Genre: Young Adult

The False Prince Review

23 Mar, 2017 by in fantasy, scholastic, ya fantasy Leave a comment

The False Prince Review

The False Prince

by Jennifer A. Nielsen
Series: Ascendance Trilogy #1
Published by Scholastic on April 1, 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 355
Format: Paperback
five-stars
Source: Bought
Buy the BookGoodreads

This book is chock-full of action, suspense, and humor! With twists and turns in the plot, I could hardly put it down. Each character had completely different strengths and weaknesses. Sage’s dry humor and sarcastic remarks kept the mood from becoming too foreboding. With Conner’s mysterious plan and Sage’s shadowy past, the reader has to continually guess what will happen next.

The False Prince is also a coming-of-age novel. Sage has to refine his character by decreasing his arrogance and leaving some things unsaid. He is my favorite character because he won’t give in to anyone and intelligently takes note of small details that ultimately save him. The suspense in the plot only resolves at the very end, so the reader has to keep reading to find out what happens. I would recommend this book to ages 12 and above or anyone that wants to be pulled into a complex story.

-Kaykay, 15

Divider

Destined For Doon Review

22 Mar, 2017 by in fantasy, harper collins Leave a comment

Destined For Doon Review

Destined For Doon

by Carey Corp, Lorie Langdon
Published by BlinkYA on September 2, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 346
Format: Hardcover
four-half-stars
Source: Bought
Buy the BookGoodreads
The second book in the popular new Doon YA series that takes on a classic story, Brigadoon, and spins it in a new way to give readers a fresh, modern experience.

In this sequel to Doon, Kenna Reid realizes she made a horrible mistake-choosing to follow her dreams of Broadway instead of staying in the enchanted land of Doon. Worse, she's received proof she and Duncan are meant to be, along with torturous visions of the prince she left behind. So when Duncan shows up and informs Kenna that Doon needs her, she doesn't need to think twice. But even if Kenna can save the enchanted kingdom, her happily ever after may still be in peril.

The Doon novels are a part of Blink, HarperCollins Christian Publishing's new YA imprint that delivers empowering and heartening literature while maintaining a tradition of imaginative and impactful storytelling.

Another high-action adventure, Destined for Doon is an excellent sequel to the first book, Doon, by authors Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon. This book was very fast paced and kept me entertained the entire read. Something I didn’t care for in the book however, was the relationship development between two main protagonists, Mackenna and Duncan. Almost all interactions between them were very strained, and the conflict grew to a point where it was  uncomfortable and at times made for an unpleasant experience. If the authors were trying to convey the pain that comes with a broken relationship, they definitely succeeded. Aside from that, this book was an excellent read. It kept my interest with intrigue and suspense, and lightened the dark fate facing Doon with the bright humor of Kenna and Veronica. I would recommend this book to any girl 14 and up. I wouldn’t really recommend this to boys, as a good portion of the book is romance and may not hold their attention. Suspenseful, enthralling, and filled with the magic of Scotland’s Brig ‘O’ Doon, Destined for Doon will entrance it’s readers.

-Avid Aviary Reader, 15

Divider

By Your Side by Kasie West

14 Feb, 2017 by in contemp, kasie west, YA fiction Leave a comment

By Your Side by Kasie West

By Your Side

by Kasie West
Published by Harper Teen on January 31, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Bought
Buy the BookGoodreads
In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Kasie West is one of my go to authors for YA contemp. By Your Side features two high school students locked in the local library together. One by choice, the other not so much. The plot takes a while to progress as both characters are guarded. But, once it gets going after the lock in, there is a lot to love. I enjoyed the coming of age and progression both Dax and Autumn have to go through. Autumn suffers from an anxiety disorder which is inhibiting her everyday life, Dax, a foster child who has led a rough life. Both are perfectly flawed and learning to navigate their trials.

A clean teen read with some kissing and chemistry, this one is a great pick for Valentine’s Day! It teaches the importance of finding who you are and following your heart regardless of pressure from friends. about_ the_author
I write YA. I eat Junior Mints. Sometimes I go crazy and do both at the same time. My novels are: PIVOT POINT and its sequel SPLIT SECOND. And my contemporary novels: THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, ON THE FENCE, THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND, PS I LIKE YOU, and BY YOUR SIDE. My agent is the talented and funny Michelle Wolfson. _DSC6406

Divider

The Chapel Wars

13 Feb, 2017 by in las vegas, lindsey leavitt, young adult fiction Leave a comment

The Chapel Wars

The Chapel Wars

by Lindsey Leavitt
Published by Bloomsbury USA on May 6, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 292
Format: Hardcover
four-stars
Source: Library
Buy the BookGoodreads
Sixteen-year-old Holly wants to remember her Grandpa forever, but she’d rather forget what he left her in his will: his wedding chapel on the Las Vegas strip. Whatever happened to gold watches, savings bonds, or some normal inheritance?

And then there's Grandpa's letter. Not only is Holly running the business with her recently divorced parents, but she needs to make some serious money—fast. Grandpa also insists Holly reach out to Dax, the grandson of her family's mortal enemy and owner of the cheesy chapel next door. No matter how cute Dax is, Holly needs to stay focused: on her group of guy friends, her disjointed family, work, school and... Dax. No wait, not Dax.

Holly’s chapel represents everything she’s ever loved in her past. Dax might be everything she could ever love in the future. But as for right now, there's a wedding chapel to save.

A coming of age story set in Las Vegas, The Chapel Wars features a teen who has just inherited her grandfather’s family wedding chapel. Across the parking lot is their arch nemesis, the Cranston family. A nasty rival with a temper, themed zombie and Elvis weddings and a grandson Dax. When Holly’s grandfather also leaves a mysterious sealed letter for Dax, Holly is forced to make the acquaintance. It’s Montagues and Capulets set in the desert. Two warring chapels and families with problems of their own. The setting is fun and nostalgic as is the banter between Dax and Holly.

The Chapel Wars handles life problems like divorce, teen alcoholism, grief and half-siblings. There are some heavy emotions and moments as teens are forced to act as adults. Recommended for older teens.about_ the_author

Lindsey Leavitt is a former elementary school teacher and present-day writer/mom/party animal (not to be confused with her spirit animal, which is a lion). She lives with her family in the Utah mountains. She is the author of the COMMANDER IN CHEESE series, THE PAGES BETWEEN US series (Co-written with Robin Mellom) SEAN GRISWOLD’S HEAD, GOING VINTAGE, THE CHAPEL WARS, and the PRINCESS FOR HIRE series.

Divider

The Siren ~ Review

25 Jan, 2017 by in harper teen Leave a comment

The Siren ~ Review

The Siren

by Kiera Cass
Published by Harper Teen on January 26, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
three-half-stars
Source: Library
Buy the BookGoodreads
"You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won't lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time..."

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can't bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she's been waiting for doesn't seem nearly as important as the one she's living now.

From Kiera Cass, author of the Selection series, comes a captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who's everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can't bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

I’ve always been a fan of Kiera Cass’ writing and covers. The Siren is re-release of her first published work in a new package. I am hoping the original is still available somewhere online to compare and contrast the two versions. I loved the friendship between Kahlen and Akinli. She must remain mute because of her abilities to lure others to the sea. Akinli defies the odds and strikes up a relationship with the selectively mute student. I wished for more time to flesh out their interactions, as most of the book they are away from each other.

The Siren is at times darker than I prefer when the girls sing to lure ships and swimmers to the ocean. The ocean herself, is a mother figure with a jealous heart. At times cruel and unforgiving in her punishment. She attempts to comfort Kahlen and heal her, but heartbreak and restlessness ultimately draws her in another direction. With many settings and a fairy tale storyline, The Siren will appeal to teens. Looking forward to more from Ms. Cass!

Content: some partying, seduction, mild swearing

3be53e33-5924-4c3d-b3fe-34d9e66f2c96.jpg._CB300380296_
about_ the_authorKiera Cass graduated from Radford University with a degree in History. She grew up in South Carolina and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia with her family. In her spare time, Kiera enjoys reading, dancing, making videos, and eating unhealthy amounts of cake. You can learn more about Kiera at kieracass.com, follow her on twitter via @kieracass, and see her silly videos at YouTube.com/user/kieracass

Divider

Passenger Series ~ Review

19 Jan, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Genres: Time Travel, Young Adult

4412502-m
Passenger
Passenger #1
by Alexandra Bracken
Hardcover, 486 pages
Published January 5th 2016
by Disney-Hyperion
Amazon* Goodreads

Violin prodigy Etta Spencer had big plans for her future, but a tragedy has put her once-bright career at risk. Closely tied to her musical skill, however, is a mysterious power she doesn’t even know she has. When her two talents collide during a stressful performance, Etta is drawn back hundreds of years through time.

Etta wakes, confused and terrified, in 1776, in the midst a fierce sea battle. Nicholas Carter, the handsome young prize master of a privateering ship, has been hired to retrieve Etta and deliver her unharmed to the Ironwoods, a powerful family in the Colonies–the very same one that orchestrated her jump back, and one Nicholas himself has ties to. But discovering she can time travel is nothing compared to the shock of discovering the true reason the Ironwoods have ensnared her in their web.

Another traveler has stolen an object of untold value from them, and, if Etta can find it, they will return her to her own time. Out of options, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the mysterious traveler. But as they draw closer to each other and the end of their search, the true nature of the object, and the dangerous game the Ironwoods are playing, comes to light–threatening to separate her not only from Nicholas, but her path home… forever.

9781484715765_p0_v3_s192x300
Wayfarer
Passenger #2
by Alexandra Bracken
Hardcover, 532 pages
Published January 3rd 2017
by Disney-Hyperion
Goodreads* Amazon

I’ve been orphaned by my time.
The timeline has changed.
My future is gone.

Etta Spencer didn’t know she was a traveler until the day she emerged both miles and years from her home. Now, robbed of the powerful object that was her only hope of saving her mother, Etta finds herself stranded once more, cut off from Nicholas-the eighteenth century privateer she loves-and her natural time.

When Etta inadvertently stumbles into the heart of the Thorns, the renegade travelers who stole the astrolabe from her, she vows to finish what she started and destroy the astrolabe once and for all. Instead, she’s blindsided by a bombshell revelation from their leader, Henry Hemlock: he is her father. Suddenly questioning everything she’s been fighting for, Etta must choose a path, one that could transform her future.

Still devastated by Etta’s disappearance, Nicholas has enlisted the unlikely help of Sophia Ironwood and a cheeky mercenary-for-hire to track both her and the missing astrolabe down. But as the tremors of change to the timeline grow stronger and the stakes for recovering the astrolabe mount, they discover an ancient power far more frightening than the rival travelers currently locked in a battle for control. . . a power that threatens to eradicate the timeline altogether.

From colonial Nassau to New York City, San Francisco to Roman Carthage, imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, New York Times #1 best-selling author Alexandra Bracken charts a gorgeously detailed, thrilling course through time in this stunning conclusion to the Passenger series

Review

What originally drew me to this series were the covers and the promise of travel on the high seas. Both Passenger and Wayfarer have stunning covers which draw readers in. I was browsing at our bookstore for something to take on a trip and this seemed the perfect match.  I am always intrigued by books that span more than one historical time period and give me a peek into how others lived. Etta James is thrust into a passageway of time and is a time traveler much to her surprise. She has no idea of her heritage or the sinister plot of her enemies that pulls her through one time and place after another.

Carter is a bi racial slave’s son who is used as a guide and host to his half-brother’s own travels. He wins his freedom and is adopted by a shipmaster. The sea is his love, a future ship his master. The Passenger series is rich with detail, but at times slow. Both books are long and reading them back to back within a few days may have made the pacing seem much slower to me. The tone is darker than I enjoy. By the end of Wayfarer, I was weary of the action, the violence and heartbreak. I was ready for redemption and a glimmer of positive news. I think perhaps a trilogy may have been a wise choice to break up the two books into three, and to flesh out the final chapter a bit. It leaves readers wondering what happened to Etta’s parents and how the resolution came about as it did.

I bought both books and will be taking them to my local bookstore for trade. There are some content issues that keep me from wanting to keep them on my shelves for younger readers. I skimmed some paragraphs and at times almost abandoned the books all together.  I’m sad to say I didn’t enjoy them as much as I had hoped. I would take the covers and frame them though! If you are a fan of darker time travel with lots of diversity, this series will appeal to you.

Content- Lord’s name in vain, moderate violence, teen sex, LGBT relationship.

about_ the_author

Alexandra Bracken was born and raised in Arizona. The daughter of a Star Wars collector, she grew up going to an endless string of Star Wars conventions and toy fairs, which helped spark her imagination and a deep love of reading. After graduating high school, she attended The College of William & Mary in Virginia, where she double majored in English and History. She sold her first book, Brightly Woven, as a senior in college, and later moved to New York City to work in children’s book publishing, first as an editorial assistant, then in marketing. After six years, she took the plunge and decided to write full time. She now lives in Arizona with her tiny pup, Tennyson, in a house that’s constantly overflowing with books.
Alex is a #1 New York Times bestselling and USA TODAY bestselling author. Her work is available across the world in over 15 languages.

Divider

The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer- Review

11 Jan, 2017 by in 2015, andrea cremer, inventor's secret, steampunk Leave a comment

The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer- Review

The Inventor's Secret

by Andrea Cremer
Series: Inventor's Secret #1
Published by Speak on July 14, 2015
Genres: Steampunk, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
five-stars
Source: Library
Buy the BookGoodreads
In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

Oh my Andrea Cremer! It’s been quite a few years since I read the Nightshade series, and I’d forgotten how much I love her writing. Wow. Incredibly rich world building, alternate history, steampunk, witty banter and perfect romance all rolled into book one of the Inventor’s Secret series. There is so much to praise, not sure where to begin. The characters are strong and varied, the history is rich and layered between many civilizations, the relationships are perfect. This is the best steampunk I’ve read, with a twist of the Revenants series a la Amy Plum.

Let’s talk about Jack and Charlotte! Their hate each other, fighting all the time turns into the best later scenes in the book. Jack’s brother Coe of the House of Winter is also in hot pursuit of the MC. These two are going to be trouble!

I am so excited to read book two, starting today. What took me so long?!

Content: one swear word, mature YA romance and tension. Recommend for older teens.
about_ the_author

Andrea Cremer is a New York Times and international bestselling author. She spent her childhood daydreaming while roaming the forests and lakeshores of Northern Wisconsin. She now lives in Manhattan, but at heart she will always be a small-town girl.

Andrea has always loved writing and has never stopped writing, but it took a horse and a broken foot to prompt her to finally write the novel she’d always dreamed of writing. Prior to becoming a full-time novelist, Andrea resided in the academic world where she taught early modern history.

When she’s not writing, Andrea tries to master difficult yoga poses, wanders through Central Park, and hunts for new music to provide the soundtracks to her novels.

Divider

Frostblood- Netgalley Review

10 Jan, 2017 by in Frostblood Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Frostblood- Netgalley Review

Frostblood

Series: Frostblood #1
Published by Brown Books for Young Readers on January 10, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
three-half-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all that are left of her kind. So when her mother is killed for protecting her and rebel frostbloods demand her help to kill their rampaging king, she agrees. But Ruby's powers are unpredictable, and she's not sure she's willing to let the rebels and an infuriating (yet irresistible) young man called Arcus use her as their weapon.

All she wants is revenge, but before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to take part in the king's tournaments that pit fireblood prisoners against frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Fast-paced and compelling, Frostblood is the first in a page-turning new young adult three-book series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies—but together create a power that could change everything.

A story of an empire of frost and another of fire with mythological and fantasy elements, I read Frostblood over winter break and it didn’t leave a lasting impression. I am a fan of YA Fantasy, especially book with a Fire and Ice theme (for obvious reasons). I was hoping for a male hero similar to Julie Kagawa’s Ash in Arcus, but it wasn’t quite there for me. He remained aloof and grumpy throughout most of the book which made the romance off putting. Main character Ruby seemed heavily scarred by her past and completely uneducated and unsure of her abilities.

So as not to spoil, I enjoyed the last few chapters where she grows into her role a bit more fully but am disappointed that the force is largely extrinsic, I’m hoping both main characters grow into who they are by the second book of the series. As a reader, I got a bit lost by the storyline as it jumped between two settings and the history was complicated. I will read book two of the series, and enjoyed Frostblood, but it was not enough to wow me. I’m looking for something unique. There is so much potential in this series. I’m excited to see what the future holds for this author.

Content: moderate violence, sensuality and kissing.
about_ the_authorElly Blake loves fairy tales, old houses, and owls. After earning a BA in English literature, she held a series of seemingly random jobs, including project manager, customs clerk, graphic designer, reporter for a local business magazine, and library assistant. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and a Siberian Husky mix who definitely shows Frostblood tendencies.

Divider

Caraval by Stephanie Garber~ Netgalley Review

13 Dec, 2016 by in fantasy, ya Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber~ Netgalley Review

Caraval

by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron on January 31, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 401
Format: eARC
four-half-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

One Of the most anticipated YA fantasies of 2017 does not disappoint! Caraval is a lush, exotic, journey where the reader is not sure what is real what is a part of the act. The world building is fantastic, everything breathes magic and illusion. Sisters Tella and Scarlett are stuck on an island that smells like fish with a father who is sinister and brutal I his punishment. Bethrothed to a Count, Scarlett is to be wed in a week, when a letter arrives with invitations to this year’s Caraval, an elaborate game of escape and risk. To a family raised on tales of Legend the carnival mastermind, and the wishes he has power to grant, this is not an opportunity to be missed. But not all is as it seems. Kidnapping, theft, risk of life and loyalties are all a part of the game…or are they?

What a ride! Garber does a masterful job with leading us on a twisty tale. I have my two favorite characters, and I’m sure readers will have theirs. Without giving away any clues, let’s just say there are plenty of sparks, mysteries and creepy villains. Cliff hanger ending? Check! Can’t wait for book two.

Content– moderate violence, threat of assault, sensuality for an older audience.

About the Authorb3813e8d818f589d78e1fcea607640af

Stephanie Garber grew up in northern California, where she was often compared to Anne Shirley, Jo March, and other fictional characters with wild imaginations and stubborn streaks. When she’s not writing, Stephanie teaches creative writing, and dreams of her next adventure.

Divider

A Breath of Frost

22 Nov, 2016 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

A Breath of Frostby Alexandra Harvey
Published by Walker Childrens on January 7th 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 482
Format: Hardcover
five-stars
Source: Library
Buy the BookGoodreads
In 1814, three cousins—Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope—discover their family lineage of witchcraft when a binding spell is broken, allowing their individual magical powers to manifest. Now, beyond the manicured gardens and ballrooms of Regency London, an alluring underworld available only to those with power is revealed to the cousins. By claiming their power, the three cousins have accidentally opened the gates to the underworld.

Now ghouls, hellhounds—and most terrifying of all, the spirits of dark witches known as the Greymalkin Sisters—are hunting and killing young debutante witches for their powers. And, somehow, Emma is connected to the murders…because she keeps finding the bodies.

Can the cousins seal the gates before another witch is killed…or even worse, before their new gifts are stripped away?

Wow. I picked this one up at our local library for some holiday reading, and bam! finished it all in one day. Where to begin? Set in Regency London during the time of debutante balls and underground secret societies, A Breath of Frost takes readers on a wild supernatural ride. Told from various points of view, I got to know several characters in depth. There’s a murder mystery, hidden portals, magic, and breakdowns of class within society. The writing is rich, detailed and multi layered. Setting is atmospheric with gas lamps, cobblestone roads, rooftop scenes and lavish parties.

Really, there’s so much to love in this fast moving plot! I will be reading book two and downloading book three, a hard to find short. Buckle up for a 400+ page novel with Herne the Hunter, Little Red and Grim Sister references. about_ the_authorAlyxandra Harvey lives in a stone Victorian house in Ontario, Canada with a few resident ghosts who are allowed to stay as long as they keep company manners. She loves medieval dresses, used to be able to recite all of The Lady of Shalott by Tennyson, and has been accused, more than once, of being born in the wrong century. She believes this to be mostly true except for the fact that she really likes running water, women’s rights, and ice cream.

Aside from the ghosts, she also lives with husband and their dogs. She likes cinnamon lattes, tattoos and books.

Divider