Posts By: Heather

Divider

Havencross Blog Tour and Giveaway

07 Aug, 2017 by in covenant, julie daines 1 comment

I received this book for free from Covenant in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Havencross Blog Tour and Giveaway

Havencross

by Julie Daines
on August 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Regency
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Source: Covenant
Buy the BookGoodreads
When a shocking scandal involving her father spreads through London society, Elaine Cardinham and her parents are forced to retreat to their country home in Cornwall for refuge. But Havencross is no sanctuary for Elaine. She is haunted by the mysterious disappearance of her brother and the heartbreak she left in her wake all those years ago.

It has been five long years since Gareth Kemp last saw Elaine when she rejected his marriage proposal. Her reappearance convinces him of one thing: he has never stopped loving her. To put his feelings for her aside, he focuses his attention on the dangerous smuggling plaguing the Cornish coast. As Elaine attempts to run from her past, she ventures ever closer to a dangerous truth and Gareth may be the only one who can save her from a deadly finish.
Havencross banner

What I loved:

The setting and the descriptions of the countryside, legendary history. The relationship between the main characters. The story is told in alternating points of view between chapters.

What I struggled with:

I have mixed feelings about Havencross only because the last few chapters were too action/ drama driven for my taste. There is moderate violence and a bit of a dark tone which overshadows the romance and plot.

I wished for more: 

Character development and tales of the piracy, Arthurian legend. They make a sneak peek, but the legends never get fully fleshed out.

Loved

The cover and the premise!

Blog Tour Schedule

The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Lies & Letters Blog Tour Spotlight

31 Jul, 2017 by in blog tour, cedar fort 1 comment

Lies-Letters-Blog-Tour-BANNER

 

Lies-and-Letters_9781462119844-360x540

      Lies and Letters

Author: Ashtyn Newbold

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: July 11th, 2017

Paperback: 247 pages

After a season in London, Charlotte Lyons is still regrettably unattached. With her family’s finances in peril, she is sent away with her sister to a bleak coastal town where she is expected to pursue a wealthy earl. Beautiful and talented, how could she possibly fail? But when her heart is captured by someone entirely unexpected, Charlotte finds herself caught up in a web of lies and intrigue. Between hardship and sorrow, she finds more than she bargained for, forced to choose between the life she once wanted and a new love she never imagined.

About the Author

Ashtyn Newbold discovered a love of writing early in high school. Inspired by regency period romance, she wrote her first novel at the age of sixteen. Because she can’t vacation in her favorite historical time periods, she writes about them instead. When not crafting handsome historical heroes, she enjoys baking, sewing, music, and spoiling her dog. She dreams of traveling to England and Ireland. Ashtyn is currently studying English and creative writing at Utah Valley University. She lives in Lehi, Utah with her family.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads Amazon Author Page

“Lies & Letters” blog tour schedule

Divider

What’s On Our Shelves

20 Jul, 2017 by in homeschool, shelfies, vintage Leave a comment

unnamed (2)

 

As our family gears up for a new school year, we have been cataloging books using the goodreads scanning app. Here’s a shelfie for you of one of our shelves. What’s on it you ask? Some of our favorite series, vintage titles and educational resources.

FullSizeRender

My Tiny 3-D Book Series: A-B-C Book. We have a few in this series which are vintage.

FullSizeRender (4)

Abraham Lincoln Coloring Book

These Dover coloring books are beautifully detailed and a wonderful artistic addition to any subject.

 

FullSizeRender (6)

What Your 5th Grader Needs to Know: Fundamentals of a Good Fifth-Grade Education

Part of the core knowledge program by Hirsch.

FullSizeRender (2)

Teach Me About Friends. Part of the Help Me Be Good series by Joy Berry.

FullSizeRender (1)

What It Means to Be Honest

This series of values teaching tales has a great price on Amazon.

Show us your shelfies!

 

Divider

Websites for Teens

17 Jul, 2017 by in Uncategorized Leave a comment

images

We struggle as a family to find safe websites for teens. Places we feel comfortable with them getting on to independently. I’ve been thinking of a social media limit of 15 minutes at a time. Right now

Here is a list of sites which may be worth their time during the day.

What websites do you recommend?

Apps for educational purposes?

Family Recipes — FamilySearch.org

LDS Youth – The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Family History

Wallbuilders

 

 

Divider

Homeschooler Watch List for Amazon Prime Day

10 Jul, 2017 by in amazon Leave a comment

“Started in 2015, Prime Day is Amazon’s annual deals event just for Prime members. Prime Day is one of the world’s best days to shop, with awesome prices on everything your readers are into. They are bringing hundreds of thousands of deals, new deals starting every five minutes, and special offers across everything included with Prime—from music and video to reading and voice shopping.”

We will be watching these items tomorrow:

Divider

The Ghost of You and Me Blog Tour + Giveaway

30 Jun, 2017 by in blog tour, kelly oram Leave a comment

 

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right…even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

Amazon * Goodreads

 

Author Kelly Oram

Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen–a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which her family and friends still tease her. She’s obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and likes to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, four children, and her cat, Mr. Darcy.

Website * Twitter * Facebook

 

 


$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway

Ends 7/26/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Love on Pointe Blog Tour and Giveaway

16 Jun, 2017 by in blog tour, covenant Leave a comment

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Love on Pointe

by Tiffany Odekirk
Published by Covenant on June 1, 2017
Genres: Adult, Clean Romance, LDS
Pages: 328
Format: Paperback
four-stars
Buy the BookGoodreads
Rhys Solario has a secret one he plans to keep: he's a non-Mormon attending Brigham Young University. With only two semesters left before graduation, he just wants to keep flying under the radar. Then he meets Emmy in a Book of Mormon class, and for the first time, the idea of keeping to himself doesn't sound so appealing.
Emmy Jennings feels confident only when she's dancing ballet. With every plié and chassé, all her worries fade away. But when she fails to earn a coveted solo, her confidence on the dance floor disintegrates and the future she's worked so hard to earn stands in jeopardy.

Assigned to be study partners, both Rhys and Emmy face initial anxieties regarding who they really are. But slowly, their tentative friendship evolves into something more. Yet even as love deepens, the pair is faced with a disheartening truth: Rhys can't take Emmy to the temple, and the promise of eternity is not something Emmy's willing to give up. With everything on the line, the couple must decide if they're prepared to reshape their hearts and their lives for the promise of forever.

Love on Pointe Banner
Love on Pointe will be a blast of Provo and BYU culture for anyone who attended the University. Filled with rich details of culture, acronyms, student hang outs and scenarios, it’s a fun read for alumni of Brigham Young University. The cover is beautiful, and characters realistic. A clean read for new adults and college students, it addresses inter racial and inter religious love. I enjoyed the progression and pacing, but did struggle to understand how the topic of church attendance and religion was not heavily explored by the main characters until halfway into the book. Overall, a light, enjoyable LDS romance.

Schedule

*June 12th: http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/, http://wishfulendings.com/
*June 13th: http://heidi-reads.blogspot.com/
*June 14th: http://ilovetoreadandreviewbooks.blogspot.com/, http://rockinbookreviews.com/
*June 15th: http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/, http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, https://ldsandlovinit.blogspot.com/
*June 16th: http://fireandicereads.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/, http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://minreadsandreviews.blogspot.com/, http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Divider