Genre: Fantasy

The Siren ~ Review

25 Jan, 2017 by in harper teen Leave a comment

The Siren ~ Review

The Siren

by Kiera Cass
Published by Harper Teen on January 26, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
three-half-stars
Source: Library
Buy the BookGoodreads
"You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won't lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time..."

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can't bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she's been waiting for doesn't seem nearly as important as the one she's living now.

From Kiera Cass, author of the Selection series, comes a captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who's everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can't bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

I’ve always been a fan of Kiera Cass’ writing and covers. The Siren is re-release of her first published work in a new package. I am hoping the original is still available somewhere online to compare and contrast the two versions. I loved the friendship between Kahlen and Akinli. She must remain mute because of her abilities to lure others to the sea. Akinli defies the odds and strikes up a relationship with the selectively mute student. I wished for more time to flesh out their interactions, as most of the book they are away from each other.

The Siren is at times darker than I prefer when the girls sing to lure ships and swimmers to the ocean. The ocean herself, is a mother figure with a jealous heart. At times cruel and unforgiving in her punishment. She attempts to comfort Kahlen and heal her, but heartbreak and restlessness ultimately draws her in another direction. With many settings and a fairy tale storyline, The Siren will appeal to teens. Looking forward to more from Ms. Cass!

Content: some partying, seduction, mild swearing

3be53e33-5924-4c3d-b3fe-34d9e66f2c96.jpg._CB300380296_
about_ the_authorKiera Cass graduated from Radford University with a degree in History. She grew up in South Carolina and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia with her family. In her spare time, Kiera enjoys reading, dancing, making videos, and eating unhealthy amounts of cake. You can learn more about Kiera at kieracass.com, follow her on twitter via @kieracass, and see her silly videos at YouTube.com/user/kieracass

Divider

Frostblood- Netgalley Review

10 Jan, 2017 by in Frostblood Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Frostblood- Netgalley Review

Frostblood

Series: Frostblood #1
Published by Brown Books for Young Readers on January 10, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
three-half-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all that are left of her kind. So when her mother is killed for protecting her and rebel frostbloods demand her help to kill their rampaging king, she agrees. But Ruby's powers are unpredictable, and she's not sure she's willing to let the rebels and an infuriating (yet irresistible) young man called Arcus use her as their weapon.

All she wants is revenge, but before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to take part in the king's tournaments that pit fireblood prisoners against frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Fast-paced and compelling, Frostblood is the first in a page-turning new young adult three-book series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies—but together create a power that could change everything.

A story of an empire of frost and another of fire with mythological and fantasy elements, I read Frostblood over winter break and it didn’t leave a lasting impression. I am a fan of YA Fantasy, especially book with a Fire and Ice theme (for obvious reasons). I was hoping for a male hero similar to Julie Kagawa’s Ash in Arcus, but it wasn’t quite there for me. He remained aloof and grumpy throughout most of the book which made the romance off putting. Main character Ruby seemed heavily scarred by her past and completely uneducated and unsure of her abilities.

So as not to spoil, I enjoyed the last few chapters where she grows into her role a bit more fully but am disappointed that the force is largely extrinsic, I’m hoping both main characters grow into who they are by the second book of the series. As a reader, I got a bit lost by the storyline as it jumped between two settings and the history was complicated. I will read book two of the series, and enjoyed Frostblood, but it was not enough to wow me. I’m looking for something unique. There is so much potential in this series. I’m excited to see what the future holds for this author.

Content: moderate violence, sensuality and kissing.
about_ the_authorElly Blake loves fairy tales, old houses, and owls. After earning a BA in English literature, she held a series of seemingly random jobs, including project manager, customs clerk, graphic designer, reporter for a local business magazine, and library assistant. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids and a Siberian Husky mix who definitely shows Frostblood tendencies.

Divider

Caraval by Stephanie Garber~ Netgalley Review

13 Dec, 2016 by in fantasy, ya Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber~ Netgalley Review

Caraval

by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron on January 31, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 401
Format: eARC
four-half-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

One Of the most anticipated YA fantasies of 2017 does not disappoint! Caraval is a lush, exotic, journey where the reader is not sure what is real what is a part of the act. The world building is fantastic, everything breathes magic and illusion. Sisters Tella and Scarlett are stuck on an island that smells like fish with a father who is sinister and brutal I his punishment. Bethrothed to a Count, Scarlett is to be wed in a week, when a letter arrives with invitations to this year’s Caraval, an elaborate game of escape and risk. To a family raised on tales of Legend the carnival mastermind, and the wishes he has power to grant, this is not an opportunity to be missed. But not all is as it seems. Kidnapping, theft, risk of life and loyalties are all a part of the game…or are they?

What a ride! Garber does a masterful job with leading us on a twisty tale. I have my two favorite characters, and I’m sure readers will have theirs. Without giving away any clues, let’s just say there are plenty of sparks, mysteries and creepy villains. Cliff hanger ending? Check! Can’t wait for book two.

Content– moderate violence, threat of assault, sensuality for an older audience.

About the Authorb3813e8d818f589d78e1fcea607640af

Stephanie Garber grew up in northern California, where she was often compared to Anne Shirley, Jo March, and other fictional characters with wild imaginations and stubborn streaks. When she’s not writing, Stephanie teaches creative writing, and dreams of her next adventure.

Divider

Stealing Snow ~ ARC Review

23 Jun, 2016 by in bloomsbury, fairytale retelling, fantasy Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Bloomsbury USA Children's in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Stealing Snow

by Danielle Paige
Published by Bloomsbury USA on September 20, 2016
Genres: Fairytale, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Buy the BookGoodreads
Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent the majority of her life within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she's not crazy and doesn't belong there. When she meets a mysterious, handsome new orderly and dreams about a strange twisted tree she realizes she must escape and figure out who she really is.

Using her trusting friend Bale as a distraction, Snow breaks free and races into the nearby woods. Suddenly, everything isn't what it seems, the line between reality and fantasy begins to blur, and she finds herself in icy Algid--her true home--with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai, none of whom she's sure she can trust. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she's destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change the fate of everything . . . including Snow's return to the world she once knew.

This breathtaking first volume begins the story of how Snow becomes a villain, a queen, and ultimately a hero.

I haven’t read fantasy or a fairy tale retelling in a long time, and I’d forgotten how rich the world building can be. With magic, a band of gypsy-like thieves, mythical creatures and a love triangle, there’s plenty to keep each reader intrigued. The series reminds me a bit of Julie Kagawa’s Iron King series.

Snow, labeled as insane is locked away with her childhood love Bane. When her dreams lead her to another land after Bane is kidnapped, Snow finds herself transported to the magical kingdom Algid in attempt to bring him home. Her power is snow and ice, fueled by anger and emotion. I am excited to read the two prequel novellas, one of which comes out in 3 days. While the plot was at times confusing and not fully fleshed, I’m hoping the series will tie everything together and resolve what’s going on with three interesting characters–Bane, Kai and Jagger. Vivid imagery and multi faceted magical creatures make this one an escape for a day.

Content- mild swearing, some violence, dark elements

 

about_ the_authorDanielle lives in NY. Before turning to YA, she worked in television & was nominated for several Daytime Emmy’s. Dorothy Must Die was her first novel.

Divider

Out of the Ashes by Alicia Buck- Blog Tour

30 Sep, 2015 by in alicia buck, out of the ashes, sweetwater books Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Sweetwater Press in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Out of the Ashes by Alicia Buck- Blog Tour

Out of the Ashes

by Alicia Buck
Published by Sweetwater on September 8, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
three-half-stars
Source: Sweetwater Press
Buy the Book
When Ashelandra’s father dies, she ends up a servant in her own house, instead of the Baroness she was supposed to become. But Ash’s secret sorcery could be the key to winning back her home and following her heart to a future she never imagined. This fantasy-infused Cinderella story puts a magical twist on a classic tale. Riveting and original, it’s a spellbinding read.
Out-of-the-Ashes-Blog-Banner

I should start this review with a disclaimer that I really struggle with fairy tales. In this Cinderella re-telling, the first half outlining the cruelty of an unkind uncle almost made me put the book down. But finally the main heroine Ash broke away from her guardian’s mistreatment and the book picked up. The tale has a twist with two subservient cousins instead of evil step-sisters, and a sorceress set to inherit her home as a servant.

I enjoyed the author’s world building of the enchanted kingdom with healing plants and crystal birds. The romantic relationships are sweet and respectful. After warming up, I dove in to Out of the Ashes and came away glad I stuck with it.

About the Author

Alicia Buck was born in Salt Lake City, Utah on a cold November day and has hated the cold ever since. Luckily, she lives in the desert now with her husband, Jason, and three children. Alicia loves to read, and goes through book craze phases where she reads a book a day until guilt kicks in and she tries to do something productive like get back to work writing and fix the disaster her home has become. She graduated from Brigham Young University with a bachelor’s in English, and had to constantly defend her major when she had absolutely no desire to teach. Out of the Ashes is Alicia’s second novel.

Divider

An Uncommon Blue Blog Tour

16 Dec, 2014 by in cedar fort 1 comment

I received this book for free from Cedar Fort in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

An Uncommon Blue Blog Tour

An Uncommon Blue

by R.C. Hnacock, R.C.Hancock
Published by Cedar Fort on Dec 09, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 275
Format: eARC
Source: Cedar Fort
Goodreads
In Télesphore, the glowing color of a person’s palm determines their place in society, and touching hands with another mixes the colors permanently. When sixteen-year-old Bruno accidentally kills a royal soldier, he goes from favored to fugitive. Now Bruno's only chance at survival is to become someone else. That means a haircut, a change of wardrobe, and most important, getting rid of his once cherished Blue. Now he’s visiting parts of town he never knew existed, and making friends with people he would've crossed the street to avoid only weeks ago. At the last minute, Bruno’s parents arrange a deal to clear his name and get his life back. All Bruno has to do is abandon those in the Red slums that look to him as a leader and let an innocent Green boy die in his place.
An-Uncommon-Blue-blog-tour1

My breview:

There is a lot going on in this this book! I jumped in reading thinking surely I’d missed book one. The first page starts off right in the middle of a dystopian world with a bang. Readers are not spoon fed with any world building or background. It is full speed ahead. I was a bit taken aback trying to figure out just what the world was like and how the powers of the character’s fires worked.  Great book for older teen boys.

Themes are discrimination and caste systems, judging and compassion.

YA, dystopian, teenage boy MC

Content: there is a quite a bit of violence in the beginning scene.

 

Win a copy on Goodreads right now!

About the author

RDH
RC (Really Cool) Hancock began his writing career with a story about a dead cat which his second grade teacher thought was brilliant. Convincing others of his literary genius has taken longer than expected, but along the road he has acquired a lovely wife, four entertaining ankle-biters (who, thankfully, look more like their mother), and a degree from BYU in Recreational Management & Youth Leadership (which means he’s really good at having fun.) An Uncommon Blue is his first novel.

Divider

The Bloodbound by Erin Lindsey ~ Review

05 Dec, 2014 by in ace, bloodbound, erin lindsey, fantasy romance, penguin group Leave a comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Bloodbound by Erin Lindsey ~ Review

The Bloodbound

by Erin Lindsey
on September 30, 2014
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Buy the BookGoodreads
Of all those in the King of Alden’s retinue, the bloodbinders are the most prized. The magic they wield can forge invaluable weapons, ones that make soldiers like Lady Alix Black unerringly lethal. However, the bloodbinders’ powers can do so much more—and so much worse…

A cunning and impetuous scout, Alix only wishes to serve quietly on the edges of the action. But when the king is betrayed by his own brother and left to die at the hands of attacking Oridian forces, she winds up single-handedly saving her sovereign.

Suddenly, she is head of the king’s personal guard, an honor made all the more dubious by the king’s exile from his own court. Surrounded by enemies, Alix must help him reclaim his crown, all the while attempting to repel the relentless tide of invaders led by the Priest, most feared of Oridia’s lords.

But while Alix’s king commands her duty, both he and a fellow scout lay claim to her heart. And when the time comes, she may need to choose between the two men who need her most…

The Bloodbound by Erin Lindsey starts off right in the thick of the battlefield. There’s no slow buildup, it’s head first into a battle between brothers where Alix Black becomes a surprise heroine. She’s of noble birth but has taken up her sword as a part of the guard. She’s red haired, fiery and headstrong. And, she wins the hearts of two men. Yes, there is a love triangle which is resolved at the end of the book. I loved Erin Lindsey’s writing which combines magic, treason, action and romance. The characters are skillfully crafted–many of them won my heart and made an impression. There is a bold protagonist and bonds of both family & loyalty. Some of the battle and romance scenes were a bit too much for me personally. My overall impression of the book was that I liked the authors style and prose. Well written with a swoon worthy king Erik who is endearingly human yet strong.

Content: Adult. There is sex, some swearing including the “F” word and war related violence. about_ the_author

erin lindseyErin Lindsey is on a quest to write the perfect summer vacation novel, with just the right blend of action, heartbreak, and triumph. THE BLOODBOUND is her first effort. She lives and works in Bujumbura, Burundi, with her husband and a pair of half-domesticated cats.
She also writes fantasy mysteries as E.L. Tettensor.

Twitter * Facebook

Divider

The Christmas Dragon ~ Movie Review

06 Nov, 2014 by in christmas, fantasy, movie, movie review, movie trailer, utah film Leave a comment

The Christmas Dragon ~ Movie Review

The Christmas Dragon

on November 7, 2014
Genres: Christmas, Fantasy
four-stars
Source: Deseret Book
Medieval Europe - Father Christmas is a fading memory, after Christmas hasn't come for several years.

A young orphan girl, Ayden, receives a magic crystal from a dying elf, with a warning that the North has lost its magic, and that she alone can save Christmas. Ayden and her orphan friends begin a perilous journey, and must escape dragons, goblins, bandits, ogres and other fantasy creatures as they team up with Airk, the wayward son of Father Christmas, to return a stolen Christmas orb to the North. When Santa's magic cannot overpower the growing Snarl (an evil forest with tentacle branches), Ayden and Airk must deliver Christmas on a sleigh pulled by a young dragon, fulfilling Christmas wishes for children to restore Santa's magic and save Christmas.

Tolkein, Father Christmas and a Celtic Music score mixed with dragons? Yep. I went into The Christmas Dragon not knowing at all what to expect, and stepping outside my normal movie genre into the world of midevil fantasy. The Christmas Dragon had a cast of some actors I recognized from other Utah films like Heather Beers (as a nun?) and Adam Johnson (who plays a killer Father Christmas by the way).  A pleasant surprise, I discovered some new actors I now love!

Bailee Michelle Johnson as Ayden– a young girl orphaned after bounty hunters attempt to take her parents, was brilliant. Genuine, complete with spot on accent, she fits the role of dragon whisperer and heroine of Christmas.

I am also team Jake Stormoen and Melanie Stone after last night’s preview at Jordan Commons. Are they a real couple offscreen?

Jake plays Santa’s son turned rogue Captain Jack Sparrow looking elf, and Melanie is a kick butt elfin warrior, Saerwan. These two were far and way the best duo of the film. They are co-starring in the upcoming Mythica, to be released by Arrowstorm Entertainment, which was not even on my radar… until now.

There are a few scary parts and goblin-esque creatures, which would cause me to pause in taking any child under 10 to see the movie, but overall a family film. The Christmas Dragon has a great message about forgivenesss and a prodigal son. An epic fantasy for all ages, just in time for Christmas!

Coming this Friday to theaters and in stores at Deseret Book soon.

Thanks for the sneak peek Excel Entertainment. The crew donated cans to  the Utah Food Bank as apart of the premiere!

See my event photos on instagram the official premeire photos on Facebook.

heather

Cast

Eve Mauro Eve Mauro -Aesa
Talon G. Ackerman- Garret
Michael Flynn- Father Mendel
Adam Johnson – Father Christmas
Bailee Michelle Johnson – Ayden
Jacob Buster – Rand
Paul D. Hunt – Leif
Jake Stormoen – Airk
Dave Bresnahan – Tavern patron
Renny Grames – Gazared

Heather Beers – Sister Lenora
James C. Morris- Old Elf
Melanie Stone – Saerwen
D.L. Walker – Bar Keep
Danny James – Borntall
Andrew Dee Jones – Soldier and Drunk
Ruby Jones- Hoyt
Paris Warner – Rosalynne
David DeVilliers- Fin
Aimee Lynne Johnson – Young Ayden
Cooper Daniel Johnson- Marcus

 

The Trailer

 

Filmakers

John Lyde – Director/Writer/Producer

Jason Faller – Producer

Kynan Griffin – Producer

 

IMDB page * facebook

Divider

Review: Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

15 Oct, 2014 by in ala, disney hyperion, R.C. Lewis, stitching snow, YA book reviews, ya fantasy 1 comment

I received this book for free from ALA in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

Stitching Snow

by R.C. Lewis
Published by Disney Hyperion on October 14th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
four-stars
Source: ALA
Buy the BookGoodreads
Princess Snow is missing.

Her home planet is filled with violence and corruption at the hands of King Matthias and his wife as they attempt to punish her captors. The king will stop at nothing to get his beloved daughter back—but that’s assuming she wants to return at all.

Essie has grown used to being cold. Temperatures on the planet Thanda are always sub-zero, and she fills her days with coding and repairs for the seven loyal drones that run the local mines.

When a mysterious young man named Dane crash-lands near her home, Essie agrees to help the pilot repair his ship. But soon she realizes that Dane’s arrival was far from accidental, and she’s pulled into the heart of a war she’s risked everything to avoid. With the galaxy’s future—and her own—in jeopardy, Essie must choose who to trust in a fiery fight for survival

Stitching Snow reminded me a lot of the Wondla Series by Tony DiTerlizzi. Take Snow White and mash it up with Star Wars like drones, add some cage fighting and you have a fresh take on an old fairy tale. Essie is living a quiet life repairing mining drones on planet Thanda when a ship crashes across the sky. The lone survivor is a mysterious and dangerous boy named Dane. Essie’s goal is to get him up and out of her life as soon as possible. The two work on repairing or “stitching” the code to get his mode of transportation back in the air. But as the plot unravels, we learn Dane is way more than meets the eye, much more than a traveling treasure hunter. He is a threat in more ways than one. Essie has major trust issues from her abuse in the past and any male is to be held at more than arms distance.

With slow building romance and plenty of action, Essie’s journey takes readers to several different planets. All the while she has sidekick dwarf drones Dimwit and Cusser by her side. There are dark villains, an evil step-mother and the potential inheritance of a royal throne. Overall, I really enjoyed R.C. Lewis debut. It took a while to understand the world and mindset of each character, but once rolling there is plenty going on! I also really like that this is a standalone. The techy, sci fi side isn’t normally my forte, but the complexity of Dane and Essie’s relationship kept me hooked. Kudos to Lewis for holding my interest and wrapping things up in a hopeful, romantic way.

Content: recommend for 16 and older because of two attempted rape scenes and heavy themes. No swearing. Moderate violence.

About the Author

RC-Headshot-1-SmallerR.C. Lewis teaches math to teenagers—sometimes in sign language, sometimes not—so whether she’s a science geek or a bookworm depends on when you look. That may explain why her characters don’t like to be pigeonholed. Coincidentally, R.C. enjoys reading about quantum physics and the identity issues of photons.

Her debut novel Stitching Snow is a sci-fi retelling of Snow White, releasing October 14th from Hyperion.

Divider

Bonds of Loyalty Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway

19 Aug, 2014 by in blog tour, bonds of loyalty, covenant, Jennifer K. Clark, Stephonie K. Williams 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Bonds of Loyalty Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway

Bonds of Loyalty

by Jennifer K. Clark, Stephonie K. Williams
Published by Covenant on August 2014
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, LDS
Pages: 176
Format: eARC
four-half-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
It shall be the son, the firstborn in the new monarchy, who shall quiet the fears and unite the nation again.

The infamous prophecy declaring that the firstborn would be a boy is the last thing Sarah wants to deal with. As if being newly engaged isn’t difficult enough, she’s still coming to terms with the fact that the first eighteen years of her life were a farce. The prophecy—the reason she had been secreted away from her family and her royal heritage to begin with—wasn’t supposed to disrupt her life any more than it previously had. But when unexpected events force her to leave her fiancé, Prince Alexander, Sarah must return to her home country of Kyrnidan to face her destiny.

Reunited with her royal family, Sarah is thrust into the political turmoil that surrounds her ancestral home. To make things worse, her arrival has upturned the long-held prophecy.

As the voices of distension mount against her, Sarah turns to her bodyguard, Luther, for protection. But Luther’s protection comes with a price. Propelled into a plot that threatens her life and the welfare of the entire kingdom, Sarah must determine where her love and loyalty truly lie. Torn between two men, she will now have to face her fears and undertake a journey of self-discovery that will change the fate of a nation….

 

Review

Who doesn’t love a little bit of political intrigue, history, suspense and clean romance? Having not read book one, Mark of Royalty , I jumped right into book two, Bonds of Loyalty and thoroughly enjoyed the journey. The authors weave a tale of a kidnapped Princess raised far from home who carries a mark to distinguish her as heir and firstborn. In this second installment, she is returning home to the land of her birth to meet her parents.  But, in doing so, her life is put at risk. Sarah is caught in a web of political unrest and her country is on the brink of war. Meanwhile, she has more than one person out to end her life and the monarchy.

The romance has just the right amount of tension and pull between two suitors. Bonds of Loyalty is a well written read. The only wish I had was that the worlds of  Kyrnidan was more fully fleshed out. As well as the distinction between where she was raised, the land of her fiance Alex, and where she is in book two.

Content: This is a clean book suited for teens. Kissing, some tension. There is a threat of sexual harassment and mild violence , but overall, mild.

I’m so glad I picked up a  soot on the blog tour. I think now I will go back and read book one!

heather

 

About the Authors 73ojIIp

Jennifer K. Clark and Stephonie K. Williams are sisters by chance but became friends by choice when a year of rooming together at college taught them how to get along. Now “play”-at-home moms, separated and living in different parts of the country, they stay in touch and support each other in their individual projects.

Jennifer K. Clark lives in the small rural town of Wellington Utah, as much as her husband wishes it was Wellington New Zealand. After years of entertaining her three children with infamous made-up stories, she decided to put her imagination to good use and became an author. She likes to add a touch of romance to her novels along with a healthy dose of adventure. Fueled by Lindt Chocolate Truffles and Sour Patch Kids, she now spends a copious amount of time with the characters in her head. In her spare time she likes to create science experiments with the ingredients in her potions cupboard, debate which Doctor is her favorite (currently the 10th…or maybe the 11th), and—when she has time—watches the A&E version of Pride and Prejudice.

Stephonie K. Williams makes her home in a quaint farming town in eastern Iowa with her husband, three cats, and a budding ninja. Two of her favorite things in Iowa are the fireflies (aka lightning bugs) and cows, especially the calves. Despite having lived there for 15 years she still misses the majesty and tranquility of the mountains of Utah where she grew up. She has a vast collection of fortune cookie fortunes because she has yet to determine if it is unlucky to throw them away. She also loves to quill, the art of rolled paper, not to be confused with quilting.

Stephonie is passionate about education and enjoys visiting schools to teach classes on creative writing. She has written poetry, short stories, and dissertations, although Mark of Royalty was the first of her work that she was brave enough to submit for publication.

bonds_of_loyaltyBlog Tour Schedule

*August 18th: http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com
*August 19th: http://bookgeekreviews.com/, http://fireandicereads.com/
*August 20th: http://www.charissastastny.com, http://www.minreadsandreviews.blogspot.com/
*August 21st: http://www.iamareader.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com
*August 22nd: http://ilovetoreadandreviewbooks.blogspot.com/, http://wishfulendings.com
*August 23rd: http://www.mybookday.blogspot.com

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider