Author: Jennifer Moore

A Place For Miss Snow Blog Tour & Giveaway

09 Sep, 2016 by in regency romance Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Place for Miss Snow

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1, 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction, Regency
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the Book
Miss Diana Snow is everything a British chaperone should be—she finds satisfaction in order and depends wholly upon the rules of decorum as she negotiates the isle of Greece with her young charge. But Miss Snow's prim and proper exterior masks a disquieting past: orphaned and alone in the world, she has only her stiff upper lip to rely on. When a brief encounter with a handsome stranger challenges her rules of propriety, Diana is unwittingly drawn into an adventure that will turn her ordered world upside down.

Alexandros Metaxas is a Greek spy working to recruit individuals to the cause of revolution. His mission seems to be going perfectly until he encounters Diana Snow, a captivating—if slightly cold—beauty. When their paths cross again, the ill-fated reunion threatens all Alex has been fighting for. But more importantly, it places Diana's life in jeopardy. There is only one way to save her: they must put themselves at the mercy of the most powerful pirate family in the Mediterranean. Soon, Diana is plunged into a fantastic world of gypsy curses, blood feuds, and unexpected romance. But when a bitter vendetta places her in mortal danger, will she have the courage to fight for life and love?

 

Prepare yourself to be full immersed in Grecian culture, setting , history and politics during the Regency period. A deviation from the English society, A Place For Miss Snow follows an English orphan serving as a companion to an officer’s daughter. Kidnapped and knife point and carried away by scoundrels, Miss Snow is implicated during simple act of returning a man’s gloves. There is slow romance between this man, Alex,  and Miss Snow which takes a second seat to the history.

As a reader, so much in this book was entirely new, it might have been helpful to have an introduction or author’s note explaining the background or a glossary of names and Greek terms. Ms. Moore always does significant research behind her novels, tis one could easily be used in the High School classroom as there is little violence and no questionable content. Thank you for the diversion for a day to a place much warmer and more colorful.

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Simply Anna Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

18 Sep, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Simply Anna Blog Tour and $25 Giveaway

Simply Anna

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on September 1st 2015
Genres: Adult, Christian, Clean Romance
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Suffering from a cruel heartbreak, Lord Philip Hamilton has been driven to seek refuge from the painful memories haunting London, and his father’s Jamaican sugar cane plantation provides just the escape he needs. Philip finds solace in his hard work and takes comfort in the fact that his distance from society ensures that his heart will be protected from future entanglements. Protected, that is, until the unexpected appearance of a mysterious woman with no memory of her past. The only clue to her identity is a necklace inscribed with a name: Anna. In a matter of weeks, this gentle, intelligent, and impossibly beautiful stranger turns Philip’s world upside down. But as the bond between the pair grows, the threat of Philip losing his heart once more is only the beginning of the dangers that await. Island renegades and a ruthless band of pirates clash in a swashbuckling battle, and it soon becomes clear that these villains may be the key to unlocking Anna’s past...
simply_anna

When a young woman mysteriously washes ashore on the beach in Jamaica, a young gentleman landowner and his overseer are not sure what to think. The girl is close to dead and the only identifying piece she owns is a necklace with her first name engraved. Anna can’t remember who she is, where she came from or how she got sent to sea. While she recovers, it becomes apparent that life on this sugar cane plantation can be cruel and sweet all at the same time.

Set in the 1800’s, slavery is in full swing. I truly enjoyed all the side characters like head of the household Betty, valet Ezekial and master Malachi. I know an author has done a wonderful job fleshing them out when I can still identify and relate to them after I’m done with the book. The pacing was slow and sweet–the story line clean with little violence.

Jennifer Moore is a new go-to author for historical romance. And, there be pirates in this book! My favorite portion of Simply Anna was dedicated to buccaneers. I am hoping a new companion novel covering their adventures is on the horizon. Pretty please?

 

About the AuthorAuthor photo by Heather Zahn Gardner

Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world, which includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that are anything but romantic. Jennifer has a BA in linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family.

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Lady Emma’s Campaign by Jennifer Moore ~ Blog Tour

11 Nov, 2014 by in adult, blog tour, covenant, Heather Gardner Photography, historical fiction, jennifer moore Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lady Emma’s Campaign by Jennifer Moore ~ Blog Tour

Lady Emma's Campaign

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on November 1, 2014
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
She would follow him through peace and war.

London, 1811

The London Season is ushered in with a thrilling flurry of invitations, gowns, and parties. But despite her status as belle of the ball, lovely socialite Emma Drake simply cannot fathom becoming entangled with any gentleman of her acquaintance. For in truth, since childhood her heart has belonged to Captain Sidney Fletcher, a man of the sea—and her brother’s best friend. Emma knows that Sidney’s directive to free the Spanish city of Cadiz from French occupation will be dangerous, but when word arrives of his capture, she is frantic. Determined to aid her brother in Sidney’s rescue, she hides aboard his ship and sets a course to Spain. But the realities of war are a far cry from the drawing rooms of London, and Emma finds the man she loves a mere shadow of his former self. When a series of events leaves them trapped together behind enemy lines, Emma and Sidney must embark on a journey fraught with danger—from a bloody hunt for Spanish treasure to the battlefields of war-torn Spain, new threats lurk around every turn. As their flight becomes increasingly perilous, Sidney and Emma must trust each other with their lives—but can they trust the other with their heart?
lady emmas blog tour

 

Author Jennifer Moore is back after her debut, with a companion novel to Becoming Lady Lockwood. And, I must say her writing is even better than ever. I absolutely loved Lady Emma’s Campaign. Set in Spain during the Regency Era Napoleonic Wars, it is the tale of a soldier experiencing PTSD after a grueling number of years on the battlefield, and his best friend’s sister Emma. She is 17 and in her season with plenty of suitors, but her heart is set on Sidney Drake. She is determined to be seen as more than a sister figure or young girl, and to win his heart.

With fascinating descriptions of life in Spain during war time, life on the seas as a sailor, and the dull social preoccupation of London’s scene, I was hooked. As a fan of historical fiction and clean romance, I must recommend you pick up Lady Emma’s Campaign. I am so impressed with all the well-researched facts and the psychological effects of trauma that were built into the story line.

Highly recommend!

Thanks to Covenant Communications for the sneak peek before publication date, and to author Jennifer Moore for allowing me the privilege of taking her author photos.

Content: moderate war related violence, kissing, threat of assault but nothing described.

 About the Author

Copyright Heather Zahn Gardner

Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world that includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that is anything but romantic. Jennifer has a B.A. in Linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family. Becoming Lady Lockwood–July 2014 (Covenant) Lady Emma’s Campaign–November 2014 (Covenant) The Sheik’s Ruby–Winter 2015 (The Wild Rose Press) Miss Burton Unmasks a Prince–February 2015 (Covenant)You can learn more about her at: authorjmoore.com

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Early Book Review: Becoming Lady Lockwood by Jennifer Moore

09 Jun, 2014 by in adult, author photo, covenant, heather, Heather Gardner Photography, jennifer moore, utah author 2 comments

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Book Review: Becoming Lady Lockwood by Jennifer Moore

Becoming Lady Lockwood

by Jennifer Moore
Published by Covenant on July 1st 2014
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Historical Fiction
Pages: 199
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
Amelia Beckett is delighted to be a widow. Married by proxy to a man she'd never met, Amelia recognizes that a fortuitous entry into widowhood frees her from meddlesome chaperones and matchmakers. Heiress to her mother's sugar plantation in Jamaica, she happily anticipates working in a man's world, with the additional credibility of her new title: Lady Lockwood. But with the arrival of Captain Sir William Drake, her plans quickly go awry...

William has traversed the Atlantic with one purpose. If he cannot prove that Amelia's marriage to his brother was a fraud, she will be entitled to a sizeable portion of his family's estate. He is determined to return this duplicitous "Lady" to London for an official hearing, and he carries with him a letter that will ensure her cooperation...

Left with no choice, Amelia joins the captain on his return voyage to England, and the two quickly find that ship life does not allow for evasion. Amelia and William are ceaselessly thrown together, and amidst fierce storms and ocean battles, what began as antipathy seems to be evolving quite unexpectedly. But as they draw ever closer to their destination, will the impossibility of their circumstances shatter any hope of a future together?

I sometimes get in serious reading slumps, when I just can’t find a book to fit my mood. I was in one when Becoming Lady Lockwood arrived in the mail. I think I may have cheered for several reasons. One, I took the author photos for Jennifer and two, I am a huge fan of both historical fiction and maritime tales. Jennifer Moore sweeps readers away to an adventure on the high seas between Jamaica and England. Lady Lockwood has just been widowed in a marriage of convenience. Having never met her husband, she is actually happy to be unattached and now able to avoid the societal pressures that come with being single. She is headstrong and independent with a fortune of her own wrapped up in sugar, when Lord Lockwood’s brother appears. A marine captain, he’s been sent to summon Lady Lockwood back to London. There is friction, of course, as the captain calls our main heroine by her maiden name–Amelia Beckett while on board his ship. He is out to challenge Amelia and his brother’s arranged marriage and reclaim all of the family fortune. Sailing through enemy waters in time of war makes for a dangerous journey.

I absolutely loved every page of this clean Regency romance. Jennifer’s characters were enjoyable, even side characters had personalities to remember. They have a lot of growing to do. There is mystery, intrigue, and action to keep readers turning pages. I highly recommend this one to fans of Julianne Donaldson and Sarah M Eden. It is a clean pick with historically correct factoids and a unique plot. Well done Jennifer! Can not wait to read all Ms. Moore has up her sleeve in the coming years. Thanks to Jennifer and Covenant for the sneak peek.

heatherAbout the Author

Jenny-Moore

Author Jenny Moore~ Photo Copyright Heather Zahn Gardner

Jennifer Moore is a passionate reader and writer of all things romance due to the need to balance the rest of her world that includes a perpetually traveling husband and four active sons, who create heaps of laundry that is anything but romantic. Jennifer has a B.A. in Linguistics from the University of Utah and is a Guitar Hero champion. She lives in northern Utah with her family. Becoming Lady Lockwood–June 2013 (Covenant) Emma’s Campaign–Winter 2013 (Covenant) The Sheik’s Ruby–Winter 2013 (The Wild Rose Press) You can learn more about her at: www.authorjmoore.com

Divider