Posts Tagged: Shadow Mountain

Glass Slippers, Ever After, and Me Blog Tour

24 Oct, 2019 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Glass Slippers, Ever After, and Me

by Julie Wright

Publication Date: 10/21/19

Paperback

ISBN: 9781629726076

Retail Price: $16.99

Page Count: 336

Fiction / Romance / Contemporary

Cover Design: © Shadow Mountain

Art Direction: Richard Erickson

Design: Kimberly Kay

Amazon (ad) * Goodreads

Can the fairy tale bring Charlotte the happiness she’s looking for, or was he always there to begin with?
 
A modern, reimagined Cinderella story.
 
When aspiring author Charlotte Kingsley finally gets published, she thinks all her dreams have come true. But the trouble begins when her publicity firm reinvents her quirky online presence into a perfectly curated dream life. Gone are the days of sweatpant posts and ice cream binges with her best friend, Anders, replaced instead with beautiful clothes, orchestrated selfies, and no boyfriend. Only, that carefully curated fairy tale life is ruining her self-esteem and making her feel like a fraud.

When a bestselling author takes Charlotte under her wing—almost like a fairy godmother—she helps Charlotte see the beautiful person she already is and the worth of being authentic. But is it too late to save her relationship with Anders? The clock is quickly ticking towards midnight, and Charlotte must decide between her fairy tale life and the man she loves, before he’s gone forever.

About the Author

Julie Wright is the author of more than twenty novels, including the Proper Romance® novels Lies Jane Austen Told Me and Lies, Love, and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. She is a Whitney Award winner and a Crown Heart recipient. She is represented by agent Sara Crowe. She loves reading and writing, playing on the beach or hiking with her husband and kids, and watching her husband make dinner.

Advance Praise/Endorsements:

“This sweet, heartfelt tale of authentic characters facing intriguing challenges is at once very romantic and charmingly chaste.”

-Booklist, starred review

“Wright spins a modern-day and very meta Cinderella tale. This fast-paced, lighthearted romance also carries a moral lesson about falsehoods getting in the way of the quest for true happiness.”

-Publishers Weekly

“Aspiring author Charlotte ‘Lettie’ Kingsley writes fairy tales and hopes to be published. When she gets one more rejection, her feelings of pique lead her to an inspired idea: She’ll write a self-help book called The Cinderella Fiction that will encourage readers to live their best lives. Lettie’s agent has big plans for the book and has created a team to make it a bestseller, including a PR firm that demands a complete makeover for Lettie. From wardrobe to apartment to a new nickname, ‘Char,’ every detail is changed to create an image that inspires admiration and a legion of followers. However, it also means that her real-life relationships are affected, and the new Char is so different from the old Lettie that she’ll have to sift through what she wanted, and what she’s gained, so she can live her own best life, authentically. Wright updates ‘Cinderella’ with a modern twist and smart, satisfying details.”

-Kirkus

The Candy Cane Caper by Josi S. Kilpack Blog Tour

11 Oct, 2019 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Candy Cane Caper

by Josi S. Kilpack

Publication Date: October 1, 2019

Paperback

ISBN: 9781629726014

Retail Price: $15.99

Page Count: 320

Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy / Culinary

This Christmas, Sadie Hoffmiller Cunningham is making a list and checking it twice. For the first time since she and Pete married five years ago, their combined families are gathering for the holidays in Fort Collins, Colorado, for a party that would make Santa and Mrs. Claus proud.

She just has to bake the famous Cunningham Candy Cane Cake, make sure the looming snowstorm doesn’t derail everyone’s travel plans, and oh, yes, solve one teensy-tiny mystery before the big day.

At ninety-four and nearly blind, Mary, Sadie’s friend and neighbor, knows this will be her last Christmas. When Sadie learns that someone has stolen antique Christmas ornaments from Mary’s tree, she vows to find the thief, no matter what. The ornaments had been appraised at more than $40,000, but they were worth even more to Mary, who had intended to bequeath them to her great-granddaughter, Joy, as a final gift.

With Pete in Arizona wrapping up a case of his own, it’s up to Sadie to question the residents of Nicholas House, where Mary lives, and deduce who had the means and the motive to steal heirloom ornaments during what should be the most wonderful time of the year.

When stories of other thefts surface, Sadie feels like she’s creating a “naughty” list that could rival Santa’s. Identifying the thief, recovering the ornaments, and restoring them to Mary’s tree in time will take a Christmas miracle—and maybe a few extra-special cookies.

www.shadowmountain.com

We have read all of the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mysteries, and are always thrilled when Josi comes out with another one. Pull up some hot cocoa and cookies to join Sadie as she tries to uncover who has nabbed Mary’s antique heirloom ornaments off the tree in her care center room. With holiday names for each character–Joy, Carol, Ivy plus recipes at the end of each chapter, The Candy Cane Caper will put you in the Christmas mood.

Sadie is a bit meddling and unconventional in her methods, but she cares for each person she encounters. There are some tender moments with Mary as she prepares to wrap up a full life. A bit lighter than the other installments, it is a clean holiday mystery all can enjoy. It will warm your heart!


About the Author

Josi S. Kilpack is an accomplished and prolific author of nearly two dozen novels including the Sadie Hoffmiller Culinary Mystery Series. She has won multiple Whitney Awards for Mystery/Suspense, Romance, and Novel of the Year as well as the Utah Best of State Fiction Winner. She lives with her family in Utah.

Follow the author on Instagram @authorjosiskilpack

Advance Praise/Endorsements:

“A warmhearted mystery.” -Kirkus

“Sadie Hoffmiller dishes up a fresh serving of Christmas cheer. An inspirational cozy whose feel-good vibe will be perfect for fans of Julie Hyzy’s and Nancy J. Parra. Readers with a sweet tooth will be sure to enjoy Sadie’s family recipes, sprinked throughout the book.” -Booklist

“Kilpack represents a nice range of ages in this story, and the relationships feel both real and aspirational. The clues and solution are complex enough to keep readers guessing. Recipes are included, making this a fun choice for cookbook discussion groups as well as general readers. Twelve previous “Culinary Mystery” titles precede this entry, which can be read on its own.” -Library Journal

The Last Man at the Inn: One Man’s Quest to Believe Blog Tour

08 Oct, 2019 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

The Last Man at the Inn: One Man’s Quest to Believe

by R. William Bennett

Publication Date: 10/8/19

Hardcover

ISBN: 9781629726038

Page Count: 208

Fiction / Christian / Historical

Amazon

Synopsis:

Simon considers himself fortunate after securing the final room at the inn in Bethlehem. While eating his supper, he sees a younger man and his pregnant wife denied lodging at the door of the inn. Simon momentarily considers giving up his space, but he is weary from his travels as a spice merchant and turns away from the thought.

Over the ensuing years, Simon traverses the popular trade routes, and each time he passes Bethlehem, he is reminded of that evening and plagued by guilt.

In time, the Savior begins his ministry, and Simon begins the life-changing process of trying to understand and believe the teachings and miracles of this man called Jesus—said to be the promised Messiah.

The Last Man at the Inn is the story of a journey of conversion we all take in one form or another, told through the eyes and heart of a common man. It is written to affirm the believer, to lovingly beckon to the undecided, and to call out to those who may not even know they are looking for something—only that there is a space in their soul that somehow needs to be filled.

About the Author:

R. William Bennett grew up on the Jersey shore and in Connecticut. He is the author of the best-selling Christmas novella Jacob T. Marley and the award-winning book The Christmas Gift. He works as a division president of Franklin Covey. He and his wife are the parents of four children, and they live in the Southwest.

Advance Praise/Endorsements:

“Bennett (Jacob T. Marley) recreates the life of the cross-carrying Simon of Cyrene in this enchanting historical…Simon struggles to accept this new faith—until he is visited by the words of the Holy Spirit. Now preaching Jesus’s message, he follows his family toward Jerusalem. Fans of Mesu Andrews will love this earnest exploration of Simon of Cyrene’s struggle with faith.”

-Publishers Weekly

“Not just a Christmas book, The Last Man at the Inn is the story of a man who is experiencing a crisis of faith and his path to conversion. Beautifully told with a surprise ending.” ­

-Jason F. Wright, New York Times best-selling author of Christmas Jars

“Both riveting and poignant, this book gives the reader a glimpse into what it might have been like to live as one of the first Christians and followers of Jesus Christ. The story left me pondering the path of discipleship and gave me a deeper desire to stand more firmly as a witness of Christ in my own life.” 

-Emily Belle Freeman, author of A Christ-
Centered Christmas
and A Christ-Centered Easter

“The Last Man at the Inn is a wonderful invitation to look at Christ’s birth, life, and death through new eyes. I appreciate William Bennett’s timely reminder that true disciples come to Christ and stay.” 

-Brad Wilcox, author of The 7-Day Christian

Six Ingredients with Six Sisters’ Stuff: 100+ Fast and Easy Family Meals Blog Tour

11 Sep, 2019 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

Six Ingredients with Six Sisters’ Stuff: 100+ Fast and Easy Family Meals

by Six Sisters’ Stuff

Published September 3, 2019

by Shadow Mountain

Amazon

With only six ingredients or less per recipe, making dinner has never been easier.

Six Sisters’ Stuff is one of the most popular blogs for quick and easy cooking and entertaining at home for families. In their eighth cookbook, they tackle how to master meals for any cook with any skill level with more than 100 easy recipes made with incredible flavor combinations from just six ingredients or less.

From beginning cooks learning the basics to busy parents looking to save time in the kitchen, this cookbook is loaded with entrees, side dishes, and desserts. Whether it’s a one-pot wings dish or a no-bake peanut butter bar this cookbook is a fool-proof solution to meal planning and features “Kid Favorites” recipes.

This cookbook has user friendly easy recipes! I typically shy away from cookbooks or recipes which are complicated, so this was right up our ally. There are slow cooker dinners which have little prep and few steps but still look mouthwatering. We are going to try the Fall- Apart Slow Cooker Roast and Slow Cooker Ritz Chicken. Comfort foods for Fall.

My daughter and a friend attended the Six Sisters’ launch party last week. She is a fan! The contributors are down to earth and personable. Our only wish? More desserts!!

Contributor Bios

The Six Sisters—Camille, Kristen, Elyse, Stephanie, Lauren, and Kendra—started their blog in 2011 as a way to keep in touch after they moved out of their house and started lives and families on their own. In just a few years, their blog has become one of the top blog sites for women, with millions of visitors each month enjoying the Sisters’ family stories, recipes, and tips for running a home. The sisters live in California, Texas, and Utah.