Genre: Clean Romance

Promises and Primroses Blog Tour

04 Sep, 2018 by in josi s kilpack, Shadow Mountain Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Promises and Primroses Blog Tour

Promises and Primroses

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 4, 2018
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Lord Elliott Mayfield has done his best to take care of his family, first his siblings and now his nieces and nephews. Unfortunately, he sees this new generation moving in the same direction of bad matches and scandalous relationships as the last. In hopes to change their course, he establishes a “marriage campaign” to motivate them to improve themselves through making respectable matches. With his heart in the right place, what could possibly go wrong?

Peter, Elliott’s eldest nephew, thinks the entire idea is ridiculous. A widower with two young daughters, he simply needs a governess, not a wife. Julia Hollingsworth certainly has the credentials and the experience, but is altogether too young and pretty for such a job. So why can’t he stop thinking about her?

Julia loves working as a governess, despite the objections of her mother, Amelia. And as it turns out, Amelia has a lot to say about the Mayfield men—none of it good. But Julia dismisses the rumors of ruined reputations and instead concentrates on helping Peter with his children and his fledgling business in canine husbandry. His kindness and gentleness is endearing—and increasingly attractive.

But Amelia, whose heart was broken thirty years ago by none other than Elliott Mayfield, is determined to prevent any relationship from blooming either between Peter and Julia—or between herself and Elliott.

Hearts and history collide as both couples must face their pasts and decide if risking it all is worth the promise of new love and a new future.

Julia is bound and determined to make it on her own without the interference of her overbearing mother as a governess. Her boss, Peter Mayfield has two young daughters to look out for after losing his wife and needs someone with just the right combination of talents. Each has a past to taint their prospect for a future together. The Mayfield name is tarnished by past misdeeds and Julia’s family is right in the thick of the hurt. Promises and Primroses addresses how to overcome society scandals to make one’s own path and decisions. With a theme of following your heart, there is a sweet friendship between Peter and Julia which blossoms into something more over time. They work together with animals and overcome personal doubts, to make a powerful pair.

Written from multiple perspectives, each chapter gives readers insight into what is going on with each character. I struggled with Julia’s mother Amelia because of how bitter and bossy she is. I am surprised that I genuinely enjoyed the details about animal husbandry and taking care of young pups. This looks to be the first in a series, so I’m excited to see what books two holds for the Mayfield family. Proper Romances by Shadow Mountain are some of my favorite reads because of the clean, and often historical content.

Divider

Pretty Much Perfect Blog Tour

11 Jul, 2018 by in adult, clean read, covenant Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Pretty Much Perfect Blog Tour

Pretty Much Perfect

by Sally Johnson
Published by Covenant on July 2, 2018
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Camille Weston, a recently returned missionary, anticipates returning to college BYU for her degree and perhaps to meet a nice young man. A sensible young woman with her future mapped out, Camille would never do something dangerous—like pick up a stranger on the side of the road. And yet, inexplicably, she does just that. This is one split-second decision that changes everything. Determined to lend assistance, Camille gets more than she bargained for when she gets roped into helping Liam, a handsome British man, with more than just a ride. As they are thrown together over the coming days and their mutual attraction grows, they realize they just . . . click. That is, until she makes a shocking discovery: the mysterious stranger is William “Liam” Jones, lead singer of the popular band Gear. Camille has never been one to swoon over a celebrity, and she knows her and Liam’s lifestyles could never be compatible. But how can she convince her heart to listen to logic?

Review

Camille is your typical returned missionary, just back from New Guinea, traveling home from a job interview when she spots an unlikely site by the side of the road. She ends up taking an unknown man home with her who’s in a bad spot. The first few pages, modern day parallel to the good Samaritan were attention grabbing, but a bit hard to believe. The story itself is super fun and there are several laugh out loud moments. Liam is from London with an accent and minus the attitude than typically comes with a Rockstar. He’s got a lot to work through including a rocky break up, sad childhood and withdrawls from caffeine. He is caring and drawn to Camille’s stable Better Home and Garden family who eats home cooked meals together.

If you enjoy clean romance with elements of world meets conservative values this is a good match. There are LDS elements but it will make sense to every reader. I love the cover, it is beautiful and matches the storyline. I also really enjoyed the banter between the two main characters and the strong family relationships showcased. Light, cheerful summer read!

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

*July 9th: http://thoroughlyhere.blogspot.com/, http://mybookaday.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/
*July 10th: https://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://www.iamareader.com/
*July 11th: http://fireandicereads.com/, http://empowermoms.net/
*July 12th: https://brightlystreet.com/category/book-reviews/, https://www.rockinbookreviews.com/, http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, https://ldsandlovinit.blogspot.com/, https://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/adults, http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/
*July 13th: http://lifeiswhatitscalled.blogspot.com/, http://brooklynberrydesigns.com/category/book-shelf/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

Divider

Check Me Out Blog Tour

07 Feb, 2018 by in clean read, contemp Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Check Me Out Blog Tour

Check Me Out

by Becca Wilhite
Published by Shadow Mountain on February 3rd 2018
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Greta loves her job as assistant librarian. She loves her best friend, Will, the high school civics teacher and debate coach. She even loves her mother despite her obvious disappointment that Greta is still single.

Then she meets Mac in the poetry section of the library, and she is smitten. Mac is heart-stoppingly gorgeous and showers her with affection, poetic text messages, and free hot chocolate at the local café where he works. The only problem is that he seems to be a different person in his texts than in his face-to-face conversation.

When the Franklin Library is threatened with closure, Greta leaps into action. She arranges for a "battle of the bands" book jam, hosts a book signing by a famous author, and finally, stages a protest that raises more than a few eyebrows.

Through it all, she slowly realizes that it is Will, not Mac, who she turns to for support and encouragement. Mac has the looks; Will has the heart. How can she choose between them?

Check Me Out is a contemporary romance--with just a hint of Cyrano de Bergerac--that reminds us that it is what's on the inside that matters most.

Becca Wilhite’s Check Me Out is a modern day Cyrano De Begerac told from the viewpoint of Greta, a local librarian.She’s worked her whole life toward her dream job at the historic town library. She’s away from home and mom, armed with a Master’s degree and ready to save her place of work from closure. Her best friend Will delivers a swoon worthy birthday present in the form of his cousin Mac. Greta will eventually have to make the choice between looks or love. I enjoyed the atmosphere of the novel and the history, but felt a lack of connection to the characters. Perhaps because most of the interactions done between the main male and female were via short text messages, it felt disconnected. There is also some shallowness to Greta’s way of thinking which indeed makes her flawed, but I struggled to feel endeared to her. I loved her date to eat authentic Indian food and the descriptive set up of a small town. Overall, a clean romance with a great setting and concept. Most will likely enjoy this contemporary remake.

Divider

For Love or Honor Blog Tour & Giveaway

06 Oct, 2017 by in covenant, sarah m eden 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

For Love or Honor Blog Tour & Giveaway

For Love or Honor

by Sarah M. Eden
Published by Covenant on October 2, 2017
Genres: Clean Romance, Regency
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
From the moment they met, Marjie’s heart has belonged to handsome Captain Stanley Jonquil, younger brother of the Earl of Lampton. But six long months ago, when Stanley’s sense of honor required that he do as he had sworn and return to the Continent to fight in defense of King and country, neither Stanley nor Marjie could have dreamed what the cost of his service would be. It has been ages since Stanley last wrote, and Marjie and the Jonquil family are plagued by his unknown fate—until the day he unexpectedly reappears. Marjie’s joy, however, is quickly shadowed by confusion—the aloof, battle-worn soldier before her is not the man he once was. In the wake of Stanley’s blatant disinterest in renewing their acquaintance, Marjie’s devastation turns to determination as she vows to help him find peace. But his scars run far deeper than anyone realizes. Despite his feelings for her, Stanley believes Marjie deserves a man whose hands are not stained with the violence of battlefields and whose mind and heart are not haunted by the horrors he has seen. Honor requires Stanley to return once more to the life he has grown to despise, one he knows will destroy him in the end, even as his heart beckons him to stay with Marjie, the only woman he could ever love, and the promise, at last, of redemption.

This Jonquil Brothers installment is a little bit heavier than the others as both the main character and his sister in law Sorel are struggling with crippling injuries and side effects. Stanley is shell shocked and beaten down from war, with Marjie as his only breath of fresh air. Sarah’s books are always clean with depth in her characters. Historical fiction and Regency fans this series is for you!

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author

Sarah M. Eden read her first Jane Austen novel in elementary school and has been an Austen addict ever since. Fascinated by the English Regency era, Eden became a regular in that section of the reference department at her local library, where she painstakingly researched this extraordinary chapter in history. Eden is an award-winning author of short stories and was a Whitney Award finalist for her novels Seeking Persephone and Courting Miss Lancaster. Visit her at www.sarahmeden.com

Schedule

October 2nd:

October 3rd:

October 4th:

October 5th:

October 6th:

 

Divider

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

22 Sep, 2017 by in Uncategorized 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Wish Me Love Blog Tour

Wish Me Love

by Michele Ashman Bell
Published by Covenant on 2017
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Charlotte Wells does not date. After surviving a broken engagement, she's taken a leave of absence from the social scene. So when her best friend and coworker, Jack, challenges her to get back in the game, she's not so sure she's ready to play. But ultimately, curiosity gets the best of her, and Charlotte accepts the daunting challenge: she will attempt to have fifty first dates in her effort to find "the one." Unfortunately, she quickly realizes that the dating pool mostly holds clown fish as she goes on one lousy outing after another. Without a good man in sight as summer ends, Charlotte cuts her losses and sets her sights on a fun-filled trip to her cousin's destination wedding in Brazil.

Brazil is a land of beautiful sights and delicious offerings—including Max, the charming brother of her cousin's new husband. Max has all the makings of a Prince Charming in soccer cleats, and Charlotte's happily ever after seems to be within reach. But love is a funny things, and soon charlotte finds herself wondering: could it be that her true soul mate has been right in front of her all along?

About the Author

Michele Ashman Bell grew up in St. George, Utah, where she met her husband, Gary, at Dixie College. They are the proud parents of four children: Weston, Kendyl, Andrea, and Rachel.

A favorite pastime of Michele’s is supporting her children in all of their activities, traveling both in and outside the United States with her husband and family, and doing research for her books. She also scuba dives. Aside from being a busy wife and mother, Michele is an aerobics instructor at the Life Centre Athletic Club near her home. Michele is the best-selling author of several books and a Christmas booklet and has also written children’s stories for the Friend magazine

 

Blog Tour Schedule

*Sept. 18th: http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/, http://melsshelves.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 19th: http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/, http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/, http://thethingsilovemost.com/, http://empowermoms.net/
*Sept. 20th: http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, http://www.kindleandme.com/, http://readingismysuperpower.org/
*Sept. 21st: http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://bonnieharris.blogspot.com/
*Sept. 22nd: http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/, http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/

 

Divider

Love on Pointe Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Jun, 2017 by in blog tour, covenant Leave a comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Love on Pointe

by Tiffany Odekirk
Published by Covenant on June 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, LDS
Pages: 328
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Buy the BookGoodreads
Rhys Solario has a secret one he plans to keep: he's a non-Mormon attending Brigham Young University. With only two semesters left before graduation, he just wants to keep flying under the radar. Then he meets Emmy in a Book of Mormon class, and for the first time, the idea of keeping to himself doesn't sound so appealing.
Emmy Jennings feels confident only when she's dancing ballet. With every plié and chassé, all her worries fade away. But when she fails to earn a coveted solo, her confidence on the dance floor disintegrates and the future she's worked so hard to earn stands in jeopardy.

Assigned to be study partners, both Rhys and Emmy face initial anxieties regarding who they really are. But slowly, their tentative friendship evolves into something more. Yet even as love deepens, the pair is faced with a disheartening truth: Rhys can't take Emmy to the temple, and the promise of eternity is not something Emmy's willing to give up. With everything on the line, the couple must decide if they're prepared to reshape their hearts and their lives for the promise of forever.

Love on Pointe Banner
Love on Pointe will be a blast of Provo and BYU culture for anyone who attended the University. Filled with rich details of culture, acronyms, student hang outs and scenarios, it’s a fun read for alumni of Brigham Young University. The cover is beautiful, and characters realistic. A clean read for new adults and college students, it addresses inter racial and inter religious love. I enjoyed the progression and pacing, but did struggle to understand how the topic of church attendance and religion was not heavily explored by the main characters until halfway into the book. Overall, a light, enjoyable LDS romance.

Schedule

*June 12th: http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://wishfulendings.com/
*June 13th: http://heidi-reads.blogspot.com/
*June 14th: http://ilovetoreadandreviewbooks.blogspot.com/, http://rockinbookreviews.com/
*June 15th: http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, https://ldsandlovinit.blogspot.com/
*June 16th: http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/, http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://minreadsandreviews.blogspot.com/, http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Divider

Wrong for You Blog Tour and Giveaway

19 May, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Wrong for You Blog Tour and Giveaway

Wrong for You

by Jenny Proctor
Published by Covenant on May 1, 2017
Genres: Clean Romance, LDS
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Lane Bishop is a hardworking, intelligent, beautiful young woman. And with her recent move to Chapel Hill, she is determined to leave behind the drama and effort of keeping up with the dating scene. Even so, Lane somehow manages to get dragged out by a gaggle of girls to go watch boys play soccer. Just watching is not Lane's forte, so she joins in the fun and leads her team to victory.

Rather than feeling intimidated by the vivacious beauty on the opposing team, Jamie Hamilton is intrigued. Risking his "untouchable" dating status, he decides to pursue Lane with a little help from his older brother Simon. With Simon's behind-the-scenes assistance, Jamie proves irresistible, even to a disillusioned dater like Lane. But as she gets to know both brothers, Lane can't help but wonder—beneath the grand gestures and romantic words, is she falling for the wrong guy?

unnamed
What a good book! I was nervous about a love triangle between brothers, especially brothers as tightly knit as the Hamiltons. Things could get messy and ugly, but I loved the way the author explored family loyalty, friendship and honesty. Wrong For You is set in North Carolina at a bed and breakfast with beautiful grounds and childhood memories. Lane is returning there after college to work as an events planner. She’s feisty, competitive and sick of the single’s scene. One Saturday pick up soccer game later, she’s met her match. Or has she?

The character were well fleshed out and the plot perfect. This is one I would read again and highly recommend to readers of clean romance. My only wish is that the author would have shown more of the feelings toward one man in particular instead of telling readers how Lane was feeling. Overall, a feel good, pick me up story with a great ending!

Blog Tour Schedule

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

The Dating Experiment Blog Tour Spotlight

01 May, 2017 by in adult Leave a comment

The Dating Experiment Blog Tour Spotlight

The Dating Experiment

by Elodia Strain
Published by Cedar Fort on February 14, 2017
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback
Source: Cedar Fort
Buy the BookGoodreads
After losing her job, her house, and her guy, the last thing Gabby wants to do is be in a dating experiment—especially with her ex. Her only chance of making it through is with help from her best friend, Ian. But as the study and all its hilariously awkward dates goes on, Gabby finds herself wondering what exactly this experiment is all about.

About the Author

Elodia Strain was born in Alaska and grew up in the middle of California. She spent her childhood exploring Yosemite National Park, skiing–badly–at Lake Tahoe, and enjoying the beaches along California’s famed central coast. Elodia graduated cum laude from Brigham Young University with a degree in marketing communications. She is the author of three previous books from Cedar Fort. Her debut novel, The Icing on the Cake, was well received by readers of all ages, and earned Elodia the Best New Fiction Author award from CFI. Her second book, Previously Engaged, was a Whitney Award finalist. Elodia also wrote My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend, the novelization of the widely successful eponymous major motion picture, starring Alyssa Milano. In addition to her creative writing pursuits, Elodia has spoken at writers’ conferences, had the privilege of signing books at national events such as her alma mater’s Women’s Conference and Education Week, and is also one of the founders of Ink Ladies Plus (formerly the Ink Ladies blog), a group of CFI and independent authors who work together to strengthen and promote each other’s work. When not writing or marketing, Elodia spends her time bargain shopping, enjoying staycations with her husband, and spoiling her nieces and nephews
Divider

An Inconvenient Romance Blog Tour and Giveaway

10 Feb, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An Inconvenient Romance Blog Tour and Giveaway

An Inconvenient Romance

by Chalon Linton
Published by Covenant on February 2017
Genres: Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
The countryside of England provided an idyllic backdrop for Charles Brumley’s and Leah Hastings’s childhood. Neighbors and best friends, the pair passed many happy days racing through the rolling hills of Derbyshire. Everything was perfect—until Charles ruined it all and abandoned Leah for university.

Six years later, the former friends are thrust into each other's paths once more. Leah had been looking forward to the ball, an opportunity to further her acquaintance with the handsome Mr. Wilkins—but when she sees Charles’s familiar face through the crowd, her traitorous heart leaps.

Charles faces his own struggle: he has loved Leah since he was fifteen years old, yet it seems he is too late—it appears that her affections are otherwise engaged. As the pair tentatively renews their friendship, the spark between them is undeniable.

After so many years apart, Leah endeavors to reconcile her feelings toward her once cherished companion. But when a conniving rival for Charles’s attention approaches Leah, the threat is clear: give up her association with Charles, or a devastating secret about her family will be revealed. Faced with an impossible decision, Leah must make a choice—the ruin of her family or the ruin of her heart?

Review

Told in alternating points of view, this regency romance tracks the childhood memories of two friends Leah and Charles. Their adult life is in full swing with the season of balls, matchmaking and future plans. Charles goes off to school leaving Leah behind, when he returns he has competition for her heart.

I enjoyed hearing the thoughts and struggles each character went through to forgive. The pacing was a bit slow in parts, and one villain way too overbearing. Her attempts to thwart a match were repeated too often. Overall, though An Inconvenient Romance was a clean, light novel with a heartwarming hero. Recommend!

unnamed (4)

Blog Tour Schedule

Feb. 6th
Feb. 7th
Feb. 8th
Feb. 9th
Feb. 10th

About the Author

Chalon Linton was first introduced to Jane Austen by a dear friend and now she can’t get enough of handsome men in tailcoats. Her intrigue in the genre stems from a nostalgic longing for manners, wit, and true love. Fortunately, Chalon found her dashing gentleman, married him, and now lives happily ever after in Southern California.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

The Second Season Blog Tour

15 Sep, 2016 by in cedar fort, heather chapman, the second season Leave a comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

by Heather Chapman
Published by Cedar Fort on September 13, 2016
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Regency
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback
four-half-stars
Buy the Book
Caroline is not looking forward to this year’s Season in London. Her mother already has schemes for her marriage prospects—and none of them include love, it seems. But when a dashing young duke begins to pursue her, Caroline has second thoughts. Caught between ambition and desire, Caroline may gamble her heart away without even realizing it.

The Second Season is a great diversion for fans of Regency Romance who don’t want to get heavily burdened with a long cumbersome read. I found the main character Caroline’s personality refreshing, as she’s not afraid to stand up for principles over popularity. She knows what her heart is set on, and she is willing to attempt to honor her mother, yet follow her conscience.

I was hoping for a bit longer wrap up in the relationship between Caroline and her mother, and wished the ending would have had a bit more embellishment. I found Lady Hopkins insufferable and annoying, which may have been the author’s intent 🙂

A clean read with in-depth characters, Heather Chapman has won my attention from beginning to end!

Book Trailer

About the Author

Heather Chapman currently resides in Soda Springs, Idaho, with her husband and four children. She graduated magna cum laude from Brigham Young University. Heather has worked in various administrative assistant roles and as an event planner. Heather has also worked as a piano accompanist and piano teacher on the side. She currently spends her time writing and working as a stay-at-home mother.

Blog Tour Schedule


September 13: Live to Read | Bookworm 2 Bookworm
September 14: Rockin’ Book Reviews | Robyn Echols Books
September 15: Bookworm Lisa | Fire and Ice
September 16: Megan Linski
September 17: Literary Time Out
September 18: Jorie Loves a Story
September 19: Katie’s Clean Book Collection | Julie Coulter Bellon
September 20: Geo Librarian | Jorie Loves a Story | The Dragon’s Nook
September 21: Mel’s Shelves
September 22: Getting Your Read On
September 23: The Things I Love Most | Singing Librarian Books
September 24: Hardcover Feedback | A Bliss Complete
September 25: Inklings and Notions | Blooming With Books
September 26: Storyweaver
September 27: Novel-ties
September 28: My Book a Day
September 29: Wishful Endings | The Story Sanctuary
September 30: Writing Worm

 

Divider