Source: Shadow Mountain

An Unseen Angel Blog Tour

28 Apr, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

An Unseen Angel Blog Tour

An Unseen Angel

by Alissa Parker
Published by Shadow Mountain on 2017
Genres: Adult, Inspirational, Non- Fiction
Pages: 192
Format: ARC
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
When Alissa Parker lost her daughter Emilie in the Sandy Hook Elementary mass shooting, she started a life-changing journey to answer soul-searching questions about faith, hope, and healing. As she sought for the peace and comfort that could help mend her broken heart, she learned, step by step, how to open her heart to God's Grace and will.

One step brought her face to face with the shooter's father, where in a pivotal and poignant meeting, she was given an opportunity to forgive. Another step brought her into the sheltering compassion of her community as family, friends, and even strangers reached out to buoy her up with their shared faith. And several miraculous manifestations of Emilie's continued presence and influence lifted her heart and will validate the faith of every Christian.

The story of Alissa and Emilie reminds us that the bonds of love continue beyond this life and that despite tragedy and heartache, we can find strength in our family and our faith.
An Unseen Angel Official Blog Tour Image

About the Author

Alissa Parker is the mother or one of the twenty children who died tragically in the Sandy Hook school shootings in 2012. After Emilie’s death, Alissa began TheParkerFive blog as a tool to express the emotions she and her family experienced throughout the grieving process. She is also the co-founder of SafeandSoundSchools.org, which helps people take action to make schools safer, and The Emilie Parker Art Connection, a charity helping local community art programs for children.

Divider

The Lady of the Lakes Blog Tour

23 Jan, 2017 by in josi s kilpack, proper romance Leave a comment

The Lady of the Lakes Blog Tour

Lady of the Lakes

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on January 3, 2017
Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
One is his first love. The other is his best love. Which will be Walter's true love?
Walter Scott has three passions: Scotland, poetry, and Mina Stuart. Though Mina is young and they are from different stations in society, Walter is certain their love is meant to be. For years, he has courted her through love letters. She is the sunshine of his soul.

Though Mina shares Walter's love of literature and passionate temperament, it's hard for her to know if she truly loves him or if she has only been dazzled by his flattery. When she meets the handsome and charming William Forbes, her heart is challenged. Who will she choose?

But as every poet knows, "The course of true love never did run smooth," and on a windy morning in the lake country, Walter meets Charlotte.

At twenty-six, Charlotte Carpenter believes she will never find love. After all, she is a Catholic-born Frenchwoman living in London with a family history shadowed by scandal. Though quiet, practical, and determined to live a life of independence, her heart longs for someone to love her and a place to call home.

Passion and promises collide as Walter, Mina, and Charlotte must each decide the course for their futures. What are they each willing to risk to find love and be loved in return?
Lady of the Lakes - Blog Tour Image

About the Author

Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and credits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began writing her first novel in 1998 and has written twenty-five novels, one cookbook, and been part of multiple collaborations since then. She is a two-time Whitney Award winner and Best of State winner in Fiction. Josi currently lives in Willard, Utah, with her husband and children.

For more information about Josi or her books, please visit her blog, What is a Sundial In the Shade?

Divider

Winter Sky by Chris Stewart ~ Blog Tour

02 Dec, 2016 by in chris stewart, Shadow Mountain, world war II Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Winter Sky by Chris Stewart ~ Blog Tour

Winter Sky

by Chris Stewart
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 27, 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover
four-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
In a bombed-out Polish village during World War II, a young resistance fighter finds that he is suddenly alone and trapped between two opposing armies. He is one of Poland’s “Devil’s Rebels” fighting desperately to save his homeland, but an injury has erased his memory and his only possession is a torn photograph of a couple he assumes are his parents. The woman appears to be holding the hand of a young child whose image has been ripped off. Could this be him?

Caught in the crosshairs of the retreating German army and the advancing Russian forces, the village holds nothing but destruction and despair until a mysterious young woman offers a small glimmer of hope that may represent his last chance – news of a refugee train departing from a nearby town, headed for American installations at the border.

But complications arise when the resistance fighter is betrayed by his own countryman and hunted by German SS officers who are determined to kill him before they retreat. Desperately searching for a home and family he can’t remember, he is persuaded to rescue two children who are doomed to die without his help. But as time runs out, the former rebel is faced with an impossible choice. Standing at the crossroads of saving himself or risking his life for strangers, what would motivate a young man at the brink of salvation to make one more sacrifice?

New York Times Best-selling author Chris Stewart has created a powerful, soul-moving story of compassion and hope against all odds, set against the true-life backdrop of Eastern Poland and the courageous efforts of the “Devil’s Rebels” in the waning months of World War II.
winter sky banner

Lucas steps off the train with no memory of who he is or how he got to the war torn Polish vilage. He has vivid memories of weapons and tactical skills, but he does not know his own name. The injured soldier carries with him a photo torn in half as the only clue to help him find the way home. He is cold, hungry and hurt. Finding refuge for the evening in a church, Lucas meets a young woman who offers him bread, and eventually hope.

Winter Sky tells a war story often untold in World War II, the struggle of the Polish people and their rebellion as German and Russian forces press from two sides. Stewart uses a point of view somewhat removed and distant, which made it difficult for me to connect deeply with any of the characters. A short read,  it is a snippet of history and the harsh realities of war. There is moderate violence, some periods of dismal wondering about God. Ultimately, the novel settles on a message of hope. Highlights are the rich historical detail and interesting perspective. Special thanks to Shadow Mountain for the chance to review.

about_ the_author

Chris Stewart is a bestselling author and world-record-setting Air Force pilot whose previous military techno-thrillers have been selected by the Book of the Month Club and published in six different countries.

He is the author of the highly acclaimed series The Great and Terrible, as well as A Christmas Bell for Anya, which was performed with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir during their 2005 Christmas concert. He has also been a guest editorialist for the Detroit News, commenting on matters of military readiness and national security. He is president of The Shipley Group, a nationally recognized consulting and training company and founder of the Utah Renaissance and Leadership Center

Divider

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells Blog Tour

03 Oct, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells

by Sarah M. Eden
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 27, 2016
Genres: Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-half-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
The small town of Savage Wells is barely big enough for the people who call it home; it certainly isn’t big enough for more than one sheriff.

Yet when famed lawman Cade O’Brien rides into town, he finds he’s not the only man ready to take on the job. What’s more, one of his competitors is a woman.

Paisley Bell loves her town and the eccentric people in it. She’s been the job to anyone else. Not only does she love the work, but she also needs the income to take care of her ailing father.

It’s a true battle of the sexes, and sparks fly between the two as Cade and Paisley banter and boast, neither one ready to acknowledge the attraction they have for each other. But when Paisley’s former beau shows up, along with a band of bank robbers, Savage Wells is suddenly faced with the kind of peril that only a sheriff can manage. Who will be man enough—or woman enough—to step up, claim the badge, and save the town?

 

About the Author

Sarah M. Eden is a USA Today bestselling author of multiple historical romances, including AML’s “2013 Novel of the Year” and Foreword Review’s 2013 “IndieFab Book of the Year” gold medal winner for Best Romance, Longing for Home, and the Whitney Award’s “2014 Novel of the Year,” Longing for Home: Hope Springs. Combining her obsession with history and affinity for tender love stories, Sarah loves crafting witty characters and heartfelt romances set against rich historical backdrops. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in research and happily spends hours perusing the reference shelves of her local library. Sarah lives with her husband, kids, and mischievous dog in the shadow of a snow-capped mountain she has never attempted to ski.

Divider

Beauty and the Clockwork Beast Blog Tour

07 Aug, 2016 by in proper romance, Shadow Mountain, steampunk Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Beauty and the Clockwork Beast

by Nancy Campbell Allen
Published by Shadow Mountain on August 2, 2016
Genres: Steampunk
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
When Lucy Pickett arrives at Blackwell Manor to tend to her ailing cousin, Kate, she finds more than she bargained for. A restless ghost roams the hallways, werewolves have been reported in the area, and vampires lurk across the Scottish border.

Lord Miles himself is clearly hiding a secret. He is brash and inhospitable and does not take kindly to visitors—even one as smart and attractive as Miss Pickett. He is unsettled by the mysterious deaths of his new wife, Clara, and his sister, Marie. Could Miles himself be to blame for the deaths?

Working together, Miles and Lucy attempt to restore peace to Blackwell Manor. But can Lucy solve the mystery of Miles? Can she love the man—beast and all?

There is so much packed into this book. Steampunk, Victorian Era romance, paranormal elements, and plot twists on past storylines pulled from Beauty and the Beast and Jane Austen. About 2/3 of the way through the book I was hooked on main character Miles, earl of Blackwell Manor and his house guest, Lucy. Ms. Picket is trying to solve the mystery of her cousins mysterious illness and in the process meets with ghosts, vampires and automatons. I loved the botanical descriptions and use of old apothecary methods to heal with plants.

The plot took a while to get into. The reader may get lost in the world building if they’ve never read steampunk. Tesla was overused a bit. The only other hitch for me was convincing myself that Lucy was not a spinster, but rather a young woman of marrying age. For some reason, there was a lack of the physical and emotional elements that fleshed out her young personality. She was head strong and accomplished, but when the romance picked up I still saw her as 40’s or 50’s in age.

I did enjoy this one. Lots of suspense, mystery and rich descriptions. It was a truly one of a kind combination of well-loved tales.

Content: drinking, kissing and sensuality.

Divider

Sweets and Treats with Six Sisters’ Stuff Blog Tour & Review

30 Nov, 2015 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sweets and Treats with Six Sisters’ Stuff

by Six SIsters' Stuff
Published by Shadow Mountain on September 29, 2015
Genres: Adult, Cookbook
Pages: 169
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
After growing up in a close-knit family in Utah, the sisters scattered across the country when they went off to college, got married, and had kids. To keep in touch, they started the Six Sis­ters’ Stuff blog, which (much to their surprise!) attracted a massive following. Today, SixSis­tersStuff.com is an Internet sensation filled with recipes, meal planners, DIY projects, and more!

At the core of the Six Sisters’ brand are home-grown values: a devotion to family, love, and togetherness. And delicious, lovingly prepared food, of course!
SWEETS & TREATS is a treasure trove of ideas for the fun parent. Whether it’s for a special occasion or a festive after school snack, kids will be dazzled by Homemade Twix Bars, Circus Animal Truffles, Samoa Cupcakes, or Churro Chex Mix! Rock the school bake sales with spins on the classics —from Reese’s Brownies to Butterscotch Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies. And the recipes are so easy that kids can even bake along!

For party time, after dinner, or even just some well-deserved self-indulgence , SWEETS & TREATS is filled to the brim with cakes, pies, and other swoon-worthy delights like Brownie Caramel Cheesecake, Mini Pumpkin Pies, Berries and Cream Trifle, or perfect raspberry sorbet. This book features classic recipes derived from the Six Sisters’ family heritage (like their Fresh Peach Pie!) alongside innovative creations (Peanut Butter Brownie Buckeye Cupcakes, any­one?), that will give you options for easy entertaining.

Also included are these magnificent delights:
Hot Fudge Sundae Ice Cream Cake
Microwave Caramels
Frozen Grasshopper Cookie Pie
Rocky Road Fudge
Brownie Caramel Cheesecake

Every recipe is accompanied by a colorful photo and there are lots of whimsical sidebars throughout the book that offer great family activities, tricks for parties, crafts, and even ideas for cute, easy date nights. The Sisters know first-hand what it’s like to juggle a hectic life, and they’ve designed everything so that you can concentrate on putting a smile on your family’s faces.
The proof is in the pudding (and also the cakes, brownies, and cookies!): With the Six Sisters you can put dessert first!

Review

I do believe there were actual squeals when this cook book arrived in our mailbox. My oldest daughter is quite the chef and she went right to work cooking up a recipe from Sweets and treats with Six Sisters’ Stuff. We’ve enjoyed various brownies over the past few weeks. She loves the presentation, the photos and the glossy pages. We also enjoyed the fun ideas for families like a neighborhood cookie walk, decorative ways to package treats, and new holiday traditions. I can not wait for the frozen grasshopper cookie pie or microwave caramels! Six Sisters’ Stuff cookbooks are among our very favorites and they are a must have for anyone who loves comfort food and family togetherness.

Divider

Lord Fenton’s Folly by Josi S Kilpack~ ARC Spotlight

09 Jul, 2015 by in alaac15, josi s kilpack, Shadow Mountain Leave a comment

I received this book for free from ALA, Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Lord Fenton’s Folly by Josi S Kilpack~ ARC Spotlight

Lord Fenton's Folly

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on October 6th 2015
Genres: Adult, Regency
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: ALA, Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Lord Fenton is a gambler, a dandy, and a flirt—and he must marry or else he will be disinherited, stripped of his wealth and his position. He chooses Alice Stanbridge for two simple reasons: he once knew her as a young girl, and she is the least objectionable option available to him.

However, Alice has harbored feelings for Fenton since their first meeting ten years ago, and she believes his proposal is real. When she discovers it is not, she is embarrassed and hurt. However, a match with the most-eligible bachelor in London would secure not only her future but that of her family as well.

Determined to protect herself from making a fool of herself a second time, Alice matches Lord Fenton wit for wit and insult for insult as they move toward a marriage of convenience that is anything but a happy union. Only when faced with family secrets that have shaped Fenton’s life does he let down his guard enough to find room in his heart for Alice. But can Alice risk her heart a second time?

The brief: Lord Fenton’s Folly by Josi S Kilpack is one of the first books I picked up at ALA this year. I love the Shadow Mountain Proper Romance series and Regency Era historical fiction. In the vein of Sarah M. Eden’s books set in Regency era London.

The cover: Not my favorite

The readability: Picked it up and never put it down, no drags in plot.

The book: Witty banter, depth of character, real life issues.

Themes: Fidelity and love in marriage, societal jedgement, being a gentleman by example, loyalty, kindness

Content: Adult, clean, talk of extra marital affairs and marital relations

Overall: Loved

 

 

Divider

A Heart Revealed By Josi Kilpack~ Blog Tour and Review

10 Apr, 2015 by in adult, josi s kilpack, regency romance, Shadow Mountain Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

A Heart Revealed By Josi Kilpack~ Blog Tour and Review

A Heart Revealed

by Josi S. Kilpack
Published by Shadow Mountain on April 7, 2015
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, Regency
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-half-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Amber Marie Sterlington, the Rage of the Season in Regency-era London, has her pick of men and she knows what she wants most in a husband: a title and a fortune. Why would she ever marry for something as fickle as love? And why would she ever look twice at Thomas Richards, a third son of a country lord?
But Amber's social standing is shattered by a rare disorder which causes the loss of her hair. Publicly humiliated and estranged from her shamed family, she is exiled to Yorkshire, facing a future she never expected in a circumstance far below what she has known all her life. Humbled and lonely, Amber wonders if isolation is for the best and questions what real love means until she finds a romantic path to a man who offers unconditional love.

Author Josi S. Kilpack, who is best known for her culinary cozy mysteries, tackles the difficult condition of alopecia in her latest, novel A Heart Revealed. Set in Regency Era London, this clean romance explores how a rich debutante, who was once queen of the ball, falls from social graces in battling a life altering condition.

Miss Sterlington turns heads with her fiery red hair, sparkling eyes and strong personality. She enjoys her season, coming out among the ton with many suitors falling on her every word. But when life hands her a cruel twist of fate, she is exiled to a small cottage, and a simple life she never imagined in her wildest dreams. Suzanne, her lady in waiting, has the task of following Amber Sterlington, and helping to re-shape her bratty attitude. Successful in her service and her attempts to reform her boss, Suzanne is a strong and likeable character. Sterlington’s parents on the other hand, need to go.

Readers will see a full character arc in he main heroine, as well a tiny bit of romance. Thomas Richards, gentlemen, is sick of the extravagant balls, the small hearted women he meets and the frivolity. But Miss Sterlington captures his attention. When circumstances throw them back together, he sees a change in her heart and can’t help but be even more drawn to the woman behind the mysterious disguise.

I truly enjoyed the message and the ending of A Heart Revealed. My favorite character was Thomas and I wish we could have seen more into his thoughts and actions. The kiss seemed a bit wild considering how slowly and carefully this relationship unfolded in the dark, but in the last chapters, it all comes together. I highly recommend this and the entire Proper Romance series for fans of clean Regency novels!

About the Author153344

Josi S. Kilpack hated to read until her mother handed her a copy of The Witch of Blackbird Pond when she was 13. From that day forward, she read everything she could get her hands on and accredits her writing “education” to the many novels she has “studied” since then. She began writing her first novel in 1998 and never stopped. Her novel, Sheep’s Clothing won the Whitney Award 2007 for Mystery/Suspense. Lemon Tart, the first book in the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mystery series was a finalist in 2009. Josi currently lives in Willard Utah with her husband, children and super-cute cat.

Divider

Silence by Deborah Lytton Blog Tour

03 Mar, 2015 by in Deborah Lytton, Shadow Mountain, YA contemporary, young adult fiction Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Silence by Deborah Lytton Blog Tour

Silence

by Deborah Lytton
Published by Shadow Mountain on March 7, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
four-half-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Stella was born to sing. Someday Broadway. Even though she is only a sophomore at a new high school, her voice has given her the status as a cool kid. But then a tragic accident renders her deaf. She cannot hear herself sing not to mention speak. She cannot hear anything. Silence. What happens when everything you have dreamed of and hoped for is shattered in a single moment?

Enter Hayden, the boy with blonde curls who stutters. He is treated like an outcast because he is not normal. And, yet, Stella feels an attraction to him that she cannot explain. As Hayden reaches out to help Stella discover a world without sound his own tragic past warns him to keep a distance. But their connection is undeniable. Can the boy who stutters and the girl whose deaf find a happily-ever-after?

SILENCE is a story of friendship and hope with a lesson that sometimes it takes a tragedy to help us find beauty and love in unexpected places.

There are so many things to love about Silence by Deborah Lytton. It’s a clean contemporary YA story of a two disabled students who find redemption and healing in their friendship, and then, ultimately find love. Stella is a High School drama student on the rise with a gift that just might be her ticket to popularity–her voice. When an accident leaves Stella deaf, she has to look at how life will change wihout the ability to hear and sing. Enter Hayden Rivers who stutters and is a social outcast. He carries a story of his own involving abuse and selective mutism. The two together, make a wonderful team.

The language of Silence is very poetic,which at times slowed the pace of the story, but by the last half of the book I was completely hooked. I stayed up long past my bed time to finish. I do wish the main protagonist was older than 15. Their relationship seemed to move from friendship to a mature eternal love in a short 17 days and would be more fitting for an older teen. Overall, I loved this one and will pass it on to others highly recommended.

about_ the_author

Deborah Lytton is an established writer who began her work life as an actress at the age of six. She graduated from UCLA debby-lytton-2015-1 and Pepperdine University with a degree in law before becoming a writer. She lives in California with her two daughters and is an active blogger and member of SCBWI. FInd her at http://www.deborahlytton.com/

Divider

Remake by Ilima Todd ~ Review

09 Dec, 2014 by in dystopian, ilima todd, Shadow Mountain, ya, young adult fiction 1 comment

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Remake by Ilima Todd ~ Review

Remake

by Ilima Todd
Published by Shadow Mountain on October 14th 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover
four-stars
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the BookGoodreads
Nine is the ninth female born in her batch of ten females and ten males. By design, her life in Freedom Province is without complications or consequences. However, such freedom comes with a price. The Prime Maker is determined to keep that price a secret from the new batches of citizens that are born, nurtured, and raised androgynously.

But Nine isn't like every other batcher. She harbors indecision
and worries about her upcoming Remake Day -- her seventeenth birthday, the age when batchers fly to the Remake facility and have the freedom to choose who and what they'll be.

When Nine discovers the truth about life outside of Freedom
Province, including the secret plan of the Prime Maker, she is
pulled between two worlds and two lives. Her decisions will test
her courage, her heart, and her beliefs. Who can she trust? Who does she love? And most importantly, who will she decide to be?

First thing I have to say is that the cover is gorgeous and absolutely fits the plot and character featured. Nine is a teen waiting for her 17th birthday when she will pick her trade and be “remade” as either a male of female. She is free to choose her physical features and ultimately the trajectory of her life according to her society’s laws. But what she does not understand is that there is a whole other reality out there that involves family, fertility and love. This book tested the limits of conventionally accepted values and the turn our society is taking towards gender less definition of youth at the same time. It openly discusses sex, gender, and God but is set in a futuristic dystopian society much like The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld or Divergent by Veronica Roth. I personally would not let my children read it until they are older and had been well exposed to both sex and gender issues. However, as an adult who has read a wide range of similar YA dystopian books, I enjoyed Remake as a fresh take on what could very well be in our near future. The themes are freedom of choice, family, seeking truth and government oppression.

I wish there would have been a bit more character development, especially with the two boys she has to choose between. And, I am hoping there is a sequel ( this was announced as a two book deal) There are a lot of open ends at the conclusion of Remake. Would I recommend it? Yes. Moms and dads, please pre read before passing it on. Adults, this is thought provoking and extremely timely. Well done Ilima. You’ve asked and introduced some very important questions.

about_ the_author
ilima toddIlima Todd was born and raised on the north shore of Oahu and currently resides in the Rocky Mountains. She never wanted to be a writer even though she loves books and reading. She earned a degree in physics instead. But the characters in her head refused to be ignored, and now she spends her time writing science fiction for teens. When she is not writing, Ilima loves to spend time with her husband and four children.

Find her on Twitter * Facebook * Goodreads * Pinterest * Email

Divider