decide if they're prepared to reshape their hearts and their lives for the promise of forever.

Love on Pointe Banner
Love on Pointe will be a blast of Provo and BYU culture for anyone who attended the University. Filled with rich details of culture, acronyms, student hang outs and scenarios, it’s a fun read for alumni of Brigham Young University. The cover is beautiful, and characters realistic. A clean read for new adults and college students, it addresses inter racial and inter religious love. I enjoyed the progression and pacing, but did struggle to understand how the topic of church attendance and religion was not heavily explored by the main characters until halfway into the book. Overall, a light, enjoyable LDS romance.

Schedule

*June 12th: http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://wishfulendings.com/
*June 13th: http://heidi-reads.blogspot.com/
*June 14th: http://ilovetoreadandreviewbooks.blogspot.com/, http://rockinbookreviews.com/
*June 15th: http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, https://ldsandlovinit.blogspot.com/
*June 16th: http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/, http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://minreadsandreviews.blogspot.com/, http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Divider

Simplify Supper Blog Tour and Giveaway

10 May, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Simplify Supper Blog Tour and Giveaway

Simplify Supper

by Krista Numbers
Published by Covenant on March 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
From her grandfather Salvatore Granato's roots in Southern Italy to the legacy of her family's beloved Italian deli in the heart of Salt Lake City, Krista Numbers has a deep-seated love for good food. In Simplify Supper, this busy wife and mother proves that simple can be satisfying as she dishes up dozens of delectable dinners. From some of her family's best-loved Italian meals to fast feasts with an international flair, discover quick comfort foods you'll want at the heart of your dinner table, such as:

•Angel Hair Pasta with Basil Cream Sauce

•Smoked Turkey Panini with Pears and Blue Cheese

•Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas

• Teriyaki Chicken with Ginger Rice

In addition to her collection of simple and satisfying meals, Krista shares personal anecdotes, sanity-saving kitchen tips, and suggestions for making family dinner a time for good food and good conversation. No matter the occasion, there is a recipe here to help you get a delicious supper on the table, pronto.

With step-by-step instructions and plenty of beautiful photographs, Simplify Supper will take you from beginning to end. Fro those of us who like to cook easy recipes, this is the perfect choice! Great design and easy to follow meal ideas. We love cookbooks at our home, so this one will not sit on the shelves as we learn to make comfort foods and yummy homemade Italian dishes.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

The Dating Experiment Blog Tour Spotlight

01 May, 2017 by in adult Leave a comment

The Dating Experiment Blog Tour Spotlight

The Dating Experiment

by Elodia Strain
Published by Cedar Fort on February 14, 2017
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the BookGoodreads
After losing her job, her house, and her guy, the last thing Gabby wants to do is be in a dating experiment—especially with her ex. Her only chance of making it through is with help from her best friend, Ian. But as the study and all its hilariously awkward dates goes on, Gabby finds herself wondering what exactly this experiment is all about.

About the Author

Elodia Strain was born in Alaska and grew up in the middle of California. She spent her childhood exploring Yosemite National Park, skiing–badly–at Lake Tahoe, and enjoying the beaches along California’s famed central coast. Elodia graduated cum laude from Brigham Young University with a degree in marketing communications. She is the author of three previous books from Cedar Fort. Her debut novel, The Icing on the Cake, was well received by readers of all ages, and earned Elodia the Best New Fiction Author award from CFI. Her second book, Previously Engaged, was a Whitney Award finalist. Elodia also wrote My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend, the novelization of the widely successful eponymous major motion picture, starring Alyssa Milano. In addition to her creative writing pursuits, Elodia has spoken at writers’ conferences, had the privilege of signing books at national events such as her alma mater’s Women’s Conference and Education Week, and is also one of the founders of Ink Ladies Plus (formerly the Ink Ladies blog), a group of CFI and independent authors who work together to strengthen and promote each other’s work. When not writing or marketing, Elodia spends her time bargain shopping, enjoying staycations with her husband, and spoiling her nieces and nephews
Divider

An Unseen Angel Blog Tour

28 Apr, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

An Unseen Angel Blog Tour

An Unseen Angel

by Alissa Parker
Published by Shadow Mountain on 2017
Genres: Adult, Inspirational, Non- Fiction
Pages: 192
Format: ARC
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
When Alissa Parker lost her daughter Emilie in the Sandy Hook Elementary mass shooting, she started a life-changing journey to answer soul-searching questions about faith, hope, and healing. As she sought for the peace and comfort that could help mend her broken heart, she learned, step by step, how to open her heart to God's Grace and will.

One step brought her face to face with the shooter's father, where in a pivotal and poignant meeting, she was given an opportunity to forgive. Another step brought her into the sheltering compassion of her community as family, friends, and even strangers reached out to buoy her up with their shared faith. And several miraculous manifestations of Emilie's continued presence and influence lifted her heart and will validate the faith of every Christian.

The story of Alissa and Emilie reminds us that the bonds of love continue beyond this life and that despite tragedy and heartache, we can find strength in our family and our faith.
An Unseen Angel Official Blog Tour Image

About the Author

Alissa Parker is the mother or one of the twenty children who died tragically in the Sandy Hook school shootings in 2012. After Emilie’s death, Alissa began TheParkerFive blog as a tool to express the emotions she and her family experienced throughout the grieving process. She is also the co-founder of SafeandSoundSchools.org, which helps people take action to make schools safer, and The Emilie Parker Art Connection, a charity helping local community art programs for children.

Divider