Author: Jenny Oaks Baker

CD Review~ Classic: The Rock Album by Jenny Oaks Baker

10 Apr, 2014 by in cd, deseret book, jenny oaks baker, music review 2 comments

I received this book for free from Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

CD Review~ Classic: The Rock Album by Jenny Oaks Baker

Classic: The Rock Album

by Jenny Oaks Baker
Published by Shadow Mountain on April 7, 2014
Genres: Classical, Music
Source: Shadow Mountain
Buy the Book
Grammy-nominated #1 Billboard Violinist Jenny Oaks Baker takes her style to an all-new level with her new release, Classic: The Rock Album. Featuring classic rock favorites like Stairway to Heaven (Led Zeppelin), Sweet Child of Mine (Guns and Roses), and Yesterday (The Beatles), you won't believe your ears as one of the country's most accomplished and acclaimed violinists combines her insane talent with the heart-pumping tunes that have defined a genre for generations.

I have to admit when this CD first arrived, we were a little skeptical. I loved the photography and the red accents on the cover–but classical and rock together, by a violinist? We threw it in on our road trip and took a listen. I played violin all through my childhood and have two girls in lessons right now. They were impressed. “That’s the violin?”

Jenny gives young musicians something to aspire to. Well-known songs we’ve heard on the radio being played on a classical instrument. My boys pointed out that Jenny likes to hit high notes! My husband liked it so much he downloaded Kashmir as his new ring tone and bought tickets to her concert. Everybody Hurts by REM took me way back to my own music obsessed days.

Overall we thought Classic: the Rock Album was a diversion…one that we enjoyed! It’s unique and fun. A wonderful way to get your family to listen to beautiful concert music and still be “cool.”



– Kashmir/Four Season (Led Zepplin/Vivaldi)
– Everybody Hurts (REM)
– Sweet Child of Mine (Guns and Roses)
– Liverpool Suite
– Pinball Wizard (The Who)
– Imagine (John Lennon)
– Stairway to Heaven (Led Zepplin)
– Let It Be, Eleanor Rigby, Yesturday, All You Need is Love, Hey Jude (The Beatles)
– Bridge Over Troubled Water (Simon and Garfunkel)
– Fields of Gold (Sting)
– Clocks (Coldplay)

Listen to samples at Deseret Book’s website

About the Artist


Grammy Nominated Artist Jenny Oaks Baker is one of America’s most accomplished violinists. She received her Master of Music degree from the renowned Juilliard School in New York City and her bachelor’s degree in violin performance from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.

She has released eleven albums since 1998. They consistently chart on Billboard, including the #1 spot on the Top Classical Albums chart. Her album Wish Upon a Star earned a nomination for the 54th GRAMMY Awards for Best Pop Instrumental Album.

Jenny Oaks Baker has performed as a soloist at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, and with the Jerusalem Symphony, Pittsburgh Symphony, Utah Symphony, and the internationally acclaimed Mormon Tabernacle Choir. Jenny performed as a first violinist with the National Symphony Orchestra for seven years before resigning to devote more time to her young family. Jenny and her husband Matthew have four children.