Genre: Time Travel

Passenger Series ~ Review

19 Jan, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Genres: Time Travel, Young Adult

4412502-m
Passenger
Passenger #1
by Alexandra Bracken
Hardcover, 486 pages
Published January 5th 2016
by Disney-Hyperion
Amazon* Goodreads

Violin prodigy Etta Spencer had big plans for her future, but a tragedy has put her once-bright career at risk. Closely tied to her musical skill, however, is a mysterious power she doesn’t even know she has. When her two talents collide during a stressful performance, Etta is drawn back hundreds of years through time.

Etta wakes, confused and terrified, in 1776, in the midst a fierce sea battle. Nicholas Carter, the handsome young prize master of a privateering ship, has been hired to retrieve Etta and deliver her unharmed to the Ironwoods, a powerful family in the Colonies–the very same one that orchestrated her jump back, and one Nicholas himself has ties to. But discovering she can time travel is nothing compared to the shock of discovering the true reason the Ironwoods have ensnared her in their web.

Another traveler has stolen an object of untold value from them, and, if Etta can find it, they will return her to her own time. Out of options, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the mysterious traveler. But as they draw closer to each other and the end of their search, the true nature of the object, and the dangerous game the Ironwoods are playing, comes to light–threatening to separate her not only from Nicholas, but her path home… forever.

9781484715765_p0_v3_s192x300
Wayfarer
Passenger #2
by Alexandra Bracken
Hardcover, 532 pages
Published January 3rd 2017
by Disney-Hyperion
Goodreads* Amazon

I’ve been orphaned by my time.
The timeline has changed.
My future is gone.

Etta Spencer didn’t know she was a traveler until the day she emerged both miles and years from her home. Now, robbed of the powerful object that was her only hope of saving her mother, Etta finds herself stranded once more, cut off from Nicholas-the eighteenth century privateer she loves-and her natural time.

When Etta inadvertently stumbles into the heart of the Thorns, the renegade travelers who stole the astrolabe from her, she vows to finish what she started and destroy the astrolabe once and for all. Instead, she’s blindsided by a bombshell revelation from their leader, Henry Hemlock: he is her father. Suddenly questioning everything she’s been fighting for, Etta must choose a path, one that could transform her future.

Still devastated by Etta’s disappearance, Nicholas has enlisted the unlikely help of Sophia Ironwood and a cheeky mercenary-for-hire to track both her and the missing astrolabe down. But as the tremors of change to the timeline grow stronger and the stakes for recovering the astrolabe mount, they discover an ancient power far more frightening than the rival travelers currently locked in a battle for control. . . a power that threatens to eradicate the timeline altogether.

From colonial Nassau to New York City, San Francisco to Roman Carthage, imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, New York Times #1 best-selling author Alexandra Bracken charts a gorgeously detailed, thrilling course through time in this stunning conclusion to the Passenger series

Review

What originally drew me to this series were the covers and the promise of travel on the high seas. Both Passenger and Wayfarer have stunning covers which draw readers in. I was browsing at our bookstore for something to take on a trip and this seemed the perfect match.  I am always intrigued by books that span more than one historical time period and give me a peek into how others lived. Etta James is thrust into a passageway of time and is a time traveler much to her surprise. She has no idea of her heritage or the sinister plot of her enemies that pulls her through one time and place after another.

Carter is a bi racial slave’s son who is used as a guide and host to his half-brother’s own travels. He wins his freedom and is adopted by a shipmaster. The sea is his love, a future ship his master. The Passenger series is rich with detail, but at times slow. Both books are long and reading them back to back within a few days may have made the pacing seem much slower to me. The tone is darker than I enjoy. By the end of Wayfarer, I was weary of the action, the violence and heartbreak. I was ready for redemption and a glimmer of positive news. I think perhaps a trilogy may have been a wise choice to break up the two books into three, and to flesh out the final chapter a bit. It leaves readers wondering what happened to Etta’s parents and how the resolution came about as it did.

I bought both books and will be taking them to my local bookstore for trade. There are some content issues that keep me from wanting to keep them on my shelves for younger readers. I skimmed some paragraphs and at times almost abandoned the books all together.  I’m sad to say I didn’t enjoy them as much as I had hoped. I would take the covers and frame them though! If you are a fan of darker time travel with lots of diversity, this series will appeal to you.

Content- Lord’s name in vain, moderate violence, teen sex, LGBT relationship.

about_ the_author

Alexandra Bracken was born and raised in Arizona. The daughter of a Star Wars collector, she grew up going to an endless string of Star Wars conventions and toy fairs, which helped spark her imagination and a deep love of reading. After graduating high school, she attended The College of William & Mary in Virginia, where she double majored in English and History. She sold her first book, Brightly Woven, as a senior in college, and later moved to New York City to work in children’s book publishing, first as an editorial assistant, then in marketing. After six years, she took the plunge and decided to write full time. She now lives in Arizona with her tiny pup, Tennyson, in a house that’s constantly overflowing with books.
Alex is a #1 New York Times bestselling and USA TODAY bestselling author. Her work is available across the world in over 15 languages.

Divider

Timepiece by Myra McEntire

24 Oct, 2016 by in myra mcentire, young adult Leave a comment

Timepiece

by Myra McEntire
Series: Hourglass #2
Published by Egmont on June 12, 2012
Genres: Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 325
Format: Hardcover
four-stars
Source: Bought
Buy the BookGoodreads
A threat from the past could destroy the future. And the clock is ticking.

Kaleb Ballard was never supposed to be able to see ripples - cracks in time. Are his powers expanding, or is something very wrong? Before he can find out, Jonathan Landers, the man who tried to murder his father, reappears. Why is he back, and what, or whom, does he want?

In the wake of Landers' return, the Hourglass organization is given an ultimatum. Either they find Landers and the research he has stolen on the people who might carry the time gene, or time will be altered - with devastating results for the people Kaleb loves most.

Now Kaleb, Emerson, Michael, and the other Hourglass recruits have no choice but to use their unusual powers to find Landers. But where do they even start? And when? And even if they succeed, it may not be enough...

Why I Chose This Book:
I wanted a novel based in Tennessee. It has been several years since I read Hourglass, book one in the series, but I remember how much I loved it. Myra McEntire is an amazing author, the covers are perfect.

What I Loved:
The main characters are each struggling with conflict in their lives. Alcoholism, mental health, feeling needed, trust issues. They are overcoming their weaknesses one day at a time. The Hourglass novels have an interesting premise of time travel mixed with physics and individual paranormal gifts. Both male and female readers will be pulled in.

What I Would Change:
Read these books in succession. It’s hard picking back up on the series after five years. I had forgotten a lot of the plot line. There are some light horror-like moments which I didn’t like, but I’m not a fan of anything scary ;0

Overall:
Oh, Myra McEntire how I have missed this series! I ordered book number three so I can continue on Kaleb and Emerson’s adventure. Why did I wait so long?

Parental Content:
Swearing, drinking, moderate violence, heavy kissing and reference to sex.

About the Author

Myra McEntire knows the words to every R&B hit of the last decade, but since she lives in Nashville, the country music capital of America, her lyrical talents go sadly unappreciated. She’s chosen, instead, to channel her “mad word skills” into creating stories. She’s an avid Doctor Who fan and will argue passionately about which incarnation is the best.

You can visit her online at myramcentire.com.

Divider

Review: Destined for Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

13 Oct, 2014 by in blinkYA, book review, carey crop, christian, doon, lorie langdon 1 comment

I received this book for free from BookSparksPR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Destined for Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

Destined for Doon

Series: Doon #2
Published by BlinkYA on September 2nd 2014
Genres: Romance, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover
four-stars
Source: BookSparksPR
Buy the BookGoodreads
In this sequel to Doon, Mackenna Reid realizes she made a horrible mistake in choosing to follow her dreams of Broadway instead of staying in the enchanted land of Doon. To make everything worse, she's received her Calling—proof she and Duncan are each other's one true love—and it's pure torment, especially when visions of the very alluring Scottish prince appear right before she goes on stage. So when Duncan tells her an ancient curse threatens to overtake Doon and the new queen and Kenna’s best friend, Veronica, needs her to return, Kenna doesn't have to think twice. With darkness closing in on all sides, Kenna and Vee must battle a world of nightmares in order to protect the kingdom. But it will take the ultimate test of courage for Kenna to salvage her happily ever after.

The Doon series is one of my all-time favorites. First of all, if you haven’t read book one,  a reimagining of Brigadoon, I would suggest picking it up before diving into book 2. There is a lot of back story you will need, plus it rocks! This second installment, Destined for Doon, is told from both Makenna and Vee’s viewpoint. Kenna is back in the modern world working as a theater intern whe Duncan MacCrae shows up on the scene, as handsome and brooding as ever. There’s trouble a foot back in the kingdom–poisoned petunias, a zombie fungus and evil threatening the borders. Kenna is summoned by her best friend Vee to look for a solution.

Once again there are plenty of modern culture– music and movie references, as well as the snarky voice that is Kenna. The romance element is toned down quite a bit as the four main characters are working through their own personal issues while trying to learn how to work together. But there is also tension, suspense and realistic angst. I truly loved Duncan in Destined for Doon. He is suffering and quiet, but at times his fun sense of humor peeks through the clouds.

This is a series that brings midieval Scotland with kilts and swords right into your reading room. There are Christian elements which strengthen the characters. Themes are forgiveness, self-doubt, healing and trust.

As handsome and talented as this group of young adults are, they learn they simply can’t do it alone. I personally am thrilled this is a four book series, because I always end wanting more! Major cliffhanger ending this time around with foreshadowing to set things up. Go grab Doon and then Destined for Doon!

Content: moderate sexual tension and kissing scenes, drinking, moderate violence with a beheading. Clean language.

Dive into the world of Doon with a Playlist * Pinterest Board and photos of the kingdom

About the Authors

careyCarey Corp wrote her first book, a brilliant retelling of Star Wars, at the prodigious age of seven. Since then, her love affair of reinvention has continued to run amuck. Writing both literary fiction and stories for young adults, she begins each morning consuming copious amounts of coffee while weaving stories that capture her exhaustive imagination. She harbors a voracious passion (in no consistent order) for mohawks, Italy, musical theater, chocolate, and Jane Austen. Her debut novel for teens, The Halo Chronicles: The Guardian, earned her national recognition as 2010 Golden Heart finalist for best young adult fiction. Coming August 20, 2013: Doon (book 1 of the DOON series), a young adult novel loosely based on the concept of the musical Brigadoon, used with permission from the Alan Jay Lerner Estate & the Frederick Loewe Foundation, and co-written with Lorie Langdon.

Find Carey Online: Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, GoodReads

 

lorieA few years ago, Lorie Langdon left her thriving corporate career with a Fortune 500 company to satisfy the voices in her head. Now as a full-time author and stay-at-home mom, she spends her summers editing poolside while dodging automatic water-gun fire, and the rest of the year tucked into her cozy office, Havanese puppy by her side, working to translate her effusive imagination into the written word. Her co-written four-book series, DOON, a YA reimagining of the Scottish legend of Brigadoon, will release beginning in August 2013 from Zondervan/Harper Collins.

Find Lorie Online: Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, GoodReads

Divider

Book Breview: Endless by Amanda Gray

09 Jan, 2014 by in amanda gray, month9books, netgalley, review, young adult fiction 2 comments

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Breview: Endless by Amanda Gray

Endless

by Amanda Gray
Published by Month9Books on September 10, 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: eBook
three-half-stars
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Jenny Kramer knows she isn't normal. After all, not everybody can see the past lives of people around them.

When she befriends Ben Daulton, resident new boy, the pair stumble on an old music box with instructions for “mesmerization” and discover they may have more in common than they thought. Like a past life.

Using the instructions in the music box, Ben and Jenny share a dream that transports them to Romanov Russia and leads them to believe they have been there together before. But they weren't alone. Nikolai, the mysterious young man Jenny has been seeing in her own dreams was there, too. When Nikolai appears next door, Jenny is forced to acknowledge that he has travelled through time and space to find her. Doing so means he has defied the laws of time, and the Order, an ominous organization tasked with keeping people in the correct time, is determined to send him back.

While Ben, Jenny and Nikolai race against the clock - and the Order - Jenny and Nikolai discover a link that joins them in life - and beyond death.

The first thing that drew me to Endless was the cover. Heaven! The beginning chapter was a little rocky for me as the character’s lines and choppy writing style didn’t connect well, but delving into the rest of the story was smooth and easy. This is a book rich with detail. If you were a fan of Dreaming Anastasia by Joy Preble, it’s another YA title to add to your shelves featuring the Romanov family of Russia.

Story in a Nutshell

Jenny is an artist who can feel and see people’s past by touching them so she remains recluse and immerses herself in her art. But suddenly a man she doesn’t know shows up in all of her paintings and begins to appear in her dreams. She has one true friend at the bookstore where they both work, but is suspicious of people. During her”spare time” works alongside her father as he renovates old homes. They meet Ben and his mother on one such job and Ben is just as standoffish.What Jessie and Ben find one day in the attic pulls both teens into a time travel mystery and a dangerous race for time in the present.

What I liked

I always like books with multi- layered elements of history. Abandoned homes that come to life, antiques with meaning in the present day, family history with links to the past

I loved that both the main characters parents were involved even in a  minute way in the story line. These teens have angst, they have independence– but they also have parents who check in and care.

Jenny is navigating what it means to trust and open up to people. She finds true friendship and others that stand by her as she lets down walls.

The flashbacks and  imagery of the Romanov family living in their own home as an exile and sewing their jewels into their clothing was so vivid and makes the bits of history real.

The pace clipped along without stalling which makes Endless interesting and easy to read.

What I Struggled With

I didn’t fall in love with main characters Jenny and Nikolai as they found each other in time. It seemed to be a pre destined romance but not as convincing or emotionally moving to the reader.

Ben, the other main teen character seemed to drop out of the story when Nikolai appears. I wanted to know more about his role in the past visions and what he is seeing and feeling.   Would  love to see a second novel or novella form his point of view in the future.

The mystical elements of ouija boards and mesmirization were weaved in to connect past and present, but along with the men in green robes that looked like monks, they just didn’t mesh with my vision of time travel and Russian history.

Content: mild swearing, moderate violence and one heavy kissing scene.

 

heather

Trailer

About the author

Amanda Gray believes in magic and fantasy and possibilities. She is a team of two bestselling authors who live only miles apart but have never met in person. They talk on the phone and are the best of friends and between them have written more than a dozen novels and novellas and have had their work appear on television.

Divider

Echo In Time by CJ Hill {Release Day Blitz} Sign Up

04 Dec, 2013 by in book blast, CJ Hill, fire and ice, janette rallison Leave a comment

Echo In Time by CJ Hill {Release Day Blitz} Sign Up

Echo In Time

by C.J. Hill
Published by Katherine Tegen on December 23, 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Time Travel, Young Adult
Buy the BookGoodreads
After being pulled 400 years into the future, twins Taylor and Sheridan have found some refuge from the government of Traventon, which used the dangerous Time Strainer to yank the girls from the past. Yet the threat of the dangerous technology still looms. Taylor and an ally, Joseph, are selected to go on a mission to destroy the time machine and weapon. But their actions before they do may have major consequences for the future and the past.

Action-packed and romantic, this futuristic sequel to Erasing Time is perfect for fans of dystopian and sci-fi novels such as The Maze Runner by James Dashner, Across the Universe by Beth Revis, and Matched by Ally Condie.
  • echointimeblitz

We had such a positive response to our C.J. Hill Echo in Time Blog Tour yesterday, that the author and I decided to add a Release Day Blitz .

Perfect for bloggers who:

are international

want to support Janette Rallison on her book birthday

are newer and have less than 1000 followers

may not have time for a review post

To Sign up fill out this form

The release day is December 23, 2013 and posts must be up by 8 EST.  Please only sign up if you are definitely planning to post that day.

Cj-hillAbout the Author

CJ Hill is a pen name for a YA author who is best known for writing romantic comedies. (Slayers will be her 18th published book.) Her writing has shifted
away from the romantic comedy genre, so her editor thought a pen name would be a good idea. (New books will include: dangerous dragons, time travel to dystopian worlds, and flesh-eating beetles.) Since the publisher refused to let her have the pseudonym : The Artist Formerly Referred to as Princess, she chose a name to honor her mother. CJ Hill was her mother’s pen name, or at least it would have been if her mother had published. Her mother wrote a few children’s books and a middle grade novel but was taken by cancer before she had fully learned the craft.
 
Most writers’ first novels aren’t publishable. CJ Junior’s first novel wasn’t, but somehow was published anyway. Now, even though it is out of print, it remains forever available on Amazon, where it taunts her with its badness. This was another good reason to use a pen name.
 
CJ Hill has five children, three of whom like her on any given day depending on who is in trouble. She has lived in Arizona for the last half of her life, but is still in desert denial and hopes that one day her garden will grow silver bells and cockle shells or maybe just tomatoes.
Divider

Fire and Ice Blog Tours Sign Up ~ Echo In Time by C.J. Hill

03 Dec, 2013 by in blog tour, CJ Hill, janette rallison 8 comments

Fire and Ice Blog Tours Sign Up ~ Echo In Time by C.J. Hill

Echo In Time

by CJ Hill
Series: Erasing Time #2
Published by Katherine Tegen on December 23, 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Time Travel, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy the BookGoodreads
After being pulled 400 years into the future, twins Taylor and Sheridan have found some refuge from the government of Traventon, which used the dangerous Time Strainer to yank the girls from the past. Yet the threat of the dangerous technology still looms. Taylor and an ally, Joseph, are selected to go on a mission to destroy the time machine and weapon. But their actions before they do may have major consequences for the future and the past.

Action-packed and romantic, this futuristic sequel to Erasing Time is perfect for fans of dystopian and sci-fi novels such as The Maze Runner by James Dashner, Across the Universe by Beth Revis, and Matched by Ally Condie.
echo in time blog tour

 

Fire and Ice  blog tours is proud to announce another tour opportunity.

Echo in Time by C.J. Hill

Click to sign up to participate in the tour which kicks off December 23, 2013.

BLOG TOUR IS FULL! Sign up for the Release Day Blitz :)

Blogs must have 1000 or more followers

 US mailing addresses only for review copies

Posts must be up by 8 AM EST and be the top post of the day

 

Cj-hillAbout the Author

CJ Hill is a pen name for a YA author who is best known for writing romantic comedies. (Slayers will be her 18th published book.) Her writing has shifted away from the romantic comedy genre, so her editor thought a pen name would be a good idea. (New books will include: dangerous dragons, time travel to dystopian worlds, and flesh-eating beetles.) Since the publisher refused to let her have the pseudonym : The Artist Formerly Referred to as Princess, she chose a name to honor her mother. CJ Hill was her mother’s pen name, or at least it would have been if her mother had published. Her mother wrote a few children’s books and a middle grade novel but was taken by cancer before she had fully learned the craft.
 
Most writers’ first novels aren’t publishable. CJ Junior’s first novel wasn’t, but somehow was published anyway. Now, even though it is out of print, it remains forever available on Amazon, where it taunts her with its badness. This was another good reason to use a pen name.
 
CJ Hill has five children, three of whom like her on any given day depending on who is in trouble. She has lived in Arizona for the last half of her life, but is still in desert denial and hopes that one day her garden will grow silver bells and cockle shells or maybe just tomatoes.

If you are a smaller blog and would like to participate in a book blast or spotlight, leave me a comment.

Divider

The Time-Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile Blog Tour

02 Dec, 2013 by in bianca turetsky, blog tour, poppy, time traveling fashionista Leave a comment

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Time-Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile Blog Tour

The Time-Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile

by Bianca Turetsky
Series: The Time-Traveling Fashionista #3
Published by Poppy on December 3, 2013
Genres: Historical Fiction, Middle Grade, Time Travel
Pages: 256
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy the BookGoodreads
Walk, talk, and dress like an Egyptian.
When Louise Lambert tries on a lavender Grecian gown during a visit to the mysterious Traveling Fashionista Vintage Sale, she feels a familiar tug and falls back in time, arriving at the dusty base of an enormous pyramid. She has landed in ancient Egypt...or has she?
It turns out that Louise is on the legendary Old Hollywood film set ofCleopatra, but her time there is short-lived. Rummaging through the wardrobe tent, Louise gets her hands on a pearl necklace that dates back to 51 BC, and she suddenly finds herself whisked away once more, this time to the ancient city of Alexandria, Egypt. Gold and jewels shimmer in the Egyptian sunlight, but poisonous snakes and dangerous enemies also roam the palace halls. Louise quickly learns that life as a handmaiden to Queen Cleopatra is much more treacherous--and fashionable--than she ever could have imagined

Review:

The Time- Traveling Fashionista series is one of my favorite historical fiction reads for middle grade readers. First of all, if you haven’t read books one and two they need to be added to your list of TBRs. They take vintage fashion, time travel and suspense and roll it into an easily readable adventure perfect for tweens. We’ve already been aboard the Titanic, to France during the time of Marie Antionette, and in book three we are whisked to a film set with Elizabeth Taylor and then to Egypt under Cleopatra’s reign.

Louise Lambert is the time-traveling tween who is making a couple of tough adjustments with her father, an attorney being out of work, and her best friend who has recently discovered a boy named Kip, who seems to be drifting from their friendship. She’s a bit lacking in self- confidence but nevertheless has attracted the attention of two boys in her class. But Louise is not quite ready to take the plunge into being boy crazy…she would rather take the plunge back in time by visiting the traveling trunk sale and putting on a dress with a history.

My favorite part of book three were the interesting tidbits it introduces from Cleopatra’s time. The library of papyrus in Alexandria, the black wigs and shaved heads, the poisonous asp used by Cleopatra in later life, and her intellect and ability to speak nine languages. I had no idea Cleopatra was in fact Greek, or that she married her ten year old brother Ptolemy! The snippets of google info. the author injects near the end of the book after Louise returns to her time add even more to the historical value and I wish there were more. This book had SO much to offer but I found myself wanting richer conversation, more about Elizabeth Taylor and just what us up with Stella nd Pierre. They are introduced again in book three and then completely disappear until the very ending pages. This is literally a fast whirlwind of a book, easy to read and get through in one sitting. In a way it’s refreshing and light,–but man, there is so much that I want to know that just didn’t get answered. I wanted to get to know the side characters, her best friend, her mom, the cute skater boy, and Peter. It felt  like there just wasn’t any more development on that end.

I do like that Louise is maturing and changing after each adventure. In this step back she learns that it’s not okay to steal  and there are often dire consequences. She also gains confidence and learns to defend herself against fashion Bully Billy. You go girl!

The illustrations are missing fro the Netgalley version which I was sad about– they are my favorite piece of the series. You need to see the art to appreciate the stories! Can’t wait to see each book in print form.

Do I recommend this series? Yes! They are a great introduction both fashion design and history. But book three felt too rushed and had a few content issues that I don’t remember in the previous installments.

Thanks so much to Poppy for the sneak peek and for inviting us  to be a part of The Time-Traveling Fashionista blog tour!

Be sure to read the excerpt below.

Content

(highlight to reveal): OMG full phrase frequently, one reference and taking the Lord’s name in vain, childhood marriage, moderate violence, death by poisoning.

3_5

heather

Excerpt

Hi, I’m Louise Lambert and I’m a Traveling Fashionista. If people actually told the truth about themselves, it could be a really scary game. My name is Louise and I’m on the swim team and I like vintage fashion, she rehearsed in her head. That was easier; that made sense. Even if at Fairview Junior High, vintage clothing was still considered a little weird, particularly to Billy, whose fashion sense didn’t extend beyond the same baggy jeans and dirt brown or navy pullover sweater he wore practically every day.

“Why don’t we start in the back of the class,” Miss Jones said, putting back on her oversize glasses, which made her look like a giant bug.

“I’m Billy Robertson. I love history and I was Miss Morris’s favorite student.” Everyone giggled. Judging by the amount of time he spent in the principal’s office, Billy wasn’t any teacher’s favorite student.

When it finally came around to her turn, Louise lost her nerve. “My name is Louise Lambert and I’m on the swim team,” she said quickly, her cheeks burning hot. It was true she was a good swimmer, but that wasn’t really the defining thing about her. Louise looked down at a pencil sketch of a Grecian-style dress she had absentmindedly drawn on a blank page in her notebook. Why was she unable to admit that she liked vintage clothing? She couldn’t be the only one who was afraid of being a little different, afraid of Billy making one of his trademark mean comments from the back of the room. But it felt that way. Moments like that made her realize her self-confidence was hanging on by a thread. (21-22)

About the Authorbianca-turestky-fireandice

Bianca Turetsky is the author of the stylish Time-Traveling Fashionista series, which has been translated into nine languages. After graduating from Tufts University, Bianca began working for artist/filmmaker Julian Schnabel. She managed his studio for the past 11 years and was his assistant on the Academy Award-nominated film The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. She lives in a cozy studio apartment in Brooklyn, New York, that houses her very extensive and much-loved vintage collection. The third book in the series, The Time-Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile will be released December 3, 2013.

 She is represented by Meredith Kaffel at DeFiore and Company and Howie Sanders and Dana Borowitz at UTA.

Learn more on her website

Divider